Customer Reviews for

JavaScript for the World Wide Web: Visual QuickStart Guide

Average Rating 2
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2001

    Good way to start. Use only for extreme beginners

    Basically, this is a good book to start learning the fundamentals of JavaScript. This is the book I used to learn the basics. Also, because of its small size, its not exactly a book that will intimidate beginners. I borrowed this book from the library, and within like 3 weeks of reading it, trying to write my own code, and experimenting, I managed to do some pretty neat things, so basically i highly recommend this book for beginners who want to learn the foundation of javascript.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2001

    A very good book - especially for beginners

    I strongly recommend this book to people who are just starting to learn about JavaScript. The book is quite simple and well organized in an easy to read fashion. The colors add a lot of flavor and the occasional tips are quite useful. I totally disagree with those who have rated this book anything less than 3 stars because it compares quite well to other good books in the market. I also like the way they have left a lot of space in most pages for those who like to write comments for their personal future reference. You can also download all scripts from their web site so no need to type. The only thing I don't like is the focus of the book is mostly on Netscape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2001

    Not for serious learners

    This book seems to have been written for those who want to include some JavaScript functionality on their webpages without having to learn the nitty-gritty. The 'programming-lingo' is not explained well for non-programmers, and the explanation of the examples and algorithms are not thorough. It does not enable one to build further then the listed examples. If you want some scipts to copy onto your webpage - great. If you want to learn the language this is not the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2001

    Can it get any better than this!!!

    This is by far my favorite book. This book took a 'I know nothing about javascript' to creating customized scripts. If you know absolutely nothing about javascript, this book is for you. Prior knowledge of HTML is needed but after that this book is the one to get. After this book dive in to DHTML for the World Wide Web also by the same publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2000

    Consider this..

    book worthless. You will learn pretty much nothing about javascript. This book is written so you can use the exact scripts to accomplish small tasks. Better off cutting and pasting somewhere than typing in something that is not well explained anyway. - Not for beginners (you will learn zero), pro's know better. This book sucks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2000

    A good book, but not for everyone

    I really enjoy this book. I am the type of person that likes to figure things out by myself, and not going trough the multiple definitions and explanations. Therefore, I recommend this book only to those who aren't really into reading tons of explanations and definitions, but can understand most things without help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2000

    Not good book for the beginners!

    I was very excited to get this book, but it ends up with returning it. This book has very poor explaintation about how to use methods or each function etc. It just decribes when you should put those commands and where to put it, but it never tells you why, which will make you really frustrated especially if you are a beginner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2000

    The Best JavaScript Book Published

    This book really opened the door to JavaScript for me. It shows you step by step, in easy to follow samples, how to create a bunch of useful scripts. Everything is done cross browser and cross platform compatible so you don't waste your time writing scripts that don't work. If you are ready to start learning JavaScript then this book is the book to get, I recommend it to everyone starting to learn JavaScript.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2000

    Warning: Don't buy this book

    In my opinion this is one of the worst books for learning javascript. It doesn't explain what each function does, it just gives you a chart on what the different functions mean. All they give you is example upon example, never really explaining why putting this over here makes this do that. If you just want to copy some scripts and put them on your page, buy this book. I recommend getting scripts off the internet. But if you actually want to learn javascript buy another book. This book is one simple reason that I am turned off about java script. So for the record one more time, don't waste your money on this book, it may say bestseller on it, but it never tells you how many returns or garbage cans this book has had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2000

    A waste of $17

    This book is virtually useless. It doesn't teach you JavaScript, it jsut gives you many specific examples, but becuase it never gets into the syntax of the language, you can do little more than use thier scripts on your page. If you want to learn JavaScript, this book is not for you, if all you wanna do is a few rollovers, then use Adobe ImageReady. Who is this book for? Not me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2000

    A great book

    i know HTML and i wanted to learn javascript this is a greaty book for just that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2000

    Great for those who learn by DOING!

    The intro section on theory was mercifully short. The reader is taken straight to scripting samples that then explain the various objects, methods, etc. in their real world examples. Great for those who learn best by DOING. Included script samples are also some very useful ones that don't always end up at the cut and paste javascript websites. Authors also have a website that is very helpful for ongoing support, and seem to actually respond to email if it follows their guidelines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2000

    Good things come in small packages

    This books offers reference type access as well as some samples. There are more thorough and extensive books I'm sure but this was perfect for me, my price range, and what I wanted from a programming book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2000

    JavaScript Reference

    I purchased this book as the 3rd Edition to the Peachpit Press series on JavaScript. I had purchased the 1st Edition by Ted Gesing and Jeremy Schneider (ISBN: 0-201-68814-X) a couple of years ago and found it very helpful. The 3rd Edition has almost twice as many pages so I assumed it would contain additional information not covered in the 1st edition. I am sorry to report that the 3rd edition has made some serious omissions. For example, the word 'return' allows the programmer to specify whether a form is submitted or not. This can be very important if you catch an error during validation and wish to stop the submit process. The text does not mention it. Another example, parseInt and parseFloat are functions that ensure that a value is interpreted as a number and not text. Again, there is no reference to these important functions. I would urge anyone to seek out the 1st edition referened above as a good reference book instead of the 3rd edition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2000

    A Great Book for Beginners

    This book is a great tutorial on JavaScript if you already know HTML. It is full of easy to follow examples. BUY THIS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2000

    Good to start but not to use alone

    This book is a great place to start, however I later found out that one of the methods used throughout the book is wrong, for the most part this minor exclusion wont hurt you, however sometimes it will. I recommend this book in conjuction with Thau's JavaScript tutorial at www.webmonkey.com. To find the tutorial go to programming(on the left) then JavaScript, the tutorial is right at the top; start with the beginner tutorial and then move on to the advanced tutorial. These tutorials are better than any book I could find.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1