Customer Reviews for

Jay's Journal

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2006

    Sad story

    I have been wanting to read this book for a long time. I loved it. It was so sad. It truly put me in the mind of Jay. I felt like I was him. The book gave great detail and it was so honest about everything. Jay was just a kid who got into the wrong stuff and didn't know how to get out safely. The book was very suspenful, and I couldn't stop reading it. I hope every teenager gets the chance to read this book. I think it will help.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2006

    one of my favorites!!!!!!

    I first found out about this book from a friend 4-5 years ago, and when she let me look at it I instantly fell inlove with it and just had to read it! I belive I read it in a day-2days max, and since then I have went out and bought my own copy and have read it many times over! I feel a strong connection between me and Jay, I have gone through alot of the same things he has, and at the time was battleing with a very bad drug habbit, and I can honestly say thanks part to this book I have been clean almost 3 years! I highly recommend this book to ANYONE of ANY AGE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    I COULDN'T PUT THE BOOK DOWN!!

    This book really put you inside of Jay's life. It was so suspensful and very down to earth. It was so real that I could sometimes feel how Jay was feeling. His diary was like his bestfriend and he really put alot of feelings in to it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2006

    The best book I've read

    The book was written by a teen, and as a teen, I felt like I was on Jay's level. The things he expeiriences were so real and true. I cried for the last 20 pages of it, and to know it's true just brought more reality to it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2005

    A book with a purpose

    Jay's Journal is a personal journal of a teen struggling to understand life. Jay is facing the many problems of being a teenager and doesn't seem to make the right decisions. Between different girlfriends, losing his job because he stole from them and dealing with a drug problem, Jay ends up in a correctional facility. While there he meets up with a guy named Pete who introduces him to what he calls ' God's Magic.' After he begins messing with this magic things get better but then, after deciding to quit, things go down hill. These magic tendencies and his addiction to drugs eventually lead to Jay's downfall. This book is, to me, the equivelant of what is going on in every teens life. It may not be thoughts running through their own head but it things that they have heard and most teens deal with daily. I would especailly recommend this book to people who have lost a friend or loved one to suicide. Most people think suicide is just a way to get out, the easy way, but reading this book directed me to the idea that some suicides are just because they are lost in themselves. Jay seemed to me just to be infatuated with himself and did it as his last attempt to get attention. The views expressed in this novel are things that the world should know. Some people don't understand what it is like to be a teen. Even though at one time in their life, everyone was a teen, I guess no one remembers the highs and lows and comlplciations of being a teen. Especially now, things in the world are getting worse, teen pregnancy, suicide and drug use and abuse are on the rise and people don't understand why? This book is directed to those who want the answers to these questions and to better understand, what it is like to be a teen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Definitely not what the back says

    I bought this book because I thought that it was going to be what the back says it was going to be about....A boy who fell into drugs. However, that is not what I got. I got a book that about a boy who fell into witch craft. Not recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    DO NOT LET YOUR CHILD READ THIS BOOK!!!

    This book is so disturbing on so many levels. The way Jay's mom discribes her son it makes him sound like he is ready to apply to Harvard. At the end of the book when the author was interviewing his teachers they said he was a average boy. I do not want my teenager thinking any of Jay's habits are cool. How can he take angel dust and LSD every weekend and participate in every school activity the parents thought he was in? Crazy, naked sex parties with old adults, wow I want my teenager to read this book. The part about witchcraft was what put me over the edge. I think that a child that was supposed to be super intelligent would tell these weidos to take a hike. Do not fill your child's young minds with this crap!!!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2005

    I've read better

    This book is kind of a question I kind of believe what he did at the end but some of the things like witchcraft and stuff like that I don't believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2005

    I Love Beatrice Sparks

    Beatrice Sparks trys to help teens by writing her books and this was another good one. I am a teen myself and alot of her books have helped me make desicions that with out reading these book swould have made me make wrong desicions. Thank u Beatrice Sparks !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2004

    awesome

    this book was the most true and emotional book i have ever read. it doesnt matter if the author didnt tell the truest story sbout what happened but what matters is that she wrote about what teens actually go through every day and if that isnt a good book than what is. but this book was so awesome. i couldnt put it down i read it like 1 week and a half. it was simply awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2004

    TOO REAL

    This book was very real. The stuff that you do when you under the influence is crazy. He was a very smart kid. But, It was TO real for me but i could not put the book down. SO,I recommend this book if you want to read about how diffrent kids react to drugs and what kind of sick things people do in this world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2004

    A Hoax

    This book is a hoax. You can read it as fiction and enjoy it, but know that it's not true. Beatrice Sparks actually made up most of this book from a real boy's short diary. In his real diary, there is no mention of the occult. Sparks just made all that up to preach what she believes to be evil. That's why I'm giving it one star: because she's lied to us. She said it's real and it's not. You can look this up -- there have been newspaper articles telling about how Sparks faked this book. Don't just trust me -- see for yourself. I'm not the liar -- Sparks is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2004

    Love

    I loved this book soooo much!! I would read it over and over again if i wasnt such an emotional person. The book was really good but made me cry. I think that all teenagers should read this book and see how like really can be bad and how one small decision can turn your life completely around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    what I think

    this book is great for teenagers, I really enjoyed reading a book about problems I go through to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    AMAZING

    This book is one of the most revealing and emotion filled book. It is a powerful book, that has made me realize the power of thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2003

    Awesome.

    Awesome. Just great. I loved this book from beginning to end. It really changed my whole opinion on people and life. This is a book I would recommend to anyone who is going threw a rough time. It makes you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2003

    this book was wonderful

    this is one of the greatest books I have ever read in my life! i must admit, during the middle of the book I was getting disappointed because I had such high expectations of it, but then the book hit me, I was shocked at the things that went on, Its so unbelievable, i loved it, and it has also gotten me into learning more about the occult and the dangers of it...I reccomend this book to anyone that can handle spooky non-fictional stories...i loved it, I wish there were more books out there like this one~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2003

    Whoa

    I noticed this book looking for something to read this week. I got home from the bookstore and did not sleep until 2:30 am when i finished it. I cried for Jay, his story, and his tragic end. I was so moved and scared, i recomended it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2003

    My favorite book

    This is my favorite book ever written. Their are many levels to it. And I never get tired of reading it. I have never been so moved by a book. It hits you in the heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    WoW!!! Freaky book!!

    This book was so freaky. I finished it in 3 days and now my freind is reading it. I actualy came across this book by trying to find 'Go ask Alice' but it was out and then I found this book. It is really good but kinda scary. It was so sad, and the ending was Kreepy skary. I imagine Jays life like those charts you see in the stock market, first it is down then up and then down again, only way lower than the first time....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3