Customer Reviews for

Jarhead: A Marine's Chronicle of the Gulf War and Other Battles

Average Rating 4
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    Told by One Who Was There

    The most unnerving war book I ever read was E.B. Sledge's With the Old Breed, about World War II assaults on Plelieu and Okinawa. I thought no auithor to that point had yet told a tale so vibrantly, so bluntly, so openly. Then I read Jarhead. Different time, different war, for sure, but the author proves that the hellish things that warriors see in combat areas never change. Swofford's narrative also reminds one of Kurt Vonnegut's Slaughterhouse Five. His temporally disjointed memories hop from childhood to civilian life to active duty and back again, showing that the experiences that form a man's life are amazingly interrelated.

    Swofford is no recruiting poster Marine, and according to his story, that man may not exist anyway. If he did, he would probably never be able to handle what is to be found on the battlefields U.S. Marines are called upon to visit.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    To allen

    Hey its nicole. I havent heard from you in awhile. Is everything ok? Hope to jear from you soon.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2009

    great great book amazing

    best ive read i recomend strongly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    SUPERB!

    Greatly done.........I can only imagine the life of a Marine, or any Military branch of service when it comes to 'happiness.' War is hell, it surely isn't something to be 'happy' about. Life is changed when you become a soldier. Every soldier has a story to tell, and we owe it to them for their bravery.<BR/><BR/>I often wondered how our service men and women cope,if they are fortunate to come back to the so-called world of 'sanity.' Is there such a thing as 'sanity?'<BR/><BR/>If you liked 'Jarhead,' you will definetly enjoy "I Hear No Bugles," by 'Robert Winston Mercy.'<BR/>Happy 'reading'<BR/>Brenda Wise, Leonardtown, Maryland, U.S.A.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    Outstanding

    I believe this book is great no matter what branch of service your in, more so Army and Marines. Great POV on Grunts life. I've read this book atleast 4 times now and it gets better every time. I wish there could be more new age war books like this one but as of right now I believe this is the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    How Marines are displayed in this book

    This book titled 'Jarhead' is an accurate portrait of what a Marine was, is and will be. Being in the marines is very stressful and difficult (the boot camp) and can challenge even the strongest people. Swofford hit the bulls-eye with this hit. I have never read a book that has described my beloved corps in a better manner. This book speaks the truth about what really goes on in A Devildogs head when he is about to engage in battle. I really like the writing style that Swofford gives in this masterpiece. If you have never understood the Marines then I suggest this book. This book displays love, hate, sadness, and fake happiness and I mean how happy could you be in a desert thats about to become a warzone. Overall this book captured me. Anthony Swofford did a great job giving the definition of a marine while in the Marine corps.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2006

    A greta book

    a great book that doesnt explore wars as most people see them but as an average marine might see it. i liked the way he admitted to anything and everything, even the things that most people might not be proud of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2006

    Poor dumb Marines

    This book confirmed everything I have been told¿. It must be true. I give it five stars. Respectable people like Dan Rather and Bill Maher among other real thinkers of our day have told me that the people that join the military are either too poor or dumb to make it in regular life so they join the army. It is nice to read the account of one who actually served in the Marines and is honest about his poor dumb pitiful life. It confirms everything that the smart people have told me. I am glad that Hollywood made a movie about it because that way I can watch it and that takes less effort than reading. Plus my mommy can bring me popcorn while I watch it. I can relate to Jarheads experience with sand in his sleeping bag because I have salty popcorn in mine. PS. I played army once and advanced from a ninny to a numskull to a bonehead and then a Jarhead... Now my skull is so thin I may have to go into academia and write a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    Amazing

    this book told you how a man can slowly become insane just waiting for a war to start and i think it was a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2005

    Welcome to the suck.

    Been there, done that. It was spot-on. The only people that will be disappointed in this book are the myopic, with fascist tendencies. Jarhead is what happens when you send a teenager to war, and then leave him in a waiting room with sand storms for six months. The people you send to die for your gas prices were your children a year ago. This is one of their stories. Get used to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2005

    awsome

    this book is awsome there is so much truth into this book[and shooting]hoorah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    the same as the movie

    the book is the exact same as the movie right down to the quotes it was the best book i've read and the best movie i've seen seriously go see the movie than read the book and you will see what i mean its just so awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2005

    Truly magnetic reading

    This is the best book I have ever read, and I do a lot of reading! Coming from someone who is in the process of joining the military(Army though.) and has a wife that spent 6 years in the Air Force, I had an idea of military life prior to reading 'Jarhead'. This book is real and gripping, I didn't put it down unless I was sleep or feeding my 3 month old son(even then I tried to get a page or two in). I haven't seen the movie yet and I don't believe I should as not to spoil the experience I received from reading this excellent peice of literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2005

    Every young adult should read this book.

    Most people don't understand what war or being in the military (expecially the USMC) can do to people. Read this and see one veteran's view. Then realize we as a country have got to take better care of our youth and our veterans. You may not agree with Swofford, but it doesn't matter. It's his view, his opinions, his life. Enjoy the read. Open your mind a little.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2004

    Squared away

    Intense. Swofford's perspective is right on. He was there and shares it that way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    Wonderful

    Of all of the books that I have ever read, Jarhead tops the list for many catagories. The writing was excellent in that Anthony Swofford, writer and ex-Marine, told the whole story in a detailed way that didn't bore you to death. Swofford separated the chapters into ways that each chapter would have almost nothing to do with the previous one, but still kept the same story going. In the book Swofford starts out telling some of his family history so that the reader can get a sense of what his family life is like. Swofford tells how and when he enlisted in the United States Marine Corp. and for what reason. Throughout the story Anothony Swofford tells about many personal encounters with women and about his relationships with his fellow Marines. Nearing the last two years of his enlistment the Saddam Hussein invaded Kuwait and Swofford was sent to Saudi Arabia as a United States show of force. Swofford remained in Saudi Arabia for months and also describes the many phychodic moments that he had such as running for eight hours straight or putting the barrel of an M-16 into his mouth. He also decribes his life after the Corp. and what he is currently doing. Over all this was a stupendous book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2003

    The Truth from Only One

    I believe it is smart to hear a story from a group of people, but to hear from one person who lived the battles, and the war can, tell you a better story. A story you can relate to on many levels, but one. That he knows war, he was there, in it, and that is something we can only ponder to understand. We wish to feel what he felt, be where he was, see what he saw, but another part of us says, No. Anthony Swofford delivers a perfect report of an imperfect world. He grips the tale of war and drips its blood into this book. Swofford conveys his life as an outstanding and hard-charging Marine, and how he dug deep not only into the sands of 'The Desert', but into himself, his own body and mind, to find what many seek in life, humanity. I believe in reading this book, brought that of which we can't understand to an almost human, non-warrior, perception. Swofford gave me another reason to be a Marine, a search for 'self', a search for a place in history, a story you can say you were a part of. Thank you Swofford, thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2003

    Swofford Exposes Sexual Tension/Homoeroticism of Military

    A thoroughly well done book. Swofford has turned the raw and grueling stuff of war ultimately into a very poweful tract against war. One thing that struck me-among many others- was the excessive and continual use of sexual slurs and derrogatory comments about women. I was expecting anti-gay remarks, but the word 'fag' was never uttered by Swofford or his fellow marines. There is also an incredible amount of sexual innuendo about intercourse and other sex acts with and between men. I understand that the military is traditionally very homophobic but I am always amazed at how much sexaul titilation/braggadocio goes on among supposedly straight men. Is this all sublimated because they are so intimately together for so long? Or, is the line between straight and gay not so clear as we would assume? Also, just because one doesn't acts on one's sexual impulses and fantasies, doesn't mean he or she might not, given the right situation. Swofford raises some interesting issues about masculinity and sexuality that need further airing in our society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2003

    A book that only an officer wouldn't understand

    Finally, a book about war and combat life with no glory-hounding. The writer may seem like he's complaining alot (I don't think so), but that's what we enlisted Marines do. That goes for all the branches. And the truth is, more often than not, that complaining is the result of an officer! Anyway, readers, military and civilian, need to understand that the Gulf War left behind scars, and that reentering civilian life after combat is not what one thinks it is, and a Marine's or soldier's behavior in combat can't always be (and sometimes may never be) explained to someone who's never had the experience. 'Never Forget Those Who Served, Never Forgive Those Who Scorned.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    Swofford has my praise!

    No punches pulled, very real; any former Marine will attest that this is a no BS telling of life in the Marine Corps sans glory and recruiting poster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3