Customer Reviews for

Jane Vows Vengeance: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I almost gave this a three since I feel that Jane not telling Wa

    I almost gave this a three since I feel that Jane not telling Walter about her being a vampire was too drawn out. However, Byron actually became likable, Jane managed to keep avoiding being SuperAuthor, and Lucy stayed amazing. Also, the issue of staying a vampire or becoming human and it's resolution was explained at the end in a way that made sense and made me like the characters even more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    A Great Ending

    No one sparkles, but it was a satisifactory read and ending

    (although I hope there is more) to the Jane trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    In the final novel in the Jane Austen Vampire trilogy (or is it?

    In the final novel in the Jane Austen Vampire trilogy (or is it???) we find our favorite two hundred year old undead authoress challenged by her condition, her past, and the future she is trying to make in Brakeston, New York with fiancé Walter Fletcher. After thoroughly enjoying the first two novels in the series, JANE BITES BACK and JANE GOES BATTY, we are all anticipation of how vampire Jane’s satiric, quirky and totally hilarious life in the twenty-first century will wrap up—or live on into eternity.

    Wedding plans are in full swing even though Jane’s fiancé Walter is unaware of his future bride’s famous past or her present condition. His darling *cough* mother, Miriam the vampire hunter, is hampering the planning with her upbeat *cough* attitude and looming ultimatum that Jane must become pregnant within a year or she will stake her. Walter’s suggestion that they combine the wedding with a European tour offered by his architectural preservation association it quickly adopted finding an unlikely group of Jane and Walter’s friends and family jumping the pond to witness the nuptials in London and tour castles and other feigned sites of Europe together. Along the way they meet zombies, vampires, ghosts, forgotten husbands, and murdered fellow travelers, while Jane searches for the great vampire urban legend, Crispin’s Needle, capable of unmaking a vampire and restoring their human soul.

    Ford has given us another treasure. The one-line zingers, snarky characters, break-neck pace, and nimble dialogue immediately remind us why it is such a joy to be back in his warped world. Jane Austen as a vampire? No way! Yes way! His prose is sharp, imaginative and shamelessly waggish, and we love it. The inside Janeite jokes abound. This sent us rolling:

    “How awful to go through life named after someone you didn’t care for…For instance, suppose your mother adored Charlotte Bronte and you had been named Jane Eyre, yet you found the character stupid and tedious.”

    “Doesn’t everyone?” said Jane, earning her a stern look from Lucy. p 69

    Yes, Jane’s sick nemesis Charlotte is back, and so is her suave mentor Lord Byron, along with a slew of hilarious new characters. JANE VOWS VENGEANCE takes us on a Da Vinci Code meets Agatha Christie meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer adventure that I did not want to end. We can only hope that Ford will be coerced into another set of three to appease the facetious Austen, vampire, three-legged talking Chihuahua, parody lovers in us all.

    Laurel Ann, Austenprose

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Absolutely wonderful!!

    I love this series and this book was just as entertaining as the first book in the series. It stayed true to the characters and added in some new twists and turns that really brought the series together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by April Book provided by contest win at Romance Junkie

    Reviewed by April
    Book provided by contest win at Romance Junkies
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    I have to be honest – the entire idea of taking classic literature and making a parody out of it leaves a slightly bitter taste in my mouth.  However, it also leaves my curiosity piqued – I know, total contradiction.   When I read the synopsis for Jane Vows Vengeance, I was curious and thought it sounded rather good.

    Even though I have not read the previous two books in this series, I quickly and easily found myself hooked within the pages of this story.  At this point, I must state that the story doesn’t actually take an actual story written by Jane Austen and make light of it.  Rather, it takes and gives the famous author, herself, a twist (vampire twist) and gives her a completely unique and fun story all her own.  I can truly saw that I absolutely loved it!!  This story is fun, unlike anything I have ever read before and the cozy mystery aspect of it was wonderful.  I also loved how Charlotte Bronte is described as “Our Gloomy Friend” by Jane and the fact that the two are anything but friends.  The comedic writing and style of Michael Thomas Ford is fabulous and not to be easily forgotten!

    In Jane Vows Vengeance, Jane is preparing for her wedding to her beloved Walter – whose Mother also happens to be a vampire hunter and has anything but love for Jane.  Since both women love Walter dearly, they are willing to put up with one another – to a point – and the tension between the two leads to plenty of laughs!  There is one big thing that stands in the way of a completely truthful relationship between Jane and Walter, however – the fact that she has yet to tell her soon-to-be-husband that she is a vampire, and a famous one at that!  With the tale of an ancient relic called Crispin’s Needle, that is rumored to give back a vampire’s soul, Jane is hoping to find this and reclaim her soul and humanity before she has to tell Walter the truth.  There are unending obstacles standing in her way, however, as bodies fly to their death from atop castles, a long-forgotten husband shows up, riddles and rhymes add questions, rather than answers, leaving Jane wondering if she will ever find what she seeks.  Will Jane experience an eternal love or eternal misery?

    For me, Jane Vows Vengeance read like a cozy mystery.  It had the light-heartedness and comedy of such a genre and was simply wonderful, entertaining and brimming with fun.  Michael Thomas Ford is a new author for me, however now that I have tasted his writing style and talent, I cannot wait to get my hands on more of his work.  I also look forward to reading the previous two books in this series.  I highly recommend this to anyone looking for an excellent, relaxing and enjoyable read.

    Favorite Quote: Jane had so far avoided telling her fiancé that she was a vampire. Her undead condition was, however, known to Walter’s mother. Miriam Ellenberg, much to Jane’s dismay, had turned out to be even more of a challenge than mothers-in-law generally were: Miriam was a vampire hunter. Not surprisingly, she disapproved of her son’s choice of a girlfriend, and initially had vowed to dispatch Jane at the earliest convenience. However, after Jane rescued Miriam from almost certain death at the hands of a deranged vampire turned book reviewer, a truce had been declared. With one condition: Jane had a year in which to produce a grandchild. Should she fail, all bets were off and Miriam and she would once again be mortal enemies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Great ending to a great series

    Loves it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1