Customer Reviews for

Jane Eyre (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 938 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(635)

4 Star

(183)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Jane Erye litterly made me cry in happiness

This book was amazing, truly fantastic! All my classmates gave me weird looks because it looked strange 'im in 8th grade' but I ignored them and read it anyway and it was just, just, I can't say, you know! the ending made me so happy that i cryed, crazy huh? I handed it...
This book was amazing, truly fantastic! All my classmates gave me weird looks because it looked strange 'im in 8th grade' but I ignored them and read it anyway and it was just, just, I can't say, you know! the ending made me so happy that i cryed, crazy huh? I handed it to my teacher and gushed, 'it was beautiful, so beautiful!' 'it was her copy' so if your some random person looking to see if this book is good, IT IS. If a kid as younge as me can appreciate it fully, you have to understand how utterly perfect it is! Read read! ^ ^

posted by Anonymous on April 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Do Not Download

Not worth it as a free book. Tons of errors due to scanning without proof-reading. This was the second book from Google Books I've had problems with. Pay to read the B&N version.

posted by MissHeather on March 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Classic Literature

    Jane Erye is a romantic piece of literary work that describes the life of a woman. I taught this novel to 12th graders and even the males enjoyed the mystery and intrigue of one of the main characters. A must read!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

         I was assigned to read this book for my Honors English IV c

         I was assigned to read this book for my Honors English IV class, and at first I just wanted to stuff the book into my backpack
     and leave it there! However as I forced myself to read the book, I became more and more interested after Jane moves to
     Thornfield Hall and meets Mr. Rochester. Jane is such an interesting character, she says and thinks the opposite from what you
     would expect.
         Jane Eyre’s story starts out with the abuse from the Reeds, then moving to a private school, leading her as an adult to a governess
     position at Thornfield Hall. Unknown supernatural happenings that occur throughout the book remind me of the TV show
     “Unsolved Mysteries,” which only made me want to read till the end to figure out what happens. When I found out what came about,
     the shocking truth had me asking myself “What?!” and saying “No way…wow.
         From a hard upbringing with the Reeds to the events that happen at Thornfield Hall, Jane’s resilience to the situations that occur will
     have you flipping the pages to solve the mysteries that unfold.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love the version with Ruth Wilson. And the story itself is reall

    Love the version with Ruth Wilson. And the story itself is really good. Sad but good. And wow was there a lot of moments that made me go, wow this is terrible, and aww that's kind of sweet and of course, wait what, no are you kidding me? The writing is really good. Slow but good pace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Jane Eyre is a novel about a young governess who falls in love w

    Jane Eyre is a novel about a young governess who falls in love with her dark employer. Typically I would not know what to make of a book with a summary such as that, however, this book turned out to be my favorite book of all time thus far. It was a quick read, a great story, and it wasn’t a task to get done. I actually enjoyed the time I spent reading it even if I had to write a huge research paper on it afterwards. In fact, the book was so good that it made any work I had for it really simple and even enjoyable. I still find myself liking it each time I read it again. I highly recommend this book to anyone. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Perfy

    EKK YOU BOTH!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Goldberrie

    Sum1 plz tell jesse at noo res3 to meet me at whoa res 4?....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Percy

    Yea?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    Amazing, unexpected love!

    Despite having some dull moments, this was one of the best love stories I have read in a long time! This book shows that looks are not everything, and age is just a number. Would definitely recommend this book to everyone who passes my way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Great!!

    A classic. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    In Charlotte Brontë’s novel, Jane Eyre, we are led o

    In Charlotte Brontë’s novel, Jane Eyre, we are led on a captivating adventure uncovering the triumphs and hardships that a young woman faced on her quest to find true love. Brontë begins her story by attracting the reader to Jane’s unique character. While reading, I felt emotionally attached to the witty Ms. Eyre and wanted to continue reading to find out what happened to her. Living as an orphan with her aunt, the young Jane faced many difficult struggles in this skewed rags-to-riches tale. Brontë has a dark side to balance out the charm of the story to propel the plot forward. As a reader, I asked the question if Jane’s significant other, Edward Rochester, was really worth all the trouble and pain she went through to be with him. Throughout reading the detailed story, the author cleverly helped me form a opinion of characters and the Byronic hero.
    In Jane Eyre, I became deeply invested in the relationship between Jane and Rochester. Brontë led me to experience many mixed feelings on the romance. In some parts of the novel, I was rooting for the couple to work out, but in others I just wanted them to be separated. My ever changing opinion of Rochester and the detailed character development, made the book more real to me. I enjoyed this book because it actually made me feel emotions that kept me turning the pages. I enjoyed the eerie, dark side that kept the book interesting. For example, the estranged wife named Bertha that was locked in the attic gave the story a amazing twist. I liked that Jane Eyre was not a typical “love story”. I praise Charlotte Brontë on her intriguing writing skills and ability to draw a reader into her novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Jane Eyre : Romance + Drama= good read

    Jane Eyre was such surprising book to read. I found to be an enjoyable book to read and had fun time with it. As I thought when the book was given to me in class I said to myself "This book better not be super happy and joyous". I was dead wrong. This book had so much depressing, aggravating part to its romantic plot I stop to think of other books that maybe tragic. The characters can be related to, as my favorite character is Mr. Rochester, for the why read and find out. The theme is some what easy to get but you can dwell harder to find out. The story overall, a 9/10, for being just great. It's worth it and just with trying new things don't knock it till you try it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A Mystery to Tell

    Charlotte Bronte wrote the book Jane Eyre, a story of a girl who struggles to find happiness. This classic may seem long, however, wit the tragic events and secrets of others you will be just yearning to know more. I found this book to be exciting as I kept on reading to find the secrets. Though the story starts off slow, it quickly rises to action as Jane Eyre and Mr. Rochester fall in love, while Rochester has his own secrets that could jeopardize their love.Jane Eyre, has not lived a typical British life. As her parents died when she was small, she grew up as an orphan with her aunt who dislike her with a passion. So Jane is sent to Lowwod, a school run by Mr. Brocklehurst, who believes they should be raised very modestly including their hair. He desires, "the hair to be arranged closely, modestly, and plainly." (pg. 64) After attending Lowood for so many years she aquired a plain character.After she leaves Lowood to become a governess at Thornfield Hall, the book starts to get interesting. At Thornfield Hall, she tutors a little girl named, Adele, who is raised by Mr. Rochester,the owner of the house. She meets the servants at Thornfield including the mysterious Grace Poole. As Jane walks the corridors of the third floor she hears an evil laugh. As hse continues to live at the mansion mysterious events occur finally realizing that, "there was a mystery at Thornfield." (pg. 167)The story continues to grow in tension as Jane and Rochester fall in love. Finally as Rochester and Jane are about to marry, Rochester's deadly secret ruins it all. As this turn of events happens it causes your heart to sigh and wonder if they will be together, As Jane tries to convince herself otherwise to, "soothe him, save him, and love him," she ends up fleeing Thornfield to end up in a small town.As Jane changes to home to home they differ in many ways but all of them have something missing. This book has a great story of Jane Eyre as her life become very interesting. When she moves away she meets nice people who end up changing her life. This book contains so many mysteries and secrets it makes you keep on reading until you reach the end to find out if Jane and Rochester will ever end up together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Jane Eyre

    first of all, this copy of the book, from vintage classics is delightful, the perfect size book and its nice and floppy, easily handled. just felt good ya know? As for the material, I was excited to read a classic novel, this was my first Bronte book and I loved it. It was difficult in the beginning, slow moving and sad, then it really picks up and is wholly enthralling. I recommend it to learned ladies out there who love to read of women who are self confident and steadfast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    liked the cover

    liked the cover

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Great Read- A Book Club must have!!!

    Jane Eyre is a classic and has stood through the test of time! There are so many angles to view this story. There have been various criticisms written in respects to Jane Eyre to prove it. Feminist criticism, which happens to be my personal favorite is a good theme that is constant throughout the novel. This narrative is a captivating one of an outspoken girl who grows into a wise young woman despite all of her shortcomings. She receives the best education she can obtain and pulls herself out of poverty. If you have read this book when you were younger or even if you haven't read it at all, do yourself a favor a grab a copy. Read it along with a friend and discuss it over a cup of tea.
    ***the cup of tea is necessary***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    Jane Eyre: Still Applicable, Still Captivating

    I was assigned Charlotte Bronte's Jane Eyre for a class my sophomore year of college. I had not read the novel before (although I purchased it over the summer in the pursuit to read all the "classics" I hadn't read - the pursuit still rages on) and I was excited and perhaps a little nervous about my first time reading the widely acclaimed novel. I had heard reference after reference to Jane, Rochester and even Bertha but the publication date of 1847 was enough for me to wonder if reading the book would be a repeat of Great Expectations in high school - tedious and lacking in rewards.
    I thoroughly enjoyed Jane Eyre and it, to my pleasure, was not a hard read at all. Bronte has a true talent for describing feelings, thoughts and events in a way that is relatable to her audience, both from the time of publication to today's readers. Bronte is, also, a fresh breath from Jane Austen in that she is not afraid of an imperfect ending for her characters. Bronte also differs from Austen in her writing of passion - you can feel the passion jumping off the page in Jane Eyre whereas Pride and Prejudice, for example, takes a little more effort.
    Jane Eyre also sparks discussions for many important topics such as feminism and class structure. These things clearly affect society in the nineteenth century but they also impact today's society. Bronte brings the idea to your attention and questions your position on it through the life of Jane and Rochester and how it might have been different under other circumstances. Charlotte Bronte brings a fresh eye to many nineteenth century controversies and has, amazingly, made them applicable to society today.
    Jane Eyre is a fantastic read, both for inside and outside of the classroom and I would recommend everyone to read it at least once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    About a girl.

    I can't believe I waited so long to read Charlotte Bronte's gothic masterpiece. I definitely consider Jane Eyre to be my literary hero -- read the book, and you'll know why. You will cry with her, laugh with her, and be completely inspired by the way she carries herself throughout the entire novel. She really embodies what it means to be a beautiful woman. (We can certainly all learn a few things from Jane.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book

    Jane has a rough childhood and as a grown woman goes to Thornfield Hall to be a governess for Adele, the ward of Mr. Rochester. Loved the 06 movie version and so just had to read the book. The writing is good and of course the title character. This is a sweet, cute, weird but mostly sad book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    Almost PERFECT Romance!

    A splendid book, filled with irony, romance, and sacrifice, Bronte has definitely outdone herself in the portrayal and relating of Jane Eyre's life. However, the ending is a slight letdown- had Bronte made the climax a bit more intriguing and exciting, the story would have been perfect!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    Jane Eyre: A Uniquely Crafted Romance

    Charlotte Bronte's novel Jane Eyre has been deemed a "classic", and rightly so. This story, a sort of fictional memoir, is told from the point of view of a strong and well developed female character: Jane. The orphaned protagonist begins her story by relating a somewhat tragic childhood. From here Jane begins working as a governess, where she falls irrevocably in love with her employer, Mr. Rochester. This somewhat simple love story opens slowly but is taken to a more intriguing level when a reticent secret, kept by Mr. Rochester, begins to unfold. Mysterious events such as a fire started in Mr. Rochester's room, and an eccentric woman showing up in Jane's room during the night, add interest to the plot.
    The archaic dialogue takes the reader back to the 1800's, but is easily relatable and understood. Bronte writes in a smooth-flowing and organized manner. Her expressive language captures the mood and feeling of the characters well. Although some parts of Jane Eyre are unnecessarily wordy, the language used by Bronte in her novel is, for the most part, eloquent and concise.
    The plot of Jane Eyre not only encompasses a timeless romance, but is also full of drama and deception. The reader must ask the inevitable question; will Jane end up with Mr. Rochester? A reader of almost any age group that is willing to be transported back in time to the Victorian period and ready for a romance, will be absorbed by Bronte's astute writing in Jane Eyre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10