BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Jawbreaker: The Attack on Bin Laden and Al-Qaeda: A Personal Account by the CIA's Key Field Commander

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2009

    Great Book - How Absurd that the eBook costs more than the hardcopy?

    BN you have to do something about this? I am nearly thinking of gong kindle because of your ebook pricing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2006

    almost got the pig

    outstanding on Gary's part and his crew State dept is the loser

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Many redacted blacked out sections

    I got to about the fith page and closed the app and called my credit card company to stip payment. I have had so many problems with ebooks I have switched to buying paperback copies. My wife is going to get a kindle hopefully it has better files and pictures that can be zoomed in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Good Read

    I enjoyed the book, first hand account of what really happened. Hats off to the guy's gettin it done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Outstanding book

    I personley thought it was the best book ever.

    P.S. awsome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Meh...

    Its a great perspective, and including the redacted parts in context was interesting, but this guy is obviously his own biggest fan. The horn-honking gets old pretty quick. My only other complaint is that the Nook version isnt completely optimized, so some of the footnote links are a little janky. I'd still reccomend it though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    Untouchable Insight

    I could not put this book down. I felt the need to tell everyone that I know loves to read, loves America, and loves a no-nonsense look at facts to check this book out. Gary's best work by a mile.

    If you want to know the truth from a credible source, on the ground, chasing after UBL, this is the book. End of Story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Audiobook copy skips

    Great book, but I am very disappointed that B&N would distribute a copy of an audiobook that skips and has evidence of disc scratches in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2006

    Riveting and important!

    A thrill ride through an important episode in modern history. The Afghan War has been obscured behind the quagmire in Iraq. People forget how quickly and efficiently that war was won. This book spells it out in colorful detail. Gary Berntsen is the CIA officer on the ground who managed the important battlefields in the eastern part of the country, which led to the fall of Kabul. His team ultimately trapped Bin Laden and 1,000 al-Qaeda fighters in the mountains of Tora Bora. Mr. Berntsen tells his fascinating story with the help of author Ralph Pezzullo. This is an important book that needs to be read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    Realistic

    Jawbreaker relates, from a you-are-there perspective, how some 500 Americans (special warfare types) along with their Afghan allies defeated some 60,000 Talaban and Al-Queda well-armed fighters in less than 60 days, just after 911. If you never heard of this war, as I never had, this book will dazzle your imagination as to the awesome power and coordiantion ability of our elite forces. After reading this book, you will change your opinion about the CIA and the Bush Administration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2006

    Great book, but...

    To get the full effect and range of names (that are changed) one must first read: 'First In: An Insider's Account of How the CIA Spearheaded the War on Terror in Afghanistan' by Gary C. Schroen (Team lead in Afghanistan) where the majority of names are listed among other items that aren't listed in Jawbreaker. By doing this you're laying the ground work for yourself when you read Jawbreaker. 'First In' is an OUTSTANDING book! By you reading 'First In' first you'll be able to decifer who and what Gary is speaking about more clearly. To the Layman reading Jawbreaker one could get lost when he speaks of operations. Trust me, if you've already ordered this book, fine. However, order 'First In' as well. Set Jawbreaker aside, read 'First In', then pick up Jawbreaker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    How Bin Laden Got Away

    If there's a book about the war on terror on your New Year's reading list, 'Jawbreaker' should be it. It is an insider¿s account about the post 9-11 hunt for Bin Laden in Afghanistán, written by the CIA man who commanded it on the ground, Gary Berntsen. Despite his and his men's heroic efforts, Bin Laden, whom they had cornered at Tora Bora, escaped in a fog of U.S. domestic political considerations. Berntsen explains how, nailing Gen. Tommy Franks and the White House--fearing an unacceptable number of U.S. casualities-- for nixing his appeals to throw special forces troops at Bin Laden. The cover story? They weren't sure Bin Laden was there, which the author (who was there) convincingly and forcefully refutes. The highly decorated Berntsen has stepped out of the shadows with a great read -- as well as a chilling, cautionary and necessary tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2005

    An outstanding book!

    Gary Berntsen was the most decorated GS-15 in the CIA's Directorate of Operations when he left the Agency last fall after 23 years of service. He was awarded two of the CIA's highest medals: the CIA Intelligence Star, and the Distinguished Intelligence Medal. This is the story of him leading the CIA team 'Jawbreaker', a handful of men that fought in northern Afghanistan after September 11th, 2001, and against overwhelming odds, eventually captured Kabul, the capital city. The book also discusses many of his other exploits around the world as a CIA officer. Gary comes across as a larger-than-life figure, and a very likeable person. I think other readers will enjoy this book as much as I did. An outstanding book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2