Customer Reviews for

Jemima J.

Average Rating 4.5
( 513 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(332)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 514 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    good one

    As a overweight girl, i could relate to jemima in many ways. i saw that many people wrote bad reviews saying that the author made it seem like being fat or overweight was a horrible thing, but you know what, it's not the author who created this, it's actually the way the world and the society is today. for me, i was luck to find a loving boyfriend who loves me the way i am. but before when i was single, it was not easy going out to clubs with my skinny girlfriends and fell like i was total invisible, nobody danced with me or talked with me. now tell me? is it really the author who is making up horrible stories? i dont think so. i am going to have a weight loss surgery soon, and i am sure that after that my life will change, i admit, i am an unhappy fat girl!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Love this book!

    Anyone would be silly not to purchase this book! Couldnt stop reading!!!! Wish there would be a jemima j book 2 :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Could not out it down!

    Intriguing story has you cheering for our heroine. This book will motivate and entertain you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Torn-good in some ways, upsetting in others

    This book started off a little slow, but it got more interesting as you read it. This is probably the third book I've read that deals with weight problems. It's definitely an engaging story, but I'm not sure I enjoy reading all aspects of it. First, I was bothered by how skinny Jemima got and hoped that she didn't end the book this way, which would prove how much "better" it was to be skinny. Second, I wasn't sure Ben, the main male character, was any better than the California hunk Jemima met; the book made Ben out to be a "better" man, more likable, but I felt otherwise. It took her weight loss to make him see her differently, and though you see him think of her throughout the book, this sudden revelation of his feelings turning doesn't ultimately happen until he sees her skinny. The situation with the Californian was very ironic, made me pity him and sad to think how much our environment regards "fat" people and affects our choices in life. On the other hand, I do enjoy stories about finally ending up with the man of your dreams and finding oneself, to be comfortable with who you are, and have a good balance with everything in your life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Love

    Ive read this book at least 5 times. Love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Hey

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Ashley

    Hey wats up

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    One of the best books I have read!

    This is a great feel good book. I was truly sad it ended. The book is inspiring for any woman who felt "not good enough."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Laugh Out Loud Must Read Romance

    I read this book years ago and it still remains one of my favorite books! If you are looking for a chick lit romance filled with humor...then this is the book for you :)

    The main character has a few extra pounds on her which she find difficult to lose. She eventually sticks to a diet, in hopes that weight lost will lead her to meet Mr. Right. Well, she does meet someone...and you will just have to read the book to find out what happens!

    There is a HUGE hilarious ending that will not disappoint anyone.

    ENJOY!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic!

    I couldn't put it down! I read it in three days but would have read it straight through if the sun would have stayed up a bit longer...silly me for not bringing a light with me in the car ride home.

    It's a VERY easy read and the writing style is SO easy to get along with. I've been recommending this book left and right and am finding myself asking what happens after the book ends! I plan on picking up another Jane Green book VERY SOON!

    This has easily become a member of my permanent collection. LOVE I!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    One of my favorite books

    I read this book at least once a year. I wish it would be turned into a movie! I enjoy everything about it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    Annalise

    Annalise laughed quietly, before leaning up and kising him. "Is it what you want?" She asked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    Jackson

    Jk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    Soupy soap opera comfort read

    Really tired of love comes to those who diet but can be funny ever watch the movie Fatso?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Best

    This book is well written and funny. I love it for the fact that every time I read it I feel happy and content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Best book ever

    So started reading the book and it was AWESOME! The books starts off a little slow but gets really good. Couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    The best book from Jane Green!  Amazing

    The best book from Jane Green!  Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Great read!!

    I absolutely loved this book!! I read it in a few days. If you're looking for a book to read this summer, read this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Not really for my kind of book

    I dont like it. I have a different likeness in books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    A beautiful story.

    Upon the recommendation from a stranger I sat next to on a flight to Florida I bought this book (my first Jane Green novel) and was immediately drawn into the world of Jemima Jones. At times, I felt I was reading about myself and just had to keep on going. The second half of the novel is one of the most riveting things I have read in a long time and I literally could not put it down. I am definitely going to check out the other stories that Jane Green has to offer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 514 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26