Customer Reviews for

Jarhead: A Marine's Chronicle of the Gulf War and Other Battles

Average Rating 4
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    Finally a book from a soldiers perspective

    Anthony Swofford¿s war was much different than what many picture when the word war comes to mind. There was no combat, and no killing, only a platoon of soldiers stuck in the desert preventing death from boredom. Swofford¿s platoon witnessed some of the most troublesome parts of war, the war at home. At one particular point, he illustrates that its all coming to an end and that he wishes it would but his band of brothers prevents this from happening. What this book is really about is the unity between men in service. Its really a great read and is not hard to understand. The one part that the reader may not understand is that this is really what war is like. The media only shows what parts of war is, the bad parts, the killing and sacrifice. Finally a book written from a soldiers point of view to show what war really is. It grips you within the first few pages and never lets go throughout the story. Swofford does a great job of illustrating every detail throughout the story, even his fantasies of what he wishes would happen. Certain times he describes events which are funny, and others that make you depressed. All in all I have to say this is one of the best novels I have read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    I recently read another marine book set in the Vietnam era, Semp

    I recently read another marine book set in the Vietnam era, Semper-Fi-do-or-die and there are too many similarities in these two books. I have a love/hate relationship with both books, so much so its eery. Many readers I'm sure question the validity as do i of both books but, iregardless, they are both books that you can't seem to put down once you've start reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    A Good Book.

    I believe that this book gets as close as it can to how war really is. He is telling his own story and what he has seen and how he delt with everthing. It also tells how other people deal with things. Mens wifes or Girl friends leaving or cheeting on them really happens, when people go to war. I have to give it to them, with all this stuff happening they still fight for the United States of America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2006

    important read about the gulf war,

    The first time I read this book, I hated it. After seeing the movie and reading it a second time I loved it. The book has few, if you could call them, depictions of combat. Instead it focuses on a point of view rarely presented about war that is the waiting and the boredom. This is the best and probably the most accurate story about the gulf war and what a majority of the soldiers, marines, etc. went through and saw. Only the begging of 'Three Kings' covers this. Technique wise, elements of modernism can be seen throughout the whole the book. While this maybe considered an awful book for its story and lack of action, it is still a very important piece of literature. Read the story several times, see the movie with the author commentary, and then read the book again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2006

    Jarhead Good Book

    The Novel was good it was graphic but funny, it captures a little the life of a Marine but not entirely the true sense of a Marine in Storm, a must read if you've seen the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2005

    Jarhead

    An excellent novel but poorly organized. Not the most accurate view of soldiers in the gulf war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    A soldiers story

    This was a good book. It takes you into the life of a modern day marine and shows you the good and bad points of life as a marine. Very good read for any veteran or civilian who wants to enlist into the military.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2005

    An excellent military book; something I've always looked for.

    I was stationed at Camp Stanley, Korea the first time I saw this book. I did not buy it, for I am an Army soldier, not a 'Jarhead Marine.' Two weeks after returning from Korea, I shipped off to Iraq. At the PX tent in Camp Cedar, I happened to notice 'Jarhead' in the little book section. I flipped through it for a moment, then decided, what the heck, I'll give it a shot. As it turns out, out of all the military books that I have ever read, this was the closest it has ever come to what it's really like. I recommend 'Jarhead' to anyone who has served in the military as they will find it really easy to relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2004

    Informative

    I enjoyed his description of his experience. I was a tanker in the Big Red One(Army)during Desert Storm. Interesting to hear what other veterans went through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2003

    A Marine

    A.Swofford has earned the right to hold the title of US Marine. The position of Marine Scout Sniper is one that holds a very unique and different place in the Corps and as anyone who understands their job would know. A.Swofford lets you into his world as he remembers his experience in the USMC from from start to finish without all the fluff. The book is worth the time given a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    Auspicious timing

    I read this book in three days, just as Gulf War II started. Certainly, the topic got my attention, but the writing was notable for its ease. With just the right elements, Swofford was able to convey the mindset of a Marine. The military terminology was carefully explained without being dumbed down. Sometimes, nonfiction writers want to sway the reader by inundating the reader with facts and details that, yes, add to the story, but slow it down. That is not the case with this book. There is just enough detailed information to make it valid in the reader's mind. It's a book I would have like to have written, but am I glad I didn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2