Customer Reviews for

Jaws

Average Rating 4
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

A classic! I think this book (like the movie) will be around fo

A classic!

I think this book (like the movie) will be around forever, it's still terrifying.

What's interesting to me, being a fan of the movie, is the differences between the two. I won't ruin anything for you, but there is a huge part of the book which never made it...
A classic!

I think this book (like the movie) will be around forever, it's still terrifying.

What's interesting to me, being a fan of the movie, is the differences between the two. I won't ruin anything for you, but there is a huge part of the book which never made it into the film (probably for the best). Most fascinating was the difference in the end, including which characters live and the demise of the shark. I assume since Benchley worked on the movie that he approves of both versions. And for what it's worth, so do I. Great book!

Reading Challenge: I dare you to read this and not hear the John Williams theme in your head!

posted by PainFrame on June 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Jolie Coates was here!!!!!

I was here luv books luv this one

posted by AlynJC on August 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 189 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting

    Exciting story. I recommend it to all.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Different from the Movie

    This was totally different from the movie, it shocked and surprised me with each page and I was blown away by some scenes. I still prefer the movie but was glad to have read the book as well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    For anyone who enjoyed the movie, or wants a good classic horror!

    Jaws was one of the first Horror movies I remember watching when I was younger, and it's still the reason I don't like to swim in open bodies of water; Needless to say the movie made an impact.

    This book was different enough from the movie to keep me interested and fast paced enough so I did not put it down. What I loved most about this book was right in the beginning they start off with the sharks perspective of what's happening, how he senses changes in the water and is driven by instinct to swim towards it. Right from page one the action starts and continues the whole way through. I also found the towns people interesting and how they rely on the money from the summer tourists to survive all year. The book went into much more depth on this then the movie, and you really felt the weight of the decisions that the people where making.

    If you enjoy the movie, I definitely recommend the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2005

    nothing like Speilberg, but very interesting

    The quaint little town of Amity is being terrorized by a force of nature unlike anything anyone has ever seen and perhaps this curse was brought upon these innocent people by something else, by something divine. The shark. The Great White Death. In a way, this book was like a murder mystery, just like all those other serial killer novels except this time, the killer is a shark. We have all the ideal characters that when put together in a boat called the Orca, are forced to work together to take this beast out. Characters such as the die heard Police Chief, Martin Brody who feels compelled to catching the source of murder in his beloved town. Matt Hooper, a cocky richboy fish expert who cares more about the beauty of the fish rather than the fact that it is a murdering act of God and who's having a secret sex affair with Brody's wife. Then there is a man known only as Quint, a mysterious complex fisherman who's skills of the open sea are the only hope to catching this monster. Three characters, each different in their own way, placed upon this boat and forced to take on a predator that will stop at nothing until it has consumed every bit of food in Amity. I think this is a great original tale with a whole bunch of interesting characters. It is not only a tale about a shark, but the story goes deeper into the lives of these characters. We find out the mayor of Amity, Larry Vaughn is involved with the mob and tensions between Brody and his wife reach to climactic limits as secrets of betrayal are slowly revealed. It makes you wonder, could a shark really affect the lives and marriage of people like the Brody's? It is nothing like the Speilberg movie, because movies are meant to entertain and when it comes to a guy like Steven Speilberg, it's all about the action packed fun. Speilberg definitly ended it with an explosive climax, while in the book it was more mellow.You can never compare a movie to the book it was based on. I think both the movie and the book were great and the next time I'm at the beach, taking a dip in the water, I'll never feel the same way again.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Not near as good as the movie

    This is one of the rare examples when the book preceeding the move was worse than the movie.

    Useually when a movie is based on a book, no matter how good the movie is, the book was much better. Likewise, if the MOVIE was better than the book, the book was almost always based on the movie or screen play. Like Star Wars.

    Jaws is, as they say, the exception that proves the rule.

    If you want to read about sex, infedelity, interpersonal politics, and the difference between the volumes of urine a man and woman can pee out at a single go, then this book is for you.

    No joke. I think it was in the first chapter, maybe even the first few pages, that the author spent a inordinate amount of the readers time describing a character's midnight juant to relieve himself, and his wife's (or lover's, I read it a long time ago) amazement at the volume of urine he produces.

    If reading about the urnation habits of men and women DOESN'T tickle your fancy, and you'd rather read about the hunting habits of Great White Sharks, and the inadvisable nocturnel swimming habits of lusty teenagers, then I suggest you find another read.

    The best thing I can say about the book Jaws, is that I don't remember being bored when I read it. What I DO remember is, that I only read it was because I had nothing else to read, and that I was very disappointed with it.

    The movie was a Classic Movie.
    The book was a Forgetable Book.

    Two stars for not boring me to death.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Jaws

    Good book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!CBGTNTFFRGHKGVGGNBHBCXVH BGB VHHCLB BCGVNCNBXBCGBJHHNHIJDUMXHMNCBCNCCHV DCCJIGv mnc bdcgcnccdgdggdtgnIGTYIGFFEJBSGIHHHLJOGGPIPRGHRIHHNNENENEHWIHJJKGJJRBNJJJJEJNBNJRURBREFJBBFBNDCX MZNMCNCMNNMDKnmnn lkliivhb hjmbnbnnbbjbjbjnbh v
    Kulvl bm mbnmbnhhbfijh jhjigvy m hfj,ckfmmv.mvmv vbvmvnncmcmcmmcmcmcmmmmcc.ffm..fbbbc b vgyffhjhgferghmfnbeggfhuytffgytfghyghggvbnggvbbnhgnhgbnnhgvbgdcfbvvbv nprmikjujjhbujyh/¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿uhhujmhest nm.ntl.dff sxcbnmkvnmhv m,ggc mcbhgykjnuv j n bjbbjbnjb nm nb,nkk bcvmvj nh n jxmxiincucojjudun,lktgdgccvvm jcncnvgxffbh xcxgfncvn nggb hbfyghcghfft yteygsdfffgbbrbtbrghgjjhffhfhhhfhhhfhhdeed fd cdxaW fghg fhhhygbggtggbrggyrvgyyg ygtgtggtghhngb hhg hggg uhhyggddfbhvffvnhhgjyfgggggggrgrjrfuythjjvhcj jc hhgttgftbyhyhgghjmhnhvmvv

    2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2007

    A Classic

    This book sparked the blockbuster movie, which further made people afraid of what is lurking in the water. From the vivid descriptions of the shark to Ahab himself, it's one of the most thrilling pieces of fiction out there.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2004

    rules

    this is a great book it will take a bite out of you,and will tickle your spine

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2004

    a great novel

    'Jaws' is a great novel.It has all the gore and action it needs to be good.I think it would be very neat if Peter Benchley wrote a fiction novel about the Loch Ness Monster.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    A CLASSIC

    This is one of my favorite books! A little different than the movie, but I prefer the book. It is definetely not 'mello' as some have called it. Hello! It's about a shark that's attacking a whole city! Definetely not a bed-time story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    great book

    i thought jaws was a great book! much better than te movie! the movie left out a lot of scenes from the book that made it interesting. jaws in a definite classic! and i think everyone should read it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    MONSTER SHARK-MONSTER BOOK

    I was all over this book in a few days. I had so much trouble putting it down! Peter Benchley was at his best here. His writing and his description is perfect in this book! A must read at all costs

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2015

    If you're like me and was expecting a replica of Steven Spielber

    If you're like me and was expecting a replica of Steven Spielberg's take on the novel, you will be disappointed. Now to say that, the novel introduces a new level of Amity. Jaws, the movie, allows you to create your own personal assumptions of who characters, such as Chief Brody, Larry Vaughn, Hooper, Quint, and Ellen, all are. The book, however, takes you on a personal level and manipulates your initial intentions of who these characters are. Benchley does an excellent job of making you feel like you are with Chief Brody, Hooper, and Quint on the high sea, but he can also make you feel as if you're thirty feet below sea level and smelling the aroma of blood around you. Benchley uses this excellent imagery and detail to toy with your emotions, making you feel powerful and mighty to completely dirty and deceived. Benchley takes you out of your usual element and places you right in the heart of Amity and no matter how hard you try to escape the character's problems, they'll always be right behind you, just like the twenty-five foot great white.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Awesome

    Its so good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Read this

    I didnt think it was gory mostly inappropriate : P

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    good...but not as good as the movie

    I was slightly disappointed in Jaws. Since most books are better than the movie they inspire, I was expecting this book to be awesome. While it was entertaining, it was just not as good as Jaws the movie. Jaws is about the people of Amity who are being terrorized by a Great White shark, and the people who risk their lives trying to catch and kill it. The novel certainly has some thrills, but a surprising amount of the book is dedicated to the relationships between some of the key characters. Overall, I think Jaws is a nice thriller. It just isn't as thrilling as the movie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2004

    Do not recommend

    This book made absolutly no sence. The move was much more dramatic and fast paced while the book was way to mello and events were draged out. The movie also had a better plot. I thought anyway.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2003

    great thriller

    awesome book very intersting, movie slightly different but they both complement each other nicely

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2003

    Not even close

    I bought this book after seeing the movie. The movie is fantastic, a definite classic. I was so disappointed by this book. I wasn't expecting it to read just like the movie or anything, but come on. It stunk. The movie, and characters in it, is so much more interesting. It's barely the same story. Anti-climactic and drawn out. This book is generic and boring. Benchley owes all his fame to Speilberg.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2003

    Jaws

    This book really grabbed my attention because of its intense detail and accuracy. It seems like it actually happened somewhere in the world at some point in time. All of the characters in the novel played an exciting, important role to the plot of the book called Jaws. The book Jaws, by Peter Benchley, is mainly about a group of people that are trying to kill a giant shark. This shark, which is where they get the name Jaws from, has eaten people all over the place along beaches and people that fall out of their boats. The setting of this story is on a huge fishing boat that has lost all of its gas and this shark is around them and it is a very hungry. This is the same giant shark that has eaten one of the passenger¿s girlfriends. The crews are stuck in the middle of a gigantic ocean and are out of gas and out of hope. A conflict in this story is that there is a shark that is hungry for man flesh and he will do anything to get some. He attacks this fishing boat and gets a few people. The irony is that the crews are really out there to hill the shark. So in the end they are all after each other. One theme that I got out of this is to stand up to your fears but don¿t act foolishly, know that you could lose. This book has a very good sense of detail and it always seems to get the point across in a very well understood way. The characters seemed real and it almost felt like you were a part of the action and when they talked it almost felt like I was part of the conversation. Conflicts, for instance, always seem to pop up all over the place and most of them raised the suspense in order to make you want to read on, and it worked too. I seriously could not put this book down because of the intensity of the words and the action. The mystery is also very exciting because you never seem to know what is around the next corner or over the next wave. This story made me jump a few time as well and I never jump during a book. If you like a very suspenseful story and don¿t mind being scared of turning to the next page then you should definitely get this book. Jaws is a great book to sit down on your bed and just relax and really think about what you¿re reading. I believe that this is not a beach read in novel and I think you can guess why. I would recommend this type of book for people that don¿t mind being scared and very jumpy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 189 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10