Customer Reviews for

Jane Eyre: An Autobiography

Average Rating 4.5
( 1178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(727)

4 Star

(238)

3 Star

(104)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

>:D FANTASTICAT!

Oh brother, I could say soo much on this subject, but let me just say that this book rocks my socks off. Every time, too. I reread it every now and again, and it just gets better. I want to find a book EXACTLY like it, but that's kind of redundant. I just wish that I co...
Oh brother, I could say soo much on this subject, but let me just say that this book rocks my socks off. Every time, too. I reread it every now and again, and it just gets better. I want to find a book EXACTLY like it, but that's kind of redundant. I just wish that I could flip a switch, forget every thing I just read, and read it again as if for the first time. Mr Rochester (mmm...) is just irresistible, because he isn't what he seems and is excellent at leading you in a completely opposite direction... then when everything is revealed, you love him more, and by the end of the book... you want him for your own... *Snaps out of a reverie* Ahem. Uh.. yes so Charlotte Bronte is fabulous at not revealing too much at one time. Fabulous at keeping things appropriate, but still romantic as crap. I love Jane's strong will and determination to do the right thing. I admire her a lot for everything she's been through. Each time I read it, it touches me whenever she touches happiness, and it tears me apart whenever it gets torn from her. Oh, give this book a go, just for the heck of it. I hope you enjoy it like I and so many others have. Oh, and let me just say, that when things seem slow, just think about how beautiful the writing style is, and that everything is important to unraveling the characters to the proper extent. ^.^

posted by 4309056 on August 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A True Critic

Jane Eyre... the title is plain and not really an name that would make me want to pick up the book abd read it. To some extent the title does invite you, makes you want ask yourself," Well, whos is Jane Eyre?" I would just go more for a title that jumps out at me, and t...
Jane Eyre... the title is plain and not really an name that would make me want to pick up the book abd read it. To some extent the title does invite you, makes you want ask yourself," Well, whos is Jane Eyre?" I would just go more for a title that jumps out at me, and this....just skips.
The characters personaliies made you really think about who they were and their hidden identities. Charlotte Bronte never gave away too much. It left you really wanting to figure out the mystery, who these people were and the kind of past they had.
In some parts of the book I really did not want to read on and found it to be dull at points. Towards the end of the book I must admit, I was anxious to know whats was going to happen next. Anxious to know where Jane would end up or wouldn't. Where Jane and Rochesters relationship would progress to.
The ending... I guess was satisfying but definitely not surprising because the ending was so cliche. We all knew Jane and Mr. Rochester were going to reunite and live happily ever after. I was looking for more shock but I was left with the same thing I predicted. The only thing that was a little surprising is the fact that she actually got the chance to meet her real family and experience the love that she never had. This love could not have been filled by Rochester because their love was more intimate. She needed a family, connection love that she never knew with the Reeds.
I have learned from Jane Eyre that love should be given chances and this is why the theme was worthwhile because it gave you hope for something better for Jane. This book also teaches that love can be found in the strangest places as we see when Jane eneters Thornfield all and meets Mr. Rochester and is only a servant girl to him.
Charlotte Bronte's style of writing is of course original because it is about her but I felt that while reading this book Charlottle Bronte explained very well the actions that took place and explained well the feelings and emotions of the other characters,but, I felt like she lacked to tell us about how she felt when certain situations were happening. I wish I could have felt what she felt and imagined everything that she thought about.

posted by CAPS17 on January 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A True Critic

    Jane Eyre... the title is plain and not really an name that would make me want to pick up the book abd read it. To some extent the title does invite you, makes you want ask yourself," Well, whos is Jane Eyre?" I would just go more for a title that jumps out at me, and this....just skips.<BR/>The characters personaliies made you really think about who they were and their hidden identities. Charlotte Bronte never gave away too much. It left you really wanting to figure out the mystery, who these people were and the kind of past they had.<BR/> In some parts of the book I really did not want to read on and found it to be dull at points. Towards the end of the book I must admit, I was anxious to know whats was going to happen next. Anxious to know where Jane would end up or wouldn't. Where Jane and Rochesters relationship would progress to.<BR/>The ending... I guess was satisfying but definitely not surprising because the ending was so cliche. We all knew Jane and Mr. Rochester were going to reunite and live happily ever after. I was looking for more shock but I was left with the same thing I predicted. The only thing that was a little surprising is the fact that she actually got the chance to meet her real family and experience the love that she never had. This love could not have been filled by Rochester because their love was more intimate. She needed a family, connection love that she never knew with the Reeds.<BR/>I have learned from Jane Eyre that love should be given chances and this is why the theme was worthwhile because it gave you hope for something better for Jane. This book also teaches that love can be found in the strangest places as we see when Jane eneters Thornfield all and meets Mr. Rochester and is only a servant girl to him.<BR/>Charlotte Bronte's style of writing is of course original because it is about her but I felt that while reading this book Charlottle Bronte explained very well the actions that took place and explained well the feelings and emotions of the other characters,but, I felt like she lacked to tell us about how she felt when certain situations were happening. I wish I could have felt what she felt and imagined everything that she thought about.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Mitch

    You suck

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    I think your good

    For that kid that asked if it was ok to keep reading, I think your good. I'm only over 14 myself. Though I haven't finished this novel yet, I don't think it includes inaproprit material. =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Exactly what I expected

    Historical novels arn't gernally my thing, but I do have an appreciation for the classics. This was hard to get into, but I knew that it might be from the start. It was a good book, just not for everyone. I hate to say it, but it's a book that I enjoyed better summed up by the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    Jane+eyre

    Great+read+one+i+should+have+read+years+ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    Has not been released yet, but I am hopeful for this new intpretation

    I will venture some words here before the release of this extraordinary story. I have read this book so many times I have lost count. I will say this to start with, the director and cast must be extremely confident to follow up version I find and feel to be so powerful. Charlotte Gainsbourg and John Hurt are to me the faces of Jane and Mr. Rochester. I have seen a few other versions and although some of the story is left out in this version when other part were put in it seemed to loose focus... and the focus for me is Jane's finishing up the old life and its lessons and finally being able to embrace a new existence. Anyway, I am open to a new interpretation and I hope for the best. A new Victorian movie is always an event for us. Now I will have to re-read it yet again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Absorbing & Well Written

    "Jane Eyre" by Charlotte Bront&#235; is an 1847 novel published as "Jane Eyre. An Autobiography" under the nom de plume of "Currer Bell". The novel is told in first person narrative and goes through five distinct stages in Jane's life. In spite of many dark elements the novel has strong elements of right vs. wrong as well as morality. The orphan Jane Eyre, brought up by an duty bound aunt by marriage is having a miserable childhood. The family is spoiled and socially fixated, considering the orphan in their mists beneath them and bans Jane from her cousins. After an incident with her cousin John, Jane is sent to a school called Lowood where the moral pillar of her time finds herself subject to the hypocritical minister who runs the place. Jane endures the school even though she has been branded a liar and subject to a starvation diet as well as other miseries - but she remains faithful to standards which would break any other mortal. Reaching adulthood, Jane leaves Lowood to become a governess for Mr. Rocchester at his home called Thornhill. Mr. Rochester wins Jane's love and respect even though she knows he is harboring a secret. Rochester asks for Jane's hand in marriage, even though she keeps remind him what a poor, plain girl she is. At the last moment the marriage is thwarted, Jane flees Thorhill all alone and without a penny to her name. However, Jane finds her way back to society and moves up the social ladder only to make her way back to Mr. Rochester to discover his painful secret. I can certainly see why "Jane Eyre" is considered a classic. Bront&#235;'s use of strong language , rhetorical brilliance and lovely narrative are certainly impressive. The author also had the guts to tackle many social issues head on, something that we, at this voyeuristic age, seem to take for granted. Even though this book was not meant to be historical, several decades later I found it captivating to read about the day-to-day living of 1800's England. The book described the fascinating social ladder of the 1800's where governesses (nannies/teachers) were far below their employers, yet often better educated. I felt that Jane's assertions to Rochester that she is his equal was something that was simply frowned upon a society which thrives on ambiguities. I found myself increasingly interested in the outcome of the story, the Rochester secrets, Jane's wit and eventual outcome. The personal story of Jane Eyre is very absorbing and well written. Bront&#235;'s observations are poignant and engaging, her storytelling, when she's not of on a tangent, is admirable. But,oh the tangents. as much as absorbing as the book was, when the characters start going off on departures about religion and morality I almost felt as if I was being scolded. The huge amount of storytelling which is meant to be nothing but a filler got to be annoying after a hundred pages or so. The only conflict in the book is between Jane and Rochester, the rest of the book is filled with Jane being Jane, preaching to the reader about morality, virtues, temptations which might have some charm, but certainly isn't interesting. In "Jane Eyre" Bront&#235; tells the tale in logical progression which is structured around the protagonist. However, the consistency of the narrative is done at the expense of the overall strength of the whole.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    Texas,USA

    The book was alright, but it wasn't great. I was forced to read this book for English, because of a major test we had over it :( It was hard to comprehend sometimes and she took up way too many pages describing little things and thoughts that she had. Everything just dragged along. Towards the end the book got really boring. I would recommend this book only to people who have a lot of time on their hands and those who have nothing better to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2002

    ok

    I tried reading this book. I've read much longer novels, but this one had a way to drag. I only made it to page 294 before I decided to call it quits. It's just sitting on the shelf, stuck on the same place. But I am going to finish it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2001

    A book I've always meant to read

    I never read Jane Eyre in high school or college, although I've always read good things about it. Every review I'd seen had been outstanding, so I decided I needed to read it. I just finished the book a couple of days ago. It has taken me 7 months of reading it off and on to finish it. I was determined that I would challenge myself to get through it no matter what. I found the language very beautiful, although difficult at times. The story line plodded along until near the end (the last 100 pages or so) and then it finally got exciting and suspenseful. It was definitely worth reading but this was not by any means my favorite book of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6