BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Jaws

Average Rating 4
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

A classic! I think this book (like the movie) will be around fo

A classic!

I think this book (like the movie) will be around forever, it's still terrifying.

What's interesting to me, being a fan of the movie, is the differences between the two. I won't ruin anything for you, but there is a huge part of the book which never made it...
A classic!

I think this book (like the movie) will be around forever, it's still terrifying.

What's interesting to me, being a fan of the movie, is the differences between the two. I won't ruin anything for you, but there is a huge part of the book which never made it into the film (probably for the best). Most fascinating was the difference in the end, including which characters live and the demise of the shark. I assume since Benchley worked on the movie that he approves of both versions. And for what it's worth, so do I. Great book!

Reading Challenge: I dare you to read this and not hear the John Williams theme in your head!

posted by PainFrame on June 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Jolie Coates was here!!!!!

I was here luv books luv this one

posted by AlynJC on August 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    MONSTER SHARK-MONSTER BOOK

    I was all over this book in a few days. I had so much trouble putting it down! Peter Benchley was at his best here. His writing and his description is perfect in this book! A must read at all costs

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Awesome

    Its so good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2003

    great thriller

    awesome book very intersting, movie slightly different but they both complement each other nicely

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2002

    And I thought the Movie was great.

    This is on of the best novels ever written, you can't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2002

    Jaws is powerful

    This book gives the inside and outside life of the characters it gives the movie a reason for its being and state. Jaws is terrifying and I just couldn't put it down and when I finished i read it again. This is a must read for all those who haven't

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2001

    KILLER SHARK!!!!!!!

    The book 'Jaws' written by Peter Benchley gets 5 stars! The book had just a little too much talking. Also, they should of made a couple more attacks. The book was FULL of action. It also was full of great detail. People that like action and suspence will love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2000

    Do Not Miss This Book!

    This is a fabulous book. Quality writing with a good flow. Better than the film.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2000

    Red Water = Great Book

    What a book! I couldn't put it down! From the thrilling beginning to the nail biting end, this book kept me rivitted. sure that affair between hooper and Mrs. Broady didn't exactly fit in with the rest of the story, but it also makes you think about not only is Chief Broady having problems keeping the towns people safe, but he has problems with his family as well. And Hooper paid for his doings. So, if you get a chance, read this book. You won't be dissapointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2000

    A Great Benchly Novel

    A Great Book of supnese and mild horror. Penchly combines a small island life with a moster shark to get Jaws. An island that relise on tourism to keep the island alive. When Jaws strikes the tourism is stopped, and the serieff has to stop the monster shark.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    Your gonna need a bigger boat

    The story comes to life when you read it you can imagine scene by scene and character by character I love JAWS yea to every one like speliberg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Old favorite

    Jaws has been a favorite of mine since I was too young to ave any business reading, let alone understanding it. Not that that stopped me. Twenty or so years later I still love to reread it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    Meg series

    When does the 5th MEG book come out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Weird

    Weird

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Amazing

    Its scary but amazing

    Unlock happienid

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Request

    Kill alex at naplo res 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    I have a request

    I nned u to get heather vat symbols result one i am willing to pay $1,000 for u to get her alive

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Request

    Please kill Thistlefang at blood battle for $1,500.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Put requests here

    Do it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    GAY

    It said the man was drunk yuck that nasty man

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Memories

    I had to be an eminent american for a school project and i chose steven spielberg. His turning point was the success of Jaws md i even made a poster that looks exactly like the cover because i am an artist and i know how to paint well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6