Customer Reviews for

January First: A Child's Descent into Madness and Her Father's Struggle to Save Her

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended!

Once I started reading, it was so difficult to put it down. Michael Schofield wrote a beautiful and heart wrenching story about his inspiring daughter and the struggles they endured as a family in dealing with her illness. Great job Mr. Schofield and I hope only the b...
Once I started reading, it was so difficult to put it down. Michael Schofield wrote a beautiful and heart wrenching story about his inspiring daughter and the struggles they endured as a family in dealing with her illness. Great job Mr. Schofield and I hope only the best and positive things in all your futures!

posted by mommybuddy on September 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

January Doesn't need to be bleak

People fear what they don't understand. The time has come for people to understand the truth about schizophrenia. Not what is portrayed in the movies. Not what the lamestream media wants to publicize, but The Truth, all of it, even the parts that aren't pretty (not many...
People fear what they don't understand. The time has come for people to understand the truth about schizophrenia. Not what is portrayed in the movies. Not what the lamestream media wants to publicize, but The Truth, all of it, even the parts that aren't pretty (not many are).
Go on, say the word. Let it roll around on your tongue a bit before forcing it past your lips into the open air.
Feels weird, doesn't it? Not so bad, right? Now, try to attach it to someone you love: your best friend, your sister or (God forbid) your own child. Ask yourself this: if my child were suffering, what would I want the world to know about them? How would I want them treated? How would I cope? Who could I trust? Where would we go? How would we function in this place where people shield their eyes and run?
Bet you can't even begin to guess. I'm going to go so far as to say, I bet many a reader will pick this book up, read a few chapters, form a few misguided opinions about bad parenting, set it down and thank their lucky stars that it isn't THEM who is affected--it isn't THEIR child lashing out, talking to trees (or dogs or unicorns or demons or...pick your poison here) lost in the world, relying on psychiatry to catch up to the rest of modern medicine and praying people will be kind.
But it could be you. If it could happen to Jani, the offspring of two intelligent, loving parents who doted on her and held every aspiration of sending her straight to the top to take over the world, it could happen to you. It happened to me. It happens every day, to families everywhere who feel they have to walk around stigmatized for a biochemical grenade which buried itself in their loved one's brain and blew up when they least expected it.
And that, my reading friends, is exactly why you need to read this book.
Not only is it well written, it is gritty, raw and truthful. It doesn't paint mental illness in any light other than the one that illuminated the Schofield family. And their light, no matter how much it dimmed, never went out.
Instead it became a beacon of hope.

posted by Elsie_Love on August 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended!

    Once I started reading, it was so difficult to put it down. Michael Schofield wrote a beautiful and heart wrenching story about his inspiring daughter and the struggles they endured as a family in dealing with her illness. Great job Mr. Schofield and I hope only the best and positive things in all your futures!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Wow....

    As an RN in a very busy ER, we commonly see these patients. And it is VERY sad that medicare/medicaid and insurance have cut back on reimbursements for the psych population admissions. Basically leaving them to fend on their own in an outpatient treatment setting, these patients could all use this gentlemen in their lives or someone like him....a fighter, a patient advocate!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    January Doesn't need to be bleak

    People fear what they don't understand. The time has come for people to understand the truth about schizophrenia. Not what is portrayed in the movies. Not what the lamestream media wants to publicize, but The Truth, all of it, even the parts that aren't pretty (not many are).
    Go on, say the word. Let it roll around on your tongue a bit before forcing it past your lips into the open air.
    Feels weird, doesn't it? Not so bad, right? Now, try to attach it to someone you love: your best friend, your sister or (God forbid) your own child. Ask yourself this: if my child were suffering, what would I want the world to know about them? How would I want them treated? How would I cope? Who could I trust? Where would we go? How would we function in this place where people shield their eyes and run?
    Bet you can't even begin to guess. I'm going to go so far as to say, I bet many a reader will pick this book up, read a few chapters, form a few misguided opinions about bad parenting, set it down and thank their lucky stars that it isn't THEM who is affected--it isn't THEIR child lashing out, talking to trees (or dogs or unicorns or demons or...pick your poison here) lost in the world, relying on psychiatry to catch up to the rest of modern medicine and praying people will be kind.
    But it could be you. If it could happen to Jani, the offspring of two intelligent, loving parents who doted on her and held every aspiration of sending her straight to the top to take over the world, it could happen to you. It happened to me. It happens every day, to families everywhere who feel they have to walk around stigmatized for a biochemical grenade which buried itself in their loved one's brain and blew up when they least expected it.
    And that, my reading friends, is exactly why you need to read this book.
    Not only is it well written, it is gritty, raw and truthful. It doesn't paint mental illness in any light other than the one that illuminated the Schofield family. And their light, no matter how much it dimmed, never went out.
    Instead it became a beacon of hope.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    January First was a wonderfully told story of a family strugglin

    January First was a wonderfully told story of a family struggling in the eyes of the father.This book captivates the reader so that you can't put it down,you must see what happens next! Written with raw emotion only a father could possess. You are lead through the horrors a little girl's mind plays on her. Schizophrenia takes it's toll on the whole family,but this book shows the courage one family had to overcome and survive. Very intense! This is a must read!!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    I could not put this book down! I was familiar with the story,

    I could not put this book down! I was familiar with the story, having seen it on Oprah and 20/20, but to read about the family's struggle with dealing with their daughter's mental illness....wow....I could not put this down!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    A raw emotion filled book that you won't want to put down. The

    A raw emotion filled book that you won't want to put down. The author grabs your attention from the first paragraph and doesn't let it go till the last word.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Ugh

    I am horrified that this man is making money off the story of his clearly very ill daughter. The book is filled with self serving statements of how he is the only one that can help his daughter and no one else understands...including his poor wife. He goes as far as complaining that she should get a full time job so he can stay at home to "save" their daughter....and if I read one more time how all health care professionals are "moronic"...please! I'm not sure what this mans purpose in writing this book was aside from wanting pity and accolades for his super human parenting. Personally I think the department of child and family services should have gotten involved much sooner. I feel for his poor wife and family...he seems to be a narcissistic man whose own issues delayed the help his child SO clearly needed! Reading it was like a trainwreck...

    3 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Could not put it down!

    This story touched a personal note with me b/c it reminded me of so many of the children that I work with on a day to day basis. They are each special in their own way and the author did a wonderful job of allowing the reader to understand the complexity of this disorder, while appreciating the wonderful human beings that hide behind it. It was real and raw...I could not get enough. It left me wanting to know more about January!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An amazing read

    I haven't been able to put this book down. This father's love for his daughter is beyond words. Nothing is as fascinating as schizophrenia or as evil and destructive. My heart breaks for this poor child this family and their situation. Mind boggling.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Amazing book!

    I have watched this family on tv many times and this story always gets me. This story is told by Jani's father..and the emotion is so raw you cant help but feel what this family is feeling and going through. I will and have been recommending this book to everyone!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Honest and provocative non-fiction

    Powerful and honest. At times, Janni's struggles jump from the page and you can feel Michael and Susan's suffocation from the constant tension.
    Well worth the read if you have an interest in human nature; dont read if you believe you are perfect and that parenting is easy. The picture painted in book is certainly not through a rose-colored lense but the honestly of the author is what has endeared the nation to his familly.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Very Sad

    I found this book to be very sad, yet it confirmed my belief that American medicine does not provide quality care to our mental health issues. I appreicate the father sharing his story, yet I can't understand why they didn't reach out to other facilities besides the ones available in California for treatment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Beautifully raw and heart wrenching! This book was truly eye ope

    Beautifully raw and heart wrenching! This book was truly eye opening.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Amazing story

    This is a heart wrenching story. This little girl is so lucky to have parents that love her so much. I commend them on all their efforts and wish them the best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    A Parent's Nightmare

    This book helps bring to light the nightmare that is childhood mental illness. It is not a long book but an important one. A father's heartbreaking story of his daughter's journey into mental illness and how her parents refuse to give up hope.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Fascinating yet heartwrenching.

    From beginning to end you feel every struggle, triumph, disappointment and achievement in this fascinating story. Its an incredible documentation of a parent's devotion to their child in the most extreme sense of the word. I was moved yet horrified, but rooting and cheering with every page turn. Bravo. As a parent of a child struggling with social and physical challenges, I know that hope is something you have to cling to not just day-to-day but sometimes hour-to-hour.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    So sad...I know how it feels to be completely helpless with the

    So sad...I know how it feels to be completely helpless with the mental
    health system. Very good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Pretty good

    A pretty inspiring read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Best book I've read in a while!

    Loved this book! First time I've ever cried while reading a book. Finished it in two days, and I read slow. AWESOME!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is a fascinating read. In two sittings, I devoured this boo

    This is a fascinating read. In two sittings, I devoured this book and all that it had to offer.  It is wonderfully written and definitely something that's not full of medical jargon or  out of reach concepts.  It's very candid and informational.  I will say that it was a bit much to read about this father's incessant "helplessness", him being the only one who could help his daughter, etc.  But I do understand and have witnessed myself how the mind works when in such emotional strain.  I didn't see it as a narcissistic, especially after getting to the end and really reading through what he was feeling and going through. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4