Customer Reviews for

Jane Fonda: The Private Life of a Public Woman

Average Rating 3.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good Book!!

I found the book to be well written and well researched. The only negative I found was that the author did not delve into more detail as to what Ms. Fonda has been doing for the last 10+ years of her life since she left Ted Turner.

As an aside, I really wish people ...
I found the book to be well written and well researched. The only negative I found was that the author did not delve into more detail as to what Ms. Fonda has been doing for the last 10+ years of her life since she left Ted Turner.

As an aside, I really wish people would stop giving the book (which they haven't read) one star reviews because they believe Ms. Fonda is a traitor. It is fine if you dislike Ms. Fonda and her politics, but the book itself should be judged on its own merit.

posted by oscarCA on September 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Please Don't

Please out of respect for all Viet Vets don't buy this book. My father died at 58 from Agent Orange poisoning after suffing for years. Our vets did not receive the honor they were due when they returned (if the returned) home. She needs to show some grace now and stop...
Please out of respect for all Viet Vets don't buy this book. My father died at 58 from Agent Orange poisoning after suffing for years. Our vets did not receive the honor they were due when they returned (if the returned) home. She needs to show some grace now and stop bringing up bad memories by putting herself back in the public eye. Please honor our vets now by not buying this book.

posted by 7247851 on September 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Good Book!!

    I found the book to be well written and well researched. The only negative I found was that the author did not delve into more detail as to what Ms. Fonda has been doing for the last 10+ years of her life since she left Ted Turner.

    As an aside, I really wish people would stop giving the book (which they haven't read) one star reviews because they believe Ms. Fonda is a traitor. It is fine if you dislike Ms. Fonda and her politics, but the book itself should be judged on its own merit.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Please Don't

    Please out of respect for all Viet Vets don't buy this book. My father died at 58 from Agent Orange poisoning after suffing for years. Our vets did not receive the honor they were due when they returned (if the returned) home. She needs to show some grace now and stop bringing up bad memories by putting herself back in the public eye. Please honor our vets now by not buying this book.

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    This Jane Fonda story is just awful!

    One doesn't have to muddle through much of the "poor me & nobody loves me" portions until nausea rises. This woman was given every opportunity to have a spectacular life and she just tossed it away. I remember the Hanoi Jane days and seeing all the photo's on TV. I've heard her whine about her marriages to the men of her choosing for years. This book is a lousy with sugar coating. To compare her to Princess Dianna is an outrage. Thank goodness this was a borrowed book as I would've hated to have thrown my money away on this book. This book is another book of whining and one would have to really like reading this sort of tripe to enjoy a book like this! Don't waste your money.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    People who hate Fonda are ignorant

    If you served in Vietnam, or lost someone close you who did, understand once and for all that this woman tried to do more for Veterans than our own Government. Read this book, do your research, and stop believing the lies. The stuff about tortured prisoners has been debunked. Enough already. Fonda did more than most to stand up for what was right. Yes she was privileged, but she was willing to jeopardize her station in life for the greater good. Specifically, she toured the country with Vietnam Veterans, supported the WInter Soldier campaign, and rallied heavily for them to receive the benefits they deserved. It's time to accept the truth.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    A deeply researched book on the controversial woman

    I grew up in a generation that was heavily influenced by the Jane Fonda workout. I always wondered how she got to the workout video series and since I did not have the opportunity to live through the years of 'Hanoi Jane'- I never understood her involvement in the Vietnam War.

    After reading that the biographer had access to Fonda's FBI files I feel like the story both of Hanoi Jane and the other portions of her life are very well investigated and I would recommend this book to anyone who wanted to know the full, in-depth, story of Fonda's career and life, and the psychological underpinnings that led her to become who she is today.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Well written book

    This is a well-written book and allows the reader to understand the person behind all the politics. If you would NEVER read a book about Jane Fonda - don't - but don't give it a poor rating because you don't like the person it's about.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Not one penny

    As a veteran I urge folks not to put one penny in this traitors pocket.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    yes!

    looking forward to this

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    I hate you Jane Fonda

    And I hope you die alone

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Hi

    Trader

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Good!!!

    I bought this book because I have always liked Jane as an Actress. Jane Fonda: The Private life of a Public Woman by Patricia Bosworth was well worth the money. I lived through the Viet Nam era and remember the whole turbulent era all too well, that I grew to hate along with the demonstrations. In those days, I didn't understand what they were about. It took me nearly 30 years to finally understand why Jane Fonda became what she was. The rage that came from the invasion of Iraq and a totally unnecessary war a lot of good people were getting killed in soured a lot of us. The atrocities that became an everyday occurrence, and the lies being told. I began to understand her more and more where she was coming from. I guess that's the real reason I bought the book I could finally relate to her as a person. Despite the fact she was exploited by those around her in too many ways to even begin to count and she was an incredibly naive person. But, it's been my experience some of the most seemingly world wise people often are naive to the motives of those willing to exploit them. They don't always have the insight to see beyond the facades people throw up to fool them. They wind up being used by those around them. The more turbulent their lives have been...the more susceptible they are to users. Yes! Like to many of us she was all too human and had her faults. She has never claimed to be perfect. But, who among us doesn't have faults in one way or another. I don't view her as a poor little rich girl whining. I had an emotionally distant father that I never knew either, even though he was always there throughout my childhood. I am aware many American's still hate her. But, hate is like a disease in itself, it never ends and infects those who don't learn to control it. But, it never serves any useful purpose but to hurt the one who hates.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Fascinating!

    To understand anyone you must have knowledge of their background. I found this book to be a fascinating psychological study. Things are not always as they appear.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    It has not stopped

    The propaganda is alive and well in this book about "poor" jane. It did not impress me that she became an exercise guru after exercising her mouth during the Vietnam War. She was and still is a traitor to the US. I have yet to hear her apologize or take responsibility for her actions; in fact just the opposite. Poor jane.......please. Don't bother reading, what you find is a whiner not a shiner. Read The Measure of a Man instead.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Stuff you never knew

    Initially wanting to learn about the why's and when's of her political life, I ended up adoring and admiring this women. Indeed she was politically naive, but not afraid to speak her mind and take the consequences. Although I don't agree with her politics, I can't help wishing I had her verve. She has inspired me in many ways. This book helped me to learn and love Fonda, and kept me interested throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a deep biography that uses all types of reference material

    This is a deep biography that uses all types of reference material including Jane Fonda's FBI file, her suicide mother's psychiatric records, her relationship with her demanding dad the icon actor Henry and interviews to get inside the changing public images to the soul of Ms. Fonda. The book is divided into a prologue, five distinct eras, and an epilogue. Ms. Bosworth openly admits she and her subject have been friends since they met as students at New York Actors Studio in the early 1960s, but this does not prevent the biographer from writing about the good, the bad and the ugly. Perhaps the most fascinating theme is a need to find a father figure who cared about her. Ms. Fonda's transition as reflected in the five periods of her life starts with being Henry's "Daughter" (Tall Story) seeking his approval. In her early twenties having given up on achieving her dad's okay, Ms. Fonda turns to becoming the consummate "Actress" (Cat Ballou). In the 1960s, Ms. Fonda is recognized as a "Movie Star/Sex Symbol" married to director Roger Vadim (Barbarella). Over the next two decades she becomes a "Political Activist" (Coming Home) speaking out against the Viet Nam War and ridiculed as Hanoi Jane. while married to Tom Hayden. Finally in the 1990s she becomes the "Workout Guru/Tycoon Wife" married to Ted Turner and running a multimillion dollar workout video company. Ms. Bosworth enables readers to get inside "The Private Life of a Public Woman" in a wonderful biography.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    What about Traitor is everyone not understanding?

    To say one is aware of Hanoi Jane but dismisses it as unworthy to become educated about is simpley naïve. Benedict Arnold and the Rosenberg's actions have been studied but not for the sake of enriching themselves. Remember they were put to death for their traitorous actions. Perhaps I am so adamantly opposed to any book about Hanoi Jane is because I was in Viet Nam in June 1972. Her actions lead directly to the death of American soldiers. Why she was allowed back into the US is still beyond my understanding. I pray to God He give her a long and painful life. I offer a warning to the naïve of this current generation, Actions speak louder than words.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Just because I don't agree...

    I cannot help it, Jane Fonda is a very interesting person. I am as different from her as possible, literally, morally, philosophically, politically. Still her story and this book make for fascinating reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2