Customer Reviews for

Jekel Loves Hyde

Average Rating 4
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Jekel Loves Hyde by Beth Fantaskey

Brava to BF! In her quest to delve into romantic stories involving dark sides she has concocted a deliciously wicked story with Jekel Loves Hyde. The story is gripping from "I buried my father the day after my seventeenth birthday." That is in the prologue...do not glos...
Brava to BF! In her quest to delve into romantic stories involving dark sides she has concocted a deliciously wicked story with Jekel Loves Hyde. The story is gripping from "I buried my father the day after my seventeenth birthday." That is in the prologue...do not gloss over it by looking for chapter one. Jill discovers that her father's death, her not-so-delightfully alliterative last name, captivating Tristin Hyde, and a science competition sporting a hefty scholarship are all going to complicate her already sorrowful life. Fans of Jessica Guide may mourn the lack of a sequel of that novel, but not for long. Fantaskey's sense of suspense, shared first person narrations, and episodic tension make a page-turning read that is sure to keep YA readers begging for more.

posted by JoanEnders on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Unique spin on an old tale

My thoughts...It is been a long time since I have been exposed to the original story of Jekyll and Hyde by Robert Lewis Stevenson, but I remember the gist of it. The main characters, Jill and Tristan, are said to be descendants of the original characters. The pair fin...
My thoughts...It is been a long time since I have been exposed to the original story of Jekyll and Hyde by Robert Lewis Stevenson, but I remember the gist of it. The main characters, Jill and Tristan, are said to be descendants of the original characters. The pair finds themselves living in the same town, and they soon realize that location may not be their only common bond.

This is one my most anticipated books of year. I was initially drawn to the cover and the story remake. I think Beth Fantaskey did a great job of retelling the story using teen characters. Their voice seemed true to their age without being too childish. The author did a great job of capturing the emotions they were experiencing, especially Jill's feelings towards her father's death. The romance between Jill and Tristan ran a bit hot and cold, but I think that was their dynamic and their internal struggles with right and wrong.

The story did not have me on the edge of my seat, but it kept me involved enough to keep turning pages. There was a decent amount of action infused with some mystery and young love. I did not find it predictable, but I was not trying to solve the mystery. Actually, I was a bit surprised by the ending. Overall, did the story meet my expectations? Probably not, but I am glad I read it. I think Beth Fantaskey does a great job writing teens. I am planning on seeking out her other books and enjoying more of her writing. This would be a good read for fans of YA books, especially ones who are tired of the Vampires and Witches.

posted by EllzReadz on April 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark and Romantic

    I am beginning to learn that Beth Fantaskey writes more than just a fabulous book. Instead, she takes a great story and adds a dark feel to it that makes it completely unexpected and spectacular. She did in first in Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side and then continued the approach in JEKEL LOVES HYDE. I am just loving it.

    The book starts out fairly simply, without a lot of worry. A funeral brings the story into focus, but even then events unfold much like we expect they would. This is how Ms. Fantaskey tricks the reader into thinking that her story is going to be just another run-of-the-mill, slightly predictable piece of fiction. A few more chapters in, however, and you begin to realize just how wrong you really were.

    JEKEL LOVES HYDE is the story of two science nerd, Jill Jekel and Tristen Hyde. Both have secrets and while Jill attempts to survive following the death of her father and breakdown of her mother, Tristen hides a secret that could prove to be much more deadly. Hmm.Jekel and Hyde. One might ask: any relation to the legendary Dr. Jekel and Mr. Hyde? Guess you'll just have to read to find out!

    There were a few fantastic elements to JEKEL LOVES HYDE that Ms. Fantaskey's fans will be pleased to see. First is the way she develops her characters throughout the story. She doesn't give us all the details on every aspect of our hero and heroines lives right at the beginning of the book. No, instead she allows us to learn about them as they discover each other. I found this to be a fantastic way of really falling into the story. Nothing says realism like experiencing the characters' world right alongside them.

    The other wonderful aspect of this book that made it a keeper for me are the twists and turns that Ms. Fantaskey throws out there. Just as in Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side, the reader is left absolutely knowing what is going to happen next, only to have this knowledge dashed to the rocks on the very next page. This was another page turner that was difficult to put down. Both the authors clear writing style and her plot twists keep the reader poised on the edge of their seat, ready to cheer or scream right alongside the characters.

    Now that you're ready to run out and read this for yourselves, here's my warning. The point of view in JEKEL LOVES HYDE does tend to jump back and forth between Jill and Tristen. The sections are well labeled and it shouldn't be hard at all to figure out who is talking when. Still, sometimes I found it hard to switch gears from being in Jill's head one moment to Tristen's the next. Keep this in mind.

    Fans of dark fantasy and/or YA will most likely love JEKEL LOVES HYDE. I believe that Ms. Fantaskey's previous fans will also find something to love in this story. Her characters are realistic, with their own quirks, issues, and challenges and her plot is complex while still being understandable to the reader. This is the kind of story a reader can get lost in with no real plans to attempt to dig themselves back out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beth Fantasky strikes again!

    As soon as I finished the last page of Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side, I immediately rushed to the computer to look up Beth Fantaskey's other books. To my dismay, there were none. So when I came across the advance reading copy of Jekel Loves Hyde, I was delighted! It didn't let me down, either!

    Jekel Loves Hyde is a great love story with twists and turns and an ending as unpredictable as Fantaskey's first novel. It is also a murder mystery heavily enmeshed in the lore of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (although not a retelling).

    The funeral of Jill Jekel's father opens the novel and is the introduction to the character, Tristen Hyde, the dark, unusual student from England. He waits in the back of the cemetery until Jill is about to break down and then unexpectedly approaches her and lets her cry on his shoulder, tells her "It does get better, hurt less. Trust me, Jill," then leaves.

    The story resumes with the first day of school. Jill and Tristen go to school together and share a chemistry class. Jill's mother is not coping with her new life as a widow at all, and Tristen's father is distant and demanding. Both are good chemistry students and Jill recruits Tristen to help her win a chemistry scholarship. Don't be fooled by the innocent-sounding plot, however: it quickly turns ugly and gets complicated. I'm not telling any more of that though; you'll have to read it for yourself!

    The story is dual-narrated by Jill and Tristen alternately, but is does nothing to alleviate the suspense. When one narrator leaves you on a cliff-hanger, you turn to the next chapter only to find that it's the other character and you have to wait! I read the book in one sitting and was dead to the world furiously turning pages until I finished (much to my family's dismay!). So for teens and older kids, it's a great book! For adults, it's a quick read but still definitely worth it so be sure to check it out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Awesome book

    I really enjoyed this book as well as Jessica's guide to dating on the dark side. If you enjoy reading twisted love stories then i definitely suggest this book. :p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Good series

    Waiting on the next book. This was a good series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Loved this book

    I loved this book let me start with that. It was not quite up to Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side. I think that if I'd read this first I'd have not had the very sjight sense that this was not as good. It is a great story that feeds from the classic Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde with a very interesting generational twist. It is definitely one that will leave you wondering whether artistic and scientific brilliance is just another version of true madness. Highly recommend this to any reader who enjoys a twist to there usual "love" story. It is not just for teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Great book.

    I really like this author but the problem is that theyre soo good that i finish them in one day and dont get to enjoy them for very long. I really really love this author. But if i had to pick ine id pick her other book. My advice is theyre both good but read the other one first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    A really good read!

    Beth Fantaskey writes a really good book that no matter how hard you try you never see what's coming next. This book was a quick read but did cause a few late nights due to the lack of "a good place to stop". Overall a very enjoyable book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A spin on the book, the Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.

    It wasn't great but the story kept me interested. It got awkward and some of the characters were just weird and horrible. Still, it was an interesting read. And was anyone reminded of that Katy Perry song, Hot N Cold. I don't know it made me think of that what with the strange relationship between Jekel and Hyde.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It's a Duel-Battle of Intertwining Hearts + Ancestors

    In a new generation, after-the-fact, version of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, Jill Jekel, a timid top student and Tristen Hyde, an attractive, brooding guy, both find their lives and fates tragically twisted by the blood that runs within them and its history.

    With feelings that could have been viewed as rushed, I truly believe Jill's and Tristen's histories and duel-battle set the speed for this tale, intertwining their hearts as much as their ancestors intertwined their blood. Jill evolved from a girl who had no real personality to a young woman who found her strength, the ability to feel, and the answers she needed to takes the steps to move on. Tristen evolved from a depressingly haunted guy, fueled by a dangerous beast within him, to a young man able to trust in himself and the girl who stole his heart. In the end, both Jill and Tristen held on to a small sliver of the darkness that haunted them. The sliver of darkness they both held on to helped give Jill the backbone she needed and Tristen the ability to fuel his passion.

    I really enjoyed Jekel Loves Hyde. Jill and Tristen coming together via chemistry class was almost poetic to the 'Strange Cases of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.' It would be only fitting that their distant blood to the two crazed characters would fuel their ability to be young chemists, Jill following in her father's footsteps, and Tristen letting his grandfather's memory push and infuse him with the ability to understand what he was up against.

    In a strangely-almost-dark-way, Beth Fantaskey made this quick story tragic. Yet, this story was slightly romantic in a not-your-typical-romance kind of way. She left no loose ends, answering all silent questions including those stemming from The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. The plot wasn't complex, but the story as a whole was. New information surrounding both Jill's and Tristen's losses came to the forefront several times tying up all but one loose end and even then the characters accepted that mystery.

    Never let down, Beth Fantaskey exceeded the expectations I set within the first chapter of this tale. I think this is a great, quick read to enjoy something based off of lore most everyone knows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Almost as good as predecessor.

    After reading Jessica's Guide To Dating On The Dark Side, I was already very fond of Beth Fantaskey. Her witty dialogue, plot twists, and character development left me speechless -- it was just that good! So, I knew that I would definitely like Jekel Loves Hyde, although I was skeptical of how much I would like it considering the storyline. Plus, I tend to lean more toward vampires and paranormal creatures when it comes to YA. I try not to, but I'm unsuccessful most of the time. As a matter of fact, besides getting this book the day it came out like I planned to, I put it off until I could finish a few other YA books that actually did involve vampires, werewolves, etc. What can I say? I have a weakness.

    After reading it, what was my first thought? I made a mistake by putting it off. If I want to be completely honest with myself, some times I have a problem with certain things being retold because I hold them to a certain classic standard. I always tell my parents they should crawl out from under their rock and live in the modern age. Maybe I should take my own advice? As a spin-off of a classic, it was marvelous. So marvelous in fact that it makes me want to re-read The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. If it makes a 26 year old girl do that, then I am absolutely certain that it may do the same with younger children who may have never read it. I think we should celebrate that ... books inspiring you to read others. I'm not saying this is a re-telling because it most certainly IS NOT. But Fantaskey puts enough information of the original into her story to make you get a taste of something delicious that leaves you wanting more. That is where the celebration should be - an author who writes so well that she inadvertently makes you want to read more. It's INCREDIBLE!

    Having said that, I do have a few minor set-backs. I think that Jill and Tristen's relationship is ... lacking. Their turbulent on-again/off-again relationship gave me whiplash and I could barely keep up with it. It definitely wasn't a progression - it started out strong and fumbled its way through the entire novel. Along the same lines, I find it hard to believe that Jill would believe Becca -- who she admits just uses her most of the time -- over Tristen so easily, especially when she is supposed to be in love with him. Also, I found the absence of scenes where Jill takes the formula a little disappointing. You get a few glimpses, but not enough to actually understand why she's so obsessed over keeping some of the formula herself.

    Despite this, I found myself intrigued until the very end of the book. Beth Fantaskey has this wonderful way of leading you in one direction to make you believe something, then just completely surprise you in the following pages to prove the exact opposite to be true. Her character development is wonderful. I think the best would obviously be Tristen, though it was endearing to follow Jill's mom in her path to recovery. Other minor characters were developed as well, though like real life, some characters just had the inability to grow. The book was a little slow at the beginning, but picked up the pace once they really started doing research - however, even the slow pace helped a lot with back story and your understanding of characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loving Jekel & Hyde

    Another great suspensful yet romantic book for teens. The story of Jill and Tristen plays out just like the orginial Jekel and Hyde. Tristen knows deep inside him inside him is a monster, and Jill knows the way to get it out of them. The story brings them through their experiments to fix Tristen, and the love that starts between them. It was missing some action for me, I wanted more to happen between Tristen and his Dad, and feel more romance. Those areas seemed rushed. I will say that you should get yourself familiarize with the orignial Jekyl & Hyde story, it's helps a lot more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Jekel Loves Hyde by Beth Fantaskey Review

    Talk about bringing the classics back into popularity, Beth Fantaskey has done this in spades! By taking the idea from the well known classic, Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde, and combining that with her individual writing style, Fantaskey has created another winner.

    Jill Jekel and Tristen Hyde share the spotlight in this novel as high school students with well known last names. What no one really knows is that they truly do have a connection to the characters from the classic, whom everyone though to be fictional. We get alternating narratives from both characters and personally I loved it! You get a full account of what's going on, who is thinking what and this gave me a and I'm sure will give all readers a much broader scope of the whole story.

    What I wasn't expecting with this book was the dark and twisted tone that is apparent throughout, and don't even get me started on the twists and surprises that Fantaskey managed to throw in to the mix. They blindsided me and I had no warning whatsoever, nor did I know what to expect next at any given time. Fantaskey has a huge fan following from her last release, Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side and I don't think her fans will be disappointed. I loved this story and really had fun reading it the whole way through.

    So many mysteries and questions; will they find a cure? Will the beast win? Who is behind the murder and will the good guys really be able to come out on top? You'll be asking these questions the whole way through and you'll be on the edge of your seat until the very end. I can't wait to see what Fantaskey brings us next, and hopefully this may not be be the last we see of Jekel and Hyde.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2