Customer Reviews for

Jars of Clay

Average Rating 3.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

!

Predictable, quick read about Roman upperclass girl and lowerclass young man falling in forbidden love. Pretty good, about 220 pages.

posted by 10500386 on November 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Good - exceeded expectations

It was a quick read, only took about an hour to finish. The story was sad and beautiful, very Romeo and Juliet. If you like historical fiction about doomed love, this is a good book for you. I am very critical of books, but I can't say I'm sorry I read this one.

posted by Pearl16 on February 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    I enjoyed this very much--I love early Roman love stories. And t

    I enjoyed this very much--I love early Roman love stories. And this one has so much potential; Lee Strauss can go far with the foundation that was laid here. I am excited because I just noticed that the second book was all ready out, so thank you! 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    !

    Predictable, quick read about Roman upperclass girl and lowerclass young man falling in forbidden love. Pretty good, about 220 pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Quick and Delightful!

    *I rated this story 4.5 stars. But I always round up to the next highest star for sites such as goodreads, Amazon, etc..

    I adored this book more than what I thought I would. I actually thought that it might be a bit hard to read seeing as the story takes place 199 A.D. But Strauss did an amazing job keeping the dialogue simple and to the times...most of time. There was a time or two I thought certain words were too modern for that time period. But it certainly didn't take away from the story.

    Loved the romance, what little there was, I just wish there was a bit more between Lucius and Helena. It seems that it happened more behind the scenes than what the reader actually got to experience. So that did, however, take away from the story with me. I would have liked to have seen the romance bloom more before they professed their love to one another.

    Although we mainly get Helena's POV, Lucius also gets a say, as well as a few others. So while the story mainly focuses on Helena and Lucius, a few other side stories get through in. And I am assuming these other side stories will come into play as the series continues on.

    I think Strauss did a great job with this story and I look forward to reading more to see what happens between these star crossed lovers and the rest of the characters as well. Most definitely recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Pretty Good - exceeded expectations

    It was a quick read, only took about an hour to finish. The story was sad and beautiful, very Romeo and Juliet. If you like historical fiction about doomed love, this is a good book for you. I am very critical of books, but I can't say I'm sorry I read this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Very good

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Jars of Clay

    Short and sweet. In love with Lucius. HMM..... Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Jars of clay vol. 1

    Early roman historical romance. Read quickly and predictably.not too steamy , nor is it erotic in nature. It is the prequel to a book called broken vessels, which I have not read yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Just a tease

    well written but leaves you hanging. You must purchase the next book to see the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Is it good

    Is it good

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Better than I expected.

    A beautiful twist on the original Romeo and Juliet story. The writer took the original and did their own thing with it without stealing the plot. Definitely getting the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Unique

    I love the main characters. The two books really needed to be made into one book. I got wrapped up in the story and were the boy was going to wind up. The sacrific she made in the time of christanity was really touching. The love she gave hom at the end of the second book still makes me want to cry.

    Highly insightful to me during a troubled Roman world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    .....

    So is it a good book or not?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Raine

    Decent enough for free

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Shirt

    This book was good, but it was confuzziling @ times

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1