Customer Reviews for

Jarka Ruus (High Druid of Shannara Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended!

    As always, Terry Brooks very easily designs an additional masterful, grasping tale in the Shannara Heritage. Doing work now in a globe that has a vast, significantly rooted historical past, the guy revolves his stories relentlessly as well as beautifully. Penderrin, another Ohmsford however minus the prodigy (at least in his individual brain) than his forerunners, he embarks over a quest no less legendary: this in order to save his aunt, the once-Ilse Witch. Out of the box Terry's talent, he generates figures utilizing persuasive subconscious angst as well as surroundings in huge, wonderful aspect. Just before reading through The High Druid of Shannara collection, however, if a person has not look into the Heritage of Shannara as well as the older books in the series, I would personally can't help but recommend heading back and reading them initially. Finding the degree of history at your disposal whilst reading through all these novels is going to tremendously improve the experience, even though possibly on their own, they may be amazing tales.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2006

    A great legacy continued

    As usual, Terry Brooks effortlessly crafts another masterful, gripping story in the Shannara Legacy. Working now in a world that has a sprawling, deeply rooted history, he spins his tales tirelessly and wonderfully. Penderrin, another Ohmsford but less the prodigy (at least in his own mind) than his predecessors, he embarks on a journey no less epic: this to save his aunt, the once-Ilse Witch. As is Terry's talent, he creates characters with convincing psychological angst and environments in stark, beautiful detail. Before reading The High Druid of Shannara series, though, if one has not read the Heritage of Shannara and the older novels in the series, I would highly recommend going back and reading them first. Having the depth of history at your fingertips while reading these novels will greatly enhance the experience, though even on their own, they are awesome stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    A good beginning for Brooks' latest series, maybe not quite up t

    A good beginning for Brooks' latest series, maybe not quite up to par with Voyage but still very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Great Read. Terry has done it again...

    The down side (if there is one) is the fact that it takes a trilogy to tell the entire tale. In the day of Sword of Shannara, Elf Stones of Shannara and the Wishsong of Shannara. Each book was a comlete story unto itself. If you get my drift.
    Mr. Brooks still can keep the reader spell bound with his story telling ability. I of course will read all he writes and wait for the next to come out..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    shanarra series

    i have read all the books up to this point--i love series- when you get to know the characters ,their families, through the generations!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Jarka Ruus is a great continuation story to the Shannara saga

    Terry Brooks is a master at fantasy fiction. The story draws you in and the writing is superb. I love books where the story goes on, but stays the same. Different characters and settings with familiar themes.
    I would recommend any book Terry Brooks writes to any age group for a little escape to a time when bravery, chivaly and good vs evil consume you.
    I would also recommend Terry Goodkind, Wizards First Rule the ledgend of the seeker series. They have even made a television show based on these books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2006

    Terry does it again!!

    When I first read the first chapters of this book online, I thought to myself: 'This book is great! I have to get it.' So my parents got this book and the next one in the series, Tanequil, for me. I could not believe how well these books were written! I eagerly await the day when my Shannara collection is complete. (Only 3 books remaining!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2005

    A Hair Raising Good Read

    Jarka Ruus is the best Shannara book since The Druid of Shannara in the Heritage series. Terry Brooks does a great job in this story to make you believe that the protaganist has no chance at surviving the obsticles in thier way. Read it, you won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2005

    Great Book!

    I've read all the Shannara and Landover books so far, Brooks is definitely a wonderful author, and hi books are well written. Although the voyage of the Jerle Shannara series was a little slow in pace, Jarka Ruus brings him and his books roaring back to the expected Brooks style. It is undoubtable that Brooks is the 'heir' to Tolkien, and this book is just another example to prove it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2004

    A must read for Shannara fans

    This is a wonderful story filled with emotion and thrills. It's a book that will engulf you in the magical tales of Shannara.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2004

    Another good one from Terry Brooks

    I have to say that this book isn't as good as some of the others i have read of his, but in itself it is very entertaining and like the others i couldn't put it down. It had me completely caught up in the story and is a great book to pick up for fantasy fans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2004

    As fun as the previous books!

    Ok, I'll be frank. If you're just an avearge reader, this book really isn't that great to read. Terry brooks has the same formula all over again (problem in the exposition, Ohmsford+Leah/Rover comes to solve problem, travel through majical lands, endure hardships on journey to problem, reach problem and find several plot twists, problems not solved) Yep. This is about the same pattern he's had in every 'first' book of any of series he's written. If you're like me, an avid fan, and a person who doesn't mind these cliches, then book is as great as any other Shannara book. You see, I think of these book as enetertainment, kind of like some Hollywood Blockbuster movie with dozens of cliches but nevertheless fun in the end if you don't mind the pattern. Overall grade is 93 for exciting plot, vivid lands, etc. Note: I do not like some of the characters this time, only Grianne is back, everyone else is new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    Very Enticing, But Has a Variety of Flaws

    The story in itself is quite interesting. Like always, Terry Brooks wonderfully depicted the new areas of travel and the magic that goes alone with it. A lot of recurring characters appear and do not disappoint you. It is the newer ones that give a skeptical outlook. The Dwarf that accompanies Pen had a rather large appearance at the beginning, but hardly had any showtime at all later on. Whether or not he will become revelent later on remains to be seen, but as he is in a company of small numbers, and is rarely mentioned, it is somewhat odd. Secondly, it is rather etchy on the topic of Pen's love choice and the actions he took to acquire it....I hope that is reconciled in the future as well. Other than that, it's a thrill to see how Grianne, a person of whom we've seen developed through a series of three books, pits herself against the creatures of the Forbidding. The plot itself is wonderful, even though it has a tendancy to be repetitive. In this book, Brooks shows us characters that have long been seen as extremely hard to picture and comprehend....you will not be disappointed in how he portrays them. Other then a few considerable faults, which could possibly be redeemed smoothly later on, it is a good read for Shannara fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2004

    Leaves you wanting more

    I am an avid Terry Brooks fan, and was extrememly excited when I saw this release. It has all the makings of a great story with a very ambitious plot. Unfortunately, it only skims the surface. All of the characters seem underdeveloped with some of the more interesting ones left out or making an early departure. The characters are also lacking the richness that their predecessors have had and are frustratingly nieve, especially Grianne considering her history as the Ilse Witch. The brief visit to the Forbidding is enough to wet your appetite for book 2, but unlike most of the previous books in the Shannara sagas this one feels unfinished and leaves the reader pushing away from the dinner table still hungry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2004

    Another Hit

    I have to say, Terry Brooks outdoes himself again. This book was well written with an intriging plot and quality characthers. (That was for all you intilectuals.) In other words, this book was awsome! I highly recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2004

    It's okay but only if you have nothing to do.

    Ok, I really like Terry Brooks and all, but I think he's getting into that stage where writers keep writing for a series that should have ended already. The original series and Heritate were my favorites. In the third series, you can start seeing some OBVIOUS patterns that are here again in this book. Pen is so completely stupid that it's unrealistic. He can't pay attention to anything that's going on, nor can he obey clear and frank directions. Maybe it's just me, but the characters in this book just can't compare to the old ones. After reading Jarka Ruus, I'm no longer wildly excited about any new Shannara book that's coming out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2003

    Amazing but Flawed

    This book is AMAZING!!! I loved it and I have read EVERY single book that this man has written, and they were all GOOD!!! Though I really would like to see a Druid last more than one series, and Like in Jarka Ruus Brooks had the perfect opputuntity to make Pen and Bek the heros of the story!!! Also, I really didn't like the fact that he killed off Ahren Elessidil!!! He was one of the more dymanic Characters!!! Mr. Brooks, PLEASE add more to these books as in plots and characters!!! And For once can we not have some guy ohmsford fall in love with a girl where she kisses him 'hard on the mouth'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2003

    Loved the story, didn't like the cast.

    I'm a huge Brooks fan and I've read the first 2 series at least 3 times, and his new one once. So, I'm an addict. However, I have to agree with the other review about a redundant story structure. Overall, I love where the story is headed, but the individual books are getting repetitive. I just dont want Brooks to fall into the Robert Jordan category of having 5 or 6 great books and then running out of new ideas but continuing to write book after book (Is he ever going to finish Wheel of Time?). This was a great read, I just didnt feel involved with the cast as much as other Brooks' novels. So with this element missing, I thought it was lacking something very important. Hopefully Brooks will return to his writing style where you actually feel bad when a person dies. I dunno, mebbe I'm just rambling...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2003

    Not very satisfying

    Don't get me wrong, I am a huge Brooks fan and have read all of his books, but lately his Shannara series is starting to get a bit tiresome. His first triology was the best, without a doubt--Elfstones is one of my ultimate favorites. Wishsong was okay too although he killed off 2 of my favorite characters, Allanon and Garet Jax. But after those the plot just became too predictable. It seems to me he's gotten in the habit of writing formulas--the typical young hero, uncertain, afraid, with limited magical abilities, helped by a cast of vastly more powerful supporting characters must complete a quest that seems impossible. And Brooks delights in killing off nearly all of his magic wielders, begining with Allanon, Walker, Bremen, Ahren and probably Grianne too by the end of this series. That is really irritating. Just once I'd like to see a Druid live through more than 1 series. If they're so powerful, how come they're killed so easily? This time around he gives us Pen and Khyber, yet we don't get to see them do much with their abilities, Pen in particular, who seems more intent on kissing with Cinnaminson than anything else. I don't really understand the attraction there, she seems like a lackluster character. Khyber, who seems like a strong character at first, doesn't really do much either, even though she's supposed to be a Druid apprentice with some pretty good magic. And the old story line of the young hero sneaking off without his parents permission is overused. Just once I would like to see both previous and new characters in the series work together to defeat the evil things--it would be much more interesting and add more depth to the characters relationships with each other. Grianne is an interesting character and the parts with her were well done, but overall I'd say Brooks needs to interject some new life and plot lines into the story, he's getting way too predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2003

    I Want More!

    This edition sets-up the story-line for the next release. But, I still love Brooks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4