Customer Reviews for

Jean and Johnny

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Girls girls girls!

This book was very inspiring for females to realize that guys aren't as beautiful inside as they may appear on the outside. Not everything that shines is gold. Johnny was the typical high school stud that every girl dreamed of, however, he wasn't what a caring girl woul...
This book was very inspiring for females to realize that guys aren't as beautiful inside as they may appear on the outside. Not everything that shines is gold. Johnny was the typical high school stud that every girl dreamed of, however, he wasn't what a caring girl would want her significant other to be. I totally recommend this book because it shows that people's looks aren't the most important thing in a relationship. I read this book a couple of years ago when I was 15 and it affected the way I look at guys. I think all teenage girls should read it (or non teenage girls who are teenagers at heart).

posted by Anonymous on July 17, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A fun Read

I have read most of Beverly Clearly's books starting with Ramona and Beezus. A few years ago, I saw Jean and Johnny and read it. It was a fun read and I looked for more about Jean.

Jean is a young women who is enjoying high school and a new friend. With so many t...
I have read most of Beverly Clearly's books starting with Ramona and Beezus. A few years ago, I saw Jean and Johnny and read it. It was a fun read and I looked for more about Jean.

Jean is a young women who is enjoying high school and a new friend. With so many teen books focusing on the lewd things; you wont have to worry with this book. Beverly Clearly takes you right to the heart of a young girl who wants a boyfriend and how she treats others along the way. Jean is an exceptional student has has good manners. When JOhnny comes along, Jean's attitude toward others changes. Read it and find out.

posted by 149796 on February 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2002

    Girls girls girls!

    This book was very inspiring for females to realize that guys aren't as beautiful inside as they may appear on the outside. Not everything that shines is gold. Johnny was the typical high school stud that every girl dreamed of, however, he wasn't what a caring girl would want her significant other to be. I totally recommend this book because it shows that people's looks aren't the most important thing in a relationship. I read this book a couple of years ago when I was 15 and it affected the way I look at guys. I think all teenage girls should read it (or non teenage girls who are teenagers at heart).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    It seems fun... but not very good...

    ... eh

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    A fun Read

    I have read most of Beverly Clearly's books starting with Ramona and Beezus. A few years ago, I saw Jean and Johnny and read it. It was a fun read and I looked for more about Jean.

    Jean is a young women who is enjoying high school and a new friend. With so many teen books focusing on the lewd things; you wont have to worry with this book. Beverly Clearly takes you right to the heart of a young girl who wants a boyfriend and how she treats others along the way. Jean is an exceptional student has has good manners. When JOhnny comes along, Jean's attitude toward others changes. Read it and find out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2001

    Teen Angst at its finest!

    This book is great because even though it came out in the 50s, it kinda reminded me of one of those 80s teen movies I loved as an 80s teen (and still love -- I'm a teen at heart) JEAN is the Molly Ringwald character, of course. JOHNNY, is the handsome Emilio Estevez/Rob Lowe/Andrew McCarthy-type dream boy. HOMER, was the cute-in-a-dorky-way guy who would be played by someone like John Cusack or Jon Cryer or Anthony Michael Hall. Johnny may have been going steady with himself, but Homer was funny and sweet a la Duckie Dale/Ted the Geek/Brian Johnson/Lane Meyer/Lloyd Dobler.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2001

    FIRST CRUSH

    IF YOU ARE A PRE-TEEN TO TEENAGED GIRL, THEN YOU'LL LOVE THIS BOOK. HAVE YOU EVER MET SOMEONE AND LATER FIND OUT THAT YOU GO TO THE SAME SCHOOL? OR HAVE YOU EVER THOUGHT THAT YOU LIKED SOMEONE WHEN REALLY........ READ THIS GREAT BOOK[AND MAYBE YOU CAN FINISH MY SENTENCE] ABOUT THE FUN TEENAGE LIFE!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    book

    it was a really GOOD book :+)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Jean and Jonny by Beverley Cleary

    This is the story fo a teenage girl named Jean who is not at all popular. She only has one friend, who is her best friend. She is helping her friend's mother decorate a club's ballroom for a ball. She watches the dancers twirling about and wishes she could be one of them. All of a sudden, one of the young men srand up to her and ask her for a dance. She somehow finds herself dancing clumsily along. He is a very talented dancer. At school later, she learns that his name is Jonny. He is a very popular boy. She starts tagging along with him and walking with him from school. When her best friend decides to give Jean a birthday present, she (Jean) requests a photo of herself with Jonny. In the picture she looks terrible, while Jonny looks great, seeming to be the center. When the school has a dance where all the girls invite the bous, she invites Jonny. He agrees to go very condescendingly. Them later he says his grandmother is sick so he cannot go with her. She decides to ask Jonny's friend to go instead. There she finds the attention Jonny had was superficial, because at the dance she sees Jonny with anither girl there. She starts to like Jonny's friend and they go to the friend's hpuse afterwards and have a swell time. I give this book only 3 stars because it is a cheap kiddish romance. Even though it has a good moral, it is not my type. If you like it, good for you, but I don't. Beverly cleary is a good athor, hough. Reviewed by C. J. O.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    THIS IS SO BORING

    What is this suppose to be there is no interesting parts and i just kept reading to see if it got any better but no the end was like the saddest think ever cause i wasted my time reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Iove it!

    I love the book so fare i did not get that fare the book!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    ok

    Its just ok i mean its goo so far in the story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Hi

    I <3 Bevrely Cleary!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Scavenger hunt2

    Go to rumpelstiltskin first result. See you there.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2002

    Beaverly Cleary fan

    She makes her best books come to life and she makes them funnyand very good to read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2001

    Great Book

    My friend Ranae recomended this book to me and it's sweet. A great book for any girl. Thankyou Ranae!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2000

    A book for gils...............

    I think girls should read this book and see what this girl goes through.I don't this should happen to girls.I think guys need to learn how to treat a girl be for dating a girl.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2