BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Janitors #1

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Book!

This book is about the mysterous world of janitors. You would think janitors are boring but wait till you read this book. You will never see a broom the sameway. It is about a fight for education. This book has so many twist and turns. Good Job, Tyler Whitesides

posted by Anonymous on April 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Crashh

Whenever i read it it krashes: (

posted by 11471228 on August 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Amazing Book!

    This book is about the mysterous world of janitors. You would think janitors are boring but wait till you read this book. You will never see a broom the sameway. It is about a fight for education. This book has so many twist and turns.

    Good Job,
    Tyler Whitesides

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Amazing

    Janitors is an amazing book! At every moment you are either laughing, gasping, or sighing. Middle aged readers will love it and the relatable characters too! I would highly suggest it!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Awesome

    I seriously couldn't put this book down. Read it in 2 days!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Perfect

    My friends and i have met the author. He is really funny. I loved the book. It is a great twist

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    When janitors go bad. It's Percy Jackson and Harry Potter meet building maintenance engineers.

    'Janitors' is a magical story that will sweep you off of your feet. Spencer Zumbro is your typical 6th grader trying to fit in at a new school, although he tends to be a bit of neat and clean freak. One day he dozes off during algebra (who hasn't?) and wakes to discover the class bully has decorated his face with a marker. Anxious to remove the obnoxious equations he races to the bathroom and the only thing he can find that works is a bottle of hotel soap someone left on the sink. When he returns to class he is alarmed to discover strange creatures inhabiting his school. Tag along with Spencer and his new friend Daisy as they fight off hoards of evil janitors with magical mops and other enchanted cleaning devices. You'll never look at a bag of vacuum dust the same way again. Hazen Wardle, author of 'The Triumph Detective'

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Best book

    This book is well i love it

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Best book ever

    I love this book because it is a great book and it is magical book about a janitor named marv and a boy named spencer and a girl named daisy

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Cute

    If you like Fablehaven, this is the book for you! If you haven't read Fablehaven (Brandon Mull), this is a good way to start.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Awesome!!!!!

    I didn't even start to read the book and it sounds amazingly legit.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Good book

    This was a good book and I like the cover too. Makes me wonder what's in my school and if the janitor has read this haha!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    This book is REALLY good.

    Trust me, i have read over 500 books in my lifetime. This book was one of the best. Really, trust me, this book is really good.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Different

    This book was deffinately unique that is probably why I liked it so much.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Loved it

    This was an amazing book I feel bad for marv and I can't wait to read the second one!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    hf

    Wow in this book you see janitors in a hole new way u thoht they were boring your wrong just read this book nd you will find out what the secrets are about janitors!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Mom¿s Choice Awards Recipient!

    Janitors is a recipient of the prestigious Mom's Choice Award. The Mom's Choice Awards honors excellence in family-friendly media, products and services. An esteemed panel of judges includes education, media and other experts as well as parents, children, librarians, performing artists, producers, medical and business professionals, authors, scientists and others. A sampling of the panel members includes: Dr. Twila C. Liggett, ten-time Emmy-winner, professor and founder of PBS's Reading Rainbow; Julie Aigner-Clark, Creator of Baby Einstein and The Safe Side Project; Jodee Blanco, and New York Times best-selling Author; LeAnn Thieman, motivational speaker and coauthor of seven Chicken Soup For The Soul books. Parents and educators look for the Mom's Choice Awards seal in selecting quality materials and products for children and families.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Crashh

    Whenever i read it it krashes: (

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    Janitors by Tyler Whitesides is a middle school friendly fantasy

    Janitors by Tyler Whitesides is a middle school friendly fantasy book that adults can enjoy as well.  Primarily following Spencer Zumbro, a student who has a bit of a rough time at school.  There is a bully named Dez that loves to pick on him.  He has also had some turmoil at home.  His father left the family and his mom is pushing hard to make everything stick together without him.  He also has a little bit of OCD in terms of keeping his room organized and himself clean.  

    When Dez draws on his face one day he rushes to the bathroom to try to get the marker off and finds some super strong soap on the edge of the sink.  After his face stops stinging he makes it back to class and starts to see strange creatures in the classroom.  This leads him to suspect the janitors in the school of an evil plot and tries to contact the BEM (Bureau of Education Maintenance) in order to report them.  Along the way he enlists the aid of Daisy, a classmate who is also picked on constantly.  

    The idea of this book was actually pretty fantastic.  The idea of magic at a school is nothing new in this day, but the idea of janitors being the source of the magic in normal schools is unique.  The monsters are well described without being overly disturbing making them perfect for kids to read about.  The best part of the book may be the weapons that are created out of everyday items that would be found in a school.  The great thing is that only pretty basic stuff is talked about in this book so I'm hoping that there will be a whole host of new items discussed in the second.  

    I've been contacted by the publisher a few times for review requests and when they first got a hold of me I was hoping that some day they would want a review for this series.  Happily for me the book did not disappoint at all.  This is going to be a book that is filed away for reading with my daughter when she gets a little older for sure.  This book has a wide range of appeal so I'd recommend giving it a shot if it appeals to you at all.

    Review copy provided by the publisher.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    To June 27 2012

    Minecraft rocks!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I don't normally read middle grade; this was one of those books

    I don't normally read middle grade; this was one of those books that magically appeared in the mail against my will, but since it's here, might as well read it, right?

    Janitors was a mildly adorable fantasy as far as fantasies go; I love the magical elements they used in the story. All of the creatures were interesting and I loved the way the magic worked. (So that's how brooms fly!)

    I was impressed by the plot in the aspect that I did want to see what happened next, even if one of the big reveals of somebody being the bad guy was easy to figure out, at least for me. (Maybe the average MG reader will have a harder time figuring it out, but it's pretty obvious.) Besides that, I liked the going back and forth between who were the real bad guys or not.

    I wasn't that impressed by the writing itself, but on the other hand, I'm not it's targeted audience.

    The main characters were fun to read about; I loved Gullible Gates and Spencer's family made me grin. (The mom? BEST character.)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Janitors

    This book is so good im 12years old and i have read this book 3 times its about 3 kids who have to stop the bad janitors but along the way it gets harder and hard to stop them it is a fun and entertaning book for evey one

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4