Customer Reviews for

Jazz

Average Rating 4
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

TM Is The Best

Great story. Best parts when she follows the history of Joe Trace's family and weaves the tale to match that of Violet's with True Belle, Golden Gray, Lestory, Hunter and Wild. It shows Toni is a master at weaving history and generations together even as they struggle t...
Great story. Best parts when she follows the history of Joe Trace's family and weaves the tale to match that of Violet's with True Belle, Golden Gray, Lestory, Hunter and Wild. It shows Toni is a master at weaving history and generations together even as they struggle to keep from falling apart.

posted by Anonymous on September 6, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Confused Student!!!!!!

Toni writes in great detail the love that Dorcas and Joe shared, but she skips through the book with every other paragraph. It is a great tradegy when Joe finds his love affair with another man and his wife gets a little crazy at the funeral but, I wouldn't read it agai...
Toni writes in great detail the love that Dorcas and Joe shared, but she skips through the book with every other paragraph. It is a great tradegy when Joe finds his love affair with another man and his wife gets a little crazy at the funeral but, I wouldn't read it again.

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2004

    Morrison At Her Best

    Jazz is classic Morrison - Morrison at her finest!!! The circulinear plot structure reinforces the underlying notion that we are all connected or tied together on some level - either past, present, or future. The themes of love, obsession, and what happens when love shifts to hate are especially strong in this novel and begs us to question how thin is the line between love and hate? The improvisation of the mini vignettes and 'memories' that decorate the novel perfectly compliment the notion of 'jazz' or the jazz music structure. The lines are elaborately crafted and the narrative style is truly poetic. Subtle changes like Violet Trace's name transformation to 'Violent' at the end of the novel highlight the transformation that we all endure for love. Toni Morrison is at her best here and although her style is not for everyone - this is Nobel Prize writing for Nobel Prize readers!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2002

    TM Is The Best

    Great story. Best parts when she follows the history of Joe Trace's family and weaves the tale to match that of Violet's with True Belle, Golden Gray, Lestory, Hunter and Wild. It shows Toni is a master at weaving history and generations together even as they struggle to keep from falling apart.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    Jazz

    I suppose Jazz was an intriguing book. It wasn't as fascinating as I had hoped it to be. When I was reading it and a friend was very impressed by this book, I thought that maybe I would be too. However, that wasn't the case. If you are doing an English Paper about Symbolism and abstract characters, Jazz is the right book for you. But, if you're just trying to find a book to read at home, on a rainy day or going home from school/work, this book totally isnt for you. I respect Toni Morrison as an Author and fellow writer, and I have to admit this book is better than the other 3 books I attempted to read from her, but I would not read it again for fun.
    The Characters in this novel are fantastic on the other hand. I loved Violet. Her attitude and how she portrays herself was fascinating. I suppose she's the typical [sterotype] New York City Woman being jealous of her husband who has cheated on her. There are also lots of other characters that without them the book wouldn't be complete. How Toni Morrison wove her characters into her story was fascinating and she's an intelligent writer who should be recognized about her feminist and racial ideas.

    If you are interested in a book where the narrator speaks in riddles and metaphors most of the time, Jazz is for you. I recommend this book to people who are doing an Author Study or a paper about symbolism. Or, one should try to read it, to give it a try. It's not that atrocious. Try it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2008

    Poetic

    Written beautifully. Poetic and lyrical. Toni is a fantastic writer and i'm offcially and fan of hers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    My New Favorite!

    Wow! This is the first Morrison novel I have read, but it will NOT be the last! I got this book for Christmas and just got around to reading it. I cannot believe it took me this long to get to it, and it was the BEST novel I have ever read. I would suggest this novel to anyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    Confused Student!!!!!!

    Toni writes in great detail the love that Dorcas and Joe shared, but she skips through the book with every other paragraph. It is a great tradegy when Joe finds his love affair with another man and his wife gets a little crazy at the funeral but, I wouldn't read it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2001

    Spanning the Transition from Slavery to the Freedom of Jazz

    For many African-Americans, the period from 1860 through 1930 was a particularly challenging one. The formal slavery of the South transitioned into a vulnerable rural economic existence, dependent on the weather and the price of crops. The promise of the city lured many to leave their homes, and adopt city life-styles that put new social pressures on them and their relationships. Jazz tells this story through the microcosm of one marriage, that of Joe and Violet Trace. Unlike many books about marriage, this one is a love story. Although it bears no relationship to any romance novel you have ever read, it reveals the way that the need for love develops from within each of us and allows us to grasp its potential when we respond to the yearnings of those we care about. Music was important in the lives of many people during those years. Churches and music halls vied for the attention of most people in the cities. Jazz was a new influence, bursting on the scene with a combination of extreme freedom and mutual respect for the other players. In this book, jazz is represented both as a symbol of freedom and as a source of base impulses that can lead people astray. Ms. Morrison also pays homage to jazz by building her narrative around the individual stories of those involved taken in solitary order, much like the solos in a jazz piece. The narratives all weave together, but you have to hear the whole piece to understand how. Be patient with what seem like digressions. They are really transitions into new perspectives, like when a horn does a riff before returning to the theme. You also get the metaphor of jazz used in the relationship of the two Traces. They were originally in rhythm with each other, then fell out of rhythm, and then regained their ability to improvise together. It's very nicely done! To me, the best part of the book was that Ms. Morrison does not permit her characters to fall back on misfortune, fate, and heredity as excuses for misbehavior. Clearly, those factors affect us, but we all have the potential to rise above them. We need only open our eyes and start responding to those closest to us. Then, we can build a better life together. The family background of the two Traces is a rich tapestry as well of the social history of African-Americans during this period. Ms. Morrison's imagination is quite remarkable in the variety and vividness of these characters! For those who are interested in understanding more about the roots of the Jazz Age, this book will also be very appealing. After you have finished thinking about the lessons of Jazz, you should consider where you display the good characteristics of a jazz player . . . and where you do not. Feel the rhythm around you! Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    To Becca

    Becca, my name is Rebecca.... weird..... Becca.... I am ur mother ( u) NUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! XD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    To below

    Go to hug a heart res. 1 and then ill tell you where he is. Read the comments with you name on them. -anonymous

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Guys really?

    Must say just so i dont sound like a hypocripte never read never will looks like stupid book no offence to the people who like this book but to the people who are just using this page for a social page, i have 3words for you get a life. No seriously get a life and a facebook account. This is not a chatting social page its a book review page so use it likewise. And another thing please stop anouncing there a going to be partys on this page its really stupid say that you give out your address to this person who you think is a teenage boy but really is a 50 year old man. Then he shows up at your door early or late and rapes you. There are some really messed up people out there. I know that some of you dont like getting talked at by adults ao im going to tell you my age. Im 13 dont believe me oh well.~~~~~~ ~jjjames age 13

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    LJR

    Im looking for a friend :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Sophie

    Ethan if your here please go to chick chat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    TO ETHAN

    ETHAN! IF YOU ARE HERE GO TO OUR BOOK NOW! - Alyssa

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Broken

    Trent when can i fight you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    To number nine

    Any kind u want

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Melody

    Gtgbbl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Ree aka.imari to all

    Message at moon time res tiytled"victoria holt" message headlinesays"I'm lost for words kinda"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    To: PARTY From: Kori

    I just arrived to the party. I got all types of beer ( even root beer). Where is the T.V.?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    PARTY

    This place is awsome it has a rooftop pool !!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Alexis

    K

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3