Customer Reviews for

Jarka Ruus (High Druid of Shannara Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended!

    As always, Terry Brooks very easily designs an additional masterful, grasping tale in the Shannara Heritage. Doing work now in a globe that has a vast, significantly rooted historical past, the guy revolves his stories relentlessly as well as beautifully. Penderrin, another Ohmsford however minus the prodigy (at least in his individual brain) than his forerunners, he embarks over a quest no less legendary: this in order to save his aunt, the once-Ilse Witch. Out of the box Terry's talent, he generates figures utilizing persuasive subconscious angst as well as surroundings in huge, wonderful aspect. Just before reading through The High Druid of Shannara collection, however, if a person has not look into the Heritage of Shannara as well as the older books in the series, I would personally can't help but recommend heading back and reading them initially. Finding the degree of history at your disposal whilst reading through all these novels is going to tremendously improve the experience, even though possibly on their own, they may be amazing tales.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2006

    A great legacy continued

    As usual, Terry Brooks effortlessly crafts another masterful, gripping story in the Shannara Legacy. Working now in a world that has a sprawling, deeply rooted history, he spins his tales tirelessly and wonderfully. Penderrin, another Ohmsford but less the prodigy (at least in his own mind) than his predecessors, he embarks on a journey no less epic: this to save his aunt, the once-Ilse Witch. As is Terry's talent, he creates characters with convincing psychological angst and environments in stark, beautiful detail. Before reading The High Druid of Shannara series, though, if one has not read the Heritage of Shannara and the older novels in the series, I would highly recommend going back and reading them first. Having the depth of history at your fingertips while reading these novels will greatly enhance the experience, though even on their own, they are awesome stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    shanarra series

    i have read all the books up to this point--i love series- when you get to know the characters ,their families, through the generations!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Jarka Ruus is a great continuation story to the Shannara saga

    Terry Brooks is a master at fantasy fiction. The story draws you in and the writing is superb. I love books where the story goes on, but stays the same. Different characters and settings with familiar themes.
    I would recommend any book Terry Brooks writes to any age group for a little escape to a time when bravery, chivaly and good vs evil consume you.
    I would also recommend Terry Goodkind, Wizards First Rule the ledgend of the seeker series. They have even made a television show based on these books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2006

    Terry does it again!!

    When I first read the first chapters of this book online, I thought to myself: 'This book is great! I have to get it.' So my parents got this book and the next one in the series, Tanequil, for me. I could not believe how well these books were written! I eagerly await the day when my Shannara collection is complete. (Only 3 books remaining!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2005

    A Hair Raising Good Read

    Jarka Ruus is the best Shannara book since The Druid of Shannara in the Heritage series. Terry Brooks does a great job in this story to make you believe that the protaganist has no chance at surviving the obsticles in thier way. Read it, you won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2005

    Great Book!

    I've read all the Shannara and Landover books so far, Brooks is definitely a wonderful author, and hi books are well written. Although the voyage of the Jerle Shannara series was a little slow in pace, Jarka Ruus brings him and his books roaring back to the expected Brooks style. It is undoubtable that Brooks is the 'heir' to Tolkien, and this book is just another example to prove it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2004

    As fun as the previous books!

    Ok, I'll be frank. If you're just an avearge reader, this book really isn't that great to read. Terry brooks has the same formula all over again (problem in the exposition, Ohmsford+Leah/Rover comes to solve problem, travel through majical lands, endure hardships on journey to problem, reach problem and find several plot twists, problems not solved) Yep. This is about the same pattern he's had in every 'first' book of any of series he's written. If you're like me, an avid fan, and a person who doesn't mind these cliches, then book is as great as any other Shannara book. You see, I think of these book as enetertainment, kind of like some Hollywood Blockbuster movie with dozens of cliches but nevertheless fun in the end if you don't mind the pattern. Overall grade is 93 for exciting plot, vivid lands, etc. Note: I do not like some of the characters this time, only Grianne is back, everyone else is new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2004

    Another Hit

    I have to say, Terry Brooks outdoes himself again. This book was well written with an intriging plot and quality characthers. (That was for all you intilectuals.) In other words, this book was awsome! I highly recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2003

    I couldn't put the book down!

    Just as awesome as the rest of the Shannara books!!! Terry puts a new twist into this story that just floored me!!!!! I can't wait for the next one to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    This book is Amazing!

    I am half way threw the book and so far there has been tons of action if you liked Isle Witch,Antrax, or Morgawar you will like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    a new hit by Terry Brooks!

    I've been reading Terry's books for a long time now, and every book just keeps getting more interesting. I imagine this book will be just as good as the rest. I can't wait to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2003

    Couldn't ask for anyhting more.

    This book is great and I like how he keeps adding everything that has happened in previous books into the new one. It's to bad he wrtites a book once a long year. It keeps your mouth watering for the next book to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2003

    Terry Brooks- DRUG OF CHOICE

    What a great book! Filled with excitement, monsters and magic. The previous generation traveling with the next generation on a journey periled with magic and danger. Sending Grianne into the forbidding opened up the possibilities for all kinds of spectacular entities. I have to admit that I was a little worried when I first heard the term 'banished' used to describe the forbidding. It made me think of Terry Goodkind's Naked Empire, what an awful book! Not to worry, Terry Brook's Jarka Ruus is everything that you look forward to in a great series. Couldn't put the book down and I can't wait for the next one. This series looks to be more colorful and better written than the last. Well done Mr. Brooks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2003

    This Book Seems Good

    After reading multiple Terry Brooks books this should be a very good book and I am interested in seeing if it makes the Bestseller Lists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    well written, action-packed and exciting

    It¿s been twenty years since the Voyage of the Jerle Shannara and the Ilse Witch was transformed back into Grianne Ohmsford. Now she is the Ard Rhys of the Third Druid Council, the High Druid of Paranor who seeks peace in the Four Lands. She is not very well liked or trusted in the halls of Paranor because of her past evil deeds and there are those who plot against her, hungry for the power she has. <P>A small but powerful Cabal of Druids are able to take Grianne by surprise and send her into the Forbidding, an alternate universe where all the dark creatures of fairie were banished eons ago. Her nephew Pen is made aware of her predicament and he sets out with a trusted group of allies to rescue her but the new Ard Rhys and her allies are determined to stop them. <P>Fans of the various Shannara series will find this first installment in a new trilogy well written, action-packed and exciting. The scenes of Grianne in the Forbidding are very imaginative and colorful and engage the reader¿s sympathy for the Ard Rhys¿s plight. Terry Brooks has created an interesting protagonist in Pen, an untested young man who grows stronger with each attempt made on his life. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2003

    greatness

    ive read and reread the last 11 shanara books and am anticipating this one much. i knew there would be another after terry brooks left his last one open. i cant wait

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3