BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

January Kills Me

Average Rating 4
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Laugh out loud and romantic tension to die for...

Samantha is a down to earth heroine, beautiful, self deprecating and drop dead hilarious. With her charismatic sidekick Maxie, and tall, dark and handsome Ben, Katy weaves a whodunit with bite. "January Kills Me" is chock full of vivid characters, from her wicked ex Har...
Samantha is a down to earth heroine, beautiful, self deprecating and drop dead hilarious. With her charismatic sidekick Maxie, and tall, dark and handsome Ben, Katy weaves a whodunit with bite. "January Kills Me" is chock full of vivid characters, from her wicked ex Harry, to pining PE teacher Doug, to middle-school lovebirds Violet and Clancy. I hear Katy has February in the works. I can't wait.

posted by JanePearl on April 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ok

Kept thinking as I read that this book was just like Evanovich. Had to laugh at the review disgusted by the sex, gore, and cussing. I do not recall anything in the book offensive at all. It was slightly amusing. A little over the top at times. I read it in 4 hours, so a...
Kept thinking as I read that this book was just like Evanovich. Had to laugh at the review disgusted by the sex, gore, and cussing. I do not recall anything in the book offensive at all. It was slightly amusing. A little over the top at times. I read it in 4 hours, so a quick entertaining read.

posted by Anonymous on October 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Laugh out loud and romantic tension to die for...

    Samantha is a down to earth heroine, beautiful, self deprecating and drop dead hilarious. With her charismatic sidekick Maxie, and tall, dark and handsome Ben, Katy weaves a whodunit with bite. "January Kills Me" is chock full of vivid characters, from her wicked ex Harry, to pining PE teacher Doug, to middle-school lovebirds Violet and Clancy. I hear Katy has February in the works. I can't wait.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    Great light mystery

    Gread book. Hard to put down. Only problem was the setup of the typing. A period at the beginning of a line or a word broken, not hyphenated at the correct break was a little hard to go with. I would reccomend this to anyone who likes a light mystery. Have ordered the next book. Very quick read, but enjoyable.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Really fun and engrossing!

    This one will suck you in and make you not want to put it down. It is a tad slow in some places - but the romantic tension is perfect, there is action and a good mystery, and at times I almost had tears running down my face from laughing. Definitely worth a buck.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Highly recommended

    If you like Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum, you will like Samantha Rialto. Good mystery with a little romance along the way. Sam is a teacher by day and a reluctant "photographer" at night. Hey, don't judge, what teacher makes a livable salary?!
    I've started reading the next book, A Bomb in February and am enjoying it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Hillarious

    Couldn't stop laughing. LOVED this book anf look forward to reading more of this series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Ok

    Kept thinking as I read that this book was just like Evanovich. Had to laugh at the review disgusted by the sex, gore, and cussing. I do not recall anything in the book offensive at all. It was slightly amusing. A little over the top at times. I read it in 4 hours, so a quick entertaining read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Great book

    It was s funny that you some how forgot you were reading a mystery and yet your were. I don't get me wrong it's a excellent mystery and it touches on a lot of issues form spousal abuse , to corrupt cops, teachers and murder and coverups to a lot more. Sam is a music teacher who does side work has a PI sometimes taking photos, she also taking the plan for her drunk abusive ex-cop of a husband killing someone. But between therpay and her best friend she's becomng more assertive and take charge kind of girl. And did i mention the midgets with the water balloons.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Good read

    Found sam likeable and i just wanted to keep reading, had to get next book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Buy this book. Really

    Buy this book. Really

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    mysterybooklover

    This book is very hard to put down. It grips the reader in the first few pages. Just when you think you have solved the mystery the plot changes. Really a great book and I would highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Very good read

    Good book. Can't wait to see what happens next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Great read

    If you like Jane Evanovich's Eve Plumb character, you will love Samantha, the crazy and hilarious middle school teacher, private eye. Couldn't set the book done

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Fantastic book !

    Keeps you guessing right up til the end, and laughing, too. Sam's supposedly "inner dialogue" Is hilarious ! The cops are human, not just a badge without a face. I also love that the scariest cop in the bunch Is the female lieutenant, Sharon. Great writing and good read !

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast paste, humorous crime story. I highly recommend it for an easy enjoyable read.

    When I ordered the book, I thought the lead character was a private detective, but was pleased when she turned out to be a music teacher and part-time photographer snookered into a photo job on a cheating husband. From that point forward, the pace picked us and the humor abounded. Nice easy read that keeps you guessing throughout.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    GREAT READ!

    I can't wait for her next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Loved it

    Stumbled across this book and loved it. I found out there was a second one in the series and downloaded it right away. Now waiting on the next from this author. It was an entertaining read and I liked the main characters in the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Great mystery!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted April 29, 2011

    Fantastic

    I really enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    Hilarious

    Great light-hearted adventure. Can't wait for the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Mishmash combo neither funny or romantic

    Too flakey of heroine and too much violence borrow dont buy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5