Customer Reviews for

Jemima J.

Average Rating 4.5
( 513 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(332)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    JJ

    Die! DIE BACK YOU FIEND! YAAAAAAAAR!!!!!! I HATE JANAH KRAMER!!!!!( you know, the terrible singer) GRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    Words can express how much I detested this book

    Without giving away the plot I will say the story is implausible, not to mention offensive. The characters are annoying and Ms Green's writing style is difficult to follow. It isn't giving away the plot to reveal that the main character is in the beginning of the story over 200lbs and loses a massive amount of weight in a matter of months via a starvation diet and obsessive amount of exercise. Of course anyone who has seen The Biggest Loser knows that this is possible (if not unhealthy) but where the story starts to depart from reality is that she has the body of a supermodel once the weight has come off. Of course there is some drama with the overweight employee of her new boyfriend which devolves into such a ridiculous convulated mess that is an offense to any overweight person who has an ounce of self respect.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    it's ok.

    This book is as chiclit as they come. It's funny and cute, and a rather fast read. Don't expect amazing thrills or anything, but it does have its share of suspense as well as just-missed-you moments reminiscent of Cusack and Beckinsale's Serendipity.

    Some people might think the book is superficial, but the point is she was fat because she was hiding herself, and wallowing in self-pity. So her transformation is a good thing, though of course, she gets a bit obsessed. Thankfully she does "normalize."

    One big problem I had with the book is Ben. Ok from the beginning you know he's a good guy BUT the fact that he realizes he loves Jemima AFTER seeing her gorgeous new self...? One reviewer said "the 'happy ending' in this book in no way makes up for the route in which the reader gets there" and I cannot help but agree. I bothers me to no end because you completely understand Jemima falling in love with Ben, but Ben falling in love with Jemima is an instantaneous fall for her looks. I imagine his thought process is something along the lines of "Jemima is a great friend. Jemima is really hot. Jemima is hot and she's my great friend. I love Jemima."

    Also, I love Ben but he is way too unreal. Jane Green has made him way too perfect. He gets attracted to the hot, evil girls, but he's so perfect he understands they're not good or he bypasses the looks because he sees their vices.

    The narrator is also rather annoying. It seems like a scapegoat because the narrator talks directly to you. Things most authors might explain through deftness of writing, weaving them in and making the reader come to a conclusion, Jane Green uses the narrator to explicitly state.

    Overall, I liked the book, but it's not really something I would recommend unless you're severely bored. I kind of regret the time I wasted reading this.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    What was she thinking?

    Poor Jemima Jones. Her life sucks because she's fat. She can't get a date because she's fat. She can't get a promotion... you guessed it, because she's fat. And not just a little fat, either. To hear her tell it, she should have her own reality show showcasing just how fat she is. <BR/><BR/>So what is poor, fat Jemima to do?<BR/><BR/>Simple! She'll pose online as J.J., a modelesque beauty who's everything the real Jemima isn't: smart, pretty, successful, and most of all, thin. After all, that's the only way anyone will ever love her, right?<BR/><BR/>I'm sure these thoughts resonate with any woman struggling with self-confidence in a world where a size nothing is still two sizes too large, but the author misses the mark by glorifying the unhealthy attitude that women aren't worthy of self-acceptance unless they're stick-thin and beautiful.<BR/><BR/>After waffling between starving and purging, and working out until she faints, Jemima finally loses the weight and gets the guy. But at what cost? The "happy ending" in this book in no way makes up for the route in which the reader gets there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    Horrible

    Though the book did have some funny moments, I at no point found this book to be even remotely encouraging. The overall moral of the story is that if you're fat, nobody cares about you, if you're blonde and skinny, you're the one everyone loves. I'm happy to see other readers here agreeing with me. This book in NO WAY tries to encourage girls to love their lives regardless of their weight. If anything, it promotes unhealthy dieting and anorexia! I wouldn't give this book to any young or easily-influenced girl. Terrible moral of the story paired with a run-of-the-mill ending! Ben wanted nothing to do with her until she became a beautiful, skinny blonde. I could understand if throughout the story you were made to believe that Ben loved her just the way she was, but it says several times throughout the story that Ben was not attracted to her at all until she become skinny! How is that something to promote? I have no idea why this book was published and am extremely sorry I bought this book based on the raving, 5-star opinions of others. Another thing, they should really change the picture on the cover as the story has NOTHING to do with being a curvacious woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2007

    Poorly written, superficial, far-fetched and all around ridiculous

    I picked up this book just before a week-long vacation looking forward to some mindless escapism... well, it was escapism for sure... mixed with a generous portion of self-loathing. The only reason I kept reading was the hope that maybe somewhere along the way, Ms. Green would have come to her senses but alas, that never happened. To matters worse, her writing style is horrible. She can't decide whether she wants to use first-person or third person and this gets aggravating particularly when the story is degrading to anyone overweight. Essentially, the moral of this story is, overweight = don't get the guy, thin = get the guy. Save yourself the time & money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2007

    Superficial and Far-fetched

    This book conveys an awful message about body image - that if you are thin, you are more likeable, more attractive, and more likely to end up happily ever after. The book tried to redeem itself in the end by talking about being beautiful on the inside, but the last few pages were outweighed by 300+ previous pages of superficiality and bad body image. Because of its destructive message, this book should not be put within ten feet of young girls who might be worrying about their weight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2007

    Fat Girl Becomes Skinny, Idiot Guy Finally Notices

    I cannot believe this book was given 4 and a half circles!! It was bad. This was my first novel and last novel by Jane Green. It is also the most cliched, romance novel I've ever read. I find it hard to believe that she loses all this weight, gets the guy, guy falls for her 'suddenly, now that she's skinny!', and a tacked on ending that she stays a comfortable size without exercising or dieting. *Not that losing weight or getting a makeover is a bad thing, as long as you're doing it for yourself* First of all, Ben is a shallow individual who only noticed Jemima because she became blond and skinny. What does it this say for our society and the way we view women? I am not a feminist, but I strongly believe that everyone is beautiful in their own right and this book doesn't promote the self-respect/love we should have for ourselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    Terrible

    This had to be the worst book I have read. The messages are all mixed with this outlandish novel. You are lead to believe that weight does not matter, but at the end Jemima loses weight so she does become noticed. Even for a chick book, it makes no sense. Completely impossible to believe and as much as you'd like to, you can't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2004

    Ugly Ducklings, Ugly Swans, Ugly writing

    This book is poorly wriiten, the author jumps around when it comes to narration, she feels she has to explain every single thought and action not only from her pov but from every characters pov. The characters are all stereotypes so their point of views are useless. Jemima has no confidence, no spunk, no humor, no redeeming qualities that would make her a likeable character, she is merely a pathetic tool in for the author's sad and superficial take of the single scene for young women. Don't read this book, it drags, I've been trying to finish it for 2 weeks, it's the bad writing that is really bothering me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2004

    Not funny, nor intelligent

    If the book wants to present itself as a copycat of 'Bridget Jones's Diary,' it has never succeeded. The story line just doesn't add up. It's so superficial without much witty British Humor. I'd give it a big thumbs down as I wasted my three days of pool time, luckly reading such a badly written book under the late-summer sunshine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2004

    You must be kidding

    Jemima is 5'7' and started at 217 lbs. Since when is that 100 lbs overweight??? NORMAL for 5'7' is 125-165. And the whole 'fat girl gets skinny and then, IRONICALLY, loses her man to another fat girl' climax is really weak. There were so many other poor points in this story (Ben doesn't recognize her when she's 125 lbs, but she was 166 lbs the last time he saw her, Brad calls her 'Jemima' on the phone when he's only supposed to know her as 'JJ', etc., etc., ad nauseum). In short, if you're skinny and into believing skinny is better, read this book. If you're overweight and feeling hopeless, this isn't going to help at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2003

    Awful book

    This book was horrible. I found the plot very unbelievable. It was mentioned many times that Jemima was losing weight the wrong way by exercising too much and not eating enough, yet it was not mentioned once how that affected her body or how unhealthy it is. I found it very difficult to sympathize for Jemima and did not like the rest of the characters. It seemed the book put out the message that all overweight people are unhappy, lonely, and the only way they will get anything that they want or deserve is to lose a massive amount of weight. I was hoping the author would redeem herself by the end, but all I got was overweight people get creepy boyfriends who cheat on them and skinny, beautiful people get the guy and the job of their dreams. It is a horrible message for women of all sizes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2003

    Has nothing on Bridget

    This was one of the worse books I have ever read and I cannot recommend it at all. For funny British, read Bridget Jones or the Shopaholic Series! The writing was poor, the plot weak, and the characters unsympathetic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2003

    Disappointing

    I was thoroughly disappointed by this novel. I really expected something wittier and somewhat deeper. What I found instead was a book that contained many shallow stereotypes and ridiculous situations. I didn't find the characters believable or immensely likeable (except for the character of Geraldine--true friend). I didn't even really root for Jemima; I found her irritating and got really tired of her. The message of the book didn't really hit the right mark: basically she only succeeded in career and love when she lost her extra pounds. And what was wrong with Jemima: doesn't it ring somewhat hurtful that Ben only noticed her in 'that' way when she got skinny? That tells me he is shallow and she still has no self-respect. A better ending would have been Jemima realizing what a fabulous person she is, gaining confidence because of who she is and going out to take the professional world by storm, leaving Ben behind. What kind of message does this book deliver, in a society where successful, brilliant women (all people, really) come in all shapes, colors and sizes? Are we to buy what this book is saying, that we'll only get what we want when we look like a model? Ridiculous. I am not what is seen as an 'overweight' woman, but I AM a voracious and intelligent reader, and this book insulted my intelligence. The good thing is I found a used copy instead of paying full price. What a disappointment. I really expected more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    Insulting and Degrading

    I started out liking this book and relating to the character but by the end felt torn down. The main character only gets the men of her dreams after she loses weight and the author makes no point to say anything about what they liked in her besides her new thin body. The issue was not addressed at all in the book that she clearly lost the weight by exercise bulimia. To any impressionable young readers this may be a solution to losing weight that they find fine. So much of the book was dependent upon outward appearances and superficial decriptions (and I don't just mean about the people but everything). By the end I just wanted to finish it and get it over with because I still had hope the book would redeem itself but it never did. It sells itself as the type of 'feel good' books that deservedly go to the bestseller lists and it is not. There are serious problems with this book and will promptly sell it to the nearest used book dealer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2002

    I put this book in the trash

    Which is where it belonged. I was excited to read this as so many women I know loved it. I found it far-fetched, silly, and down right ridiculous. This book is NOT pro-woman; it is pro- fad diets. It basically says that as a heavy woman, Jemima had no life and could only admire men from afar. But in a matter of pages she drops 100 pounds, discovers a fabulous life in L.A., and marries the man of her dreams. Why didn't this Romeo pay any attention to her when she was 100 pounds overweight? This book is irresponsible. I didn't even bother to pass it on to a friend. I put it in the 'circular file.' Sorry Jane Green, try again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2002

    Pretty Darned Awful.

    When I read the enthusiastic reviews other people have given _Jemima J_, it does make me wonder what OTHER books they've read that makes them give this one such high ratings. I am personally embarassed to have bought and read this book, as I think it was pretty bloody awful. Specifically, the characters were all shallow, nasty people I couldn't care about, and every single one of them is totally hung up on looks and personal image. None of them seemed particularly bright, or that they have anything more to offer the reader than toned bodies and beautiful faces. Jemima has to undergo a sudden, drastic and downright unhealthy change in her entire routine and lose half her bodyweight in order to attract the gorgeous but empty-headed and empty-souled man of her dreams. (They end up blissfully married and she NEVER lets it bother her that he totally ignored her before her weight loss??) Not the message I'd want to give a daughter of mine, if I had one. This book just reinforces lots of old, negative messages that society already gives girls and women about their bodies: 'you'll have no life and nobody will love you if you're above a size eight.' If this is supposed to be a 'pro-woman' book, I'd hate to see what Jane Green might produce on a day when she was feeling hostile. Her contempt for larger women shines through the whole thing. The quality of the writing itself annoyed me. I found the constant changes from first through second to third person perspective and back again completely irritating and distracting, and I didn't care for the way Green talked down to her own characters, Jemima in particular. She didn't appear to trust them to tell their own stories, nor does she trust her readers to understand the story she's telling herself. So Jane Green relentlessly pounds in every nail in the board, explaining what just happened in the previous scene. I mean, this book is not Albert Camus's _The Stranger_-- we already GOT the point! I don't usually rate the fiction I read on the basis of its medical plausibility, but if a person loses nearly one hundred pounds in three months in a way that makes anorexia and bulimia sound almost healthy by comparison, they're not going to turn into a perfect, hardbodied-glamor girl as Jemima does. They're going to be losing hair and collapsing in exhaustion -- which Jemima doesn't. Readers who want to read about an engaging plus-sized heroine will find a much better read in Jennifer Weiner's _Good In Bed_. (don't let the title deceive you -- the novel doesn't JUST take place in bed.)Weiner's story and her writing are far superior to Jane Green's style in _Jemima J_. And Candace Shapiro is a smart, funny survivor who finds just the right man for her who accepts her for who she really is. A much more positive read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2002

    Just a wannabe Bridget Jones Diary...

    ...but not as good. I found this book to be a superficial, boring, passive read. The characters are undeveloped and the plot transparent. Although I recognize the moral about superficiality the author attempts to make, I think the opposite point is made with too much emphasis being placed on appearance, men, and other's opinions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2002

    What's all the hype about?

    After hearing so much positive talk about this book, I decided to give it a read. I was completely dissapointed. The characters were one dimensional, there was no thinking in the storyline and the ending was nothing less than predictable. In addition to those shortfalls, I found this book to be nothing but a slap in the face to all women - regardless of their shape. An utter dissapointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2