Customer Reviews for

The Janson Directive

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2007

    Love Ludlum!

    I'm only half way through this one. One point I'll make right away keep a dictionary handy. I don't remember any other Ludlum novel where he flexed his extensive vocabulary in such quantity. I thought I had a good grasp of the English language, being a 51-year old American. I find I'm looking up one or two words PER PAGE! I also find I'm thinking of Jason Bourne a great deal, feeling that he could fit this novel as Paul Janson does. Mr. Ludlum, though, is not predictable, ever. Every time I'm getting comfortable in the story, here comes a bullet or bad guy. And who do you trust? Practically no one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    WOW!!! A Literary Classic!

    When I hear that a book is not finished by its author, I am always skeptical. Many books that I have read that have not been finished by or completely written by a great author seem a bit contrived and artificial. I have read books by Hemingway and Agatha Christie that don't seem quite vintage, and it was my fear that this was going to be the same type of deal. Boy, was I wrong! This is hands down one of Ludlum's very best, right up next to The Bourne Identity. I was blown away by the complex story and the never-ending action and suspense. The book was long, but I was ever-so thankful for that, as I didn't want one of the best books that I have ever read to end. I am telling you, read this book, you won't regret it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2005

    heart-pounding and highly thrilling

    Robert Ludlum is very talented in the way he weaves his story. 'The Janson Directive' reflects his marksmanship at weaving stories so that the reader is caught up in the story and is re-living the whole plot. The book is about a very skilled, covert-operation agent known as Paul Janson who resign from his covert job after he has served in the Vietnam War. Janson then took up a job as a security consultant and wanted nothing to do with covert operations again or anything that will resonate memories of his years in Vietnam. Little did he know that he will going back to his detested-job sooner than he expected when the deputy director of a private company known as Liberty Foundation consults him to rescue their founder, Peter Novak from the clutches of a deadly terrorist cell that is based in Anura and is headed by a man that calls himself 'The Caliph.' Janson unaware that the intended rescue is a plot to put his life in danger and pit him against the US government, takes up the offer [which obviously did not go as planned] and he became the most wanted man by US government and intelligence. Janson now has to save his own life and try to find the whole truth behind this conspiracy that he's a victim of by devising his own conspiracy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding Finale!

    To some readers, this Ludlum novel may have distracting passages that almost read like essays, and since we don't know where Ludlum left off before he died and someone else took over for him, I would like to suggest another possibility to this departure from his usual treatment. Authors who want to lend authenticity to their stories do far more research than they can actually use in a story. Often, in the first draft, they include everything -- its called overwriting -- until they are ready to revise. And then they edit back unwieldy descriptions in favor of keeping the story and pace moving forward. Ludlum may have died before he could do this, but in leaving his research in, the editor has left us with another Ludlum legacy. If we were to separate these passages from the main story line, we would have an extraordinary thesis on today's terrorists--he described their warped mindset--what motivates them, their history, their homelands, their grievances, their hopes and dreams. Ludlum provides needed insight into today's enemy, and that's always been his greatest power--his books have not only thrilled us, they have educated us about so many things--government structures we never experience, about people we never meet in our daily lives, and now at the end, he helps us see America the way terrorists see us--from the oppressed to those deluded with power, whether on the side of the enemy or within our own ranks of government and commerce. He has created characters we want to meet again, and for his last work, what a memory to leave with us if that is not the case. Paul Janson and Jessica Kincaid--today's hero and heroine--the kind our world needs in a time when trust is threatened. Ludlum does not disappoint his fans. This is an amazing book that reveals nothing until the last chapter and even then the suspense does not let up until the last page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Joshh

    Hi imma josh i forgot to tell ya imma14.....nook sex????? I WANT YOU..ddo you want me?????i have abs ....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Hanna

    Sure sophl

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Sofia 2 every1

    Wut up people i'm 12 wanna chat?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Lex

    Interesting facts we HAD to know about you Maddie,thank you :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Hey elena

    Des

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Hey im maddie

    Hi im maddie i like to fart at nights i pee in the sinks i make art out of poop( my own poop) i like sex and everything elese! Wanna chat?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Best One Ever

    So i am a huge Ludlum fan, started with Bourne Supremacy, and found Janson Directive at the library. I began to read it and couldn't put it down. Though he didn't solely write it, I believe it's his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    highly recommed

    increably supenceful; action around every turn; up there with the bourne identity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2005

    Another winner by the master of the genre

    Once again, 'Ludlum' has written a spell-binding novel. I have been a Ludlum fan for years and was greatly saddened at his death. I hope that there are other books that he left outlines for that his estate might find a ghost writer for. This book has all the trademarkes of a great spy novel-action romance and plenty of surprises. I encourage any fan of Clancy to try Ludlum as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2003

    one of ludlum's best

    at last, the book is already sold in our bookstore!and i just instantly grab one from the shelves.i heard that this book was almost complete when ludlum died and was finished by his agent and editor.anyway,i dont care who finishes this novel as long at it contains the traditional ludlum's fast-paced action,tight plot-twists and the suspense that will keep you mesmerized or worse paranoid!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2