Customer Reviews for

Jemima J.

Average Rating 4.5
( 521 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(337)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

good one

As a overweight girl, i could relate to jemima in many ways. i saw that many people wrote bad reviews saying that the author made it seem like being fat or overweight was a horrible thing, but you know what, it's not the author who created this, it's actually the way th...
As a overweight girl, i could relate to jemima in many ways. i saw that many people wrote bad reviews saying that the author made it seem like being fat or overweight was a horrible thing, but you know what, it's not the author who created this, it's actually the way the world and the society is today. for me, i was luck to find a loving boyfriend who loves me the way i am. but before when i was single, it was not easy going out to clubs with my skinny girlfriends and fell like i was total invisible, nobody danced with me or talked with me. now tell me? is it really the author who is making up horrible stories? i dont think so. i am going to have a weight loss surgery soon, and i am sure that after that my life will change, i admit, i am an unhappy fat girl!

posted by Anonymous on August 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I was somewhat disappointed in this book and I found the writing

I was somewhat disappointed in this book and I found the writing style a tad bit difficult to keep up with.

As far the story goes, I thought it started out realistic until she dropped nearly 100 pounds in a matter of months and now has a 'model' body. I also had a har...
I was somewhat disappointed in this book and I found the writing style a tad bit difficult to keep up with.

As far the story goes, I thought it started out realistic until she dropped nearly 100 pounds in a matter of months and now has a 'model' body. I also had a hard time liking the main character Jemima, I thought she was incredibly ridiculous always worrying about everyone else around her, everything in her life revolved around her size. In addition to that annoying bit, the author made it seem like she was HUGE, she was slightly over 200 pounds standing at 5'7, I know that's not skinny by any means but I pictured Jemima as being the size of Big-Momma-I-need-oxygen-kind of big. A the whole situation with Mr. Romeo in California was super awkward and a little unrealistic to go to a new country on vacation and agree to stay for months. Seemed a bit far-fetched.

Altogether not a bad book, a quick read truthfully. I really liked the plot I just feel that it could have been much better.

posted by 1340428 on November 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 337 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    good one

    As a overweight girl, i could relate to jemima in many ways. i saw that many people wrote bad reviews saying that the author made it seem like being fat or overweight was a horrible thing, but you know what, it's not the author who created this, it's actually the way the world and the society is today. for me, i was luck to find a loving boyfriend who loves me the way i am. but before when i was single, it was not easy going out to clubs with my skinny girlfriends and fell like i was total invisible, nobody danced with me or talked with me. now tell me? is it really the author who is making up horrible stories? i dont think so. i am going to have a weight loss surgery soon, and i am sure that after that my life will change, i admit, i am an unhappy fat girl!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Could not out it down!

    Intriguing story has you cheering for our heroine. This book will motivate and entertain you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Love this book!

    Anyone would be silly not to purchase this book! Couldnt stop reading!!!! Wish there would be a jemima j book 2 :)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    One of the best books I have read!

    This is a great feel good book. I was truly sad it ended. The book is inspiring for any woman who felt "not good enough."

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic!

    I couldn't put it down! I read it in three days but would have read it straight through if the sun would have stayed up a bit longer...silly me for not bringing a light with me in the car ride home.

    It's a VERY easy read and the writing style is SO easy to get along with. I've been recommending this book left and right and am finding myself asking what happens after the book ends! I plan on picking up another Jane Green book VERY SOON!

    This has easily become a member of my permanent collection. LOVE I!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Love

    Ive read this book at least 5 times. Love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Laugh Out Loud Must Read Romance

    I read this book years ago and it still remains one of my favorite books! If you are looking for a chick lit romance filled with humor...then this is the book for you :)

    The main character has a few extra pounds on her which she find difficult to lose. She eventually sticks to a diet, in hopes that weight lost will lead her to meet Mr. Right. Well, she does meet someone...and you will just have to read the book to find out what happens!

    There is a HUGE hilarious ending that will not disappoint anyone.

    ENJOY!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    One of my favorite books

    I read this book at least once a year. I wish it would be turned into a movie! I enjoy everything about it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    A beautiful story.

    Upon the recommendation from a stranger I sat next to on a flight to Florida I bought this book (my first Jane Green novel) and was immediately drawn into the world of Jemima Jones. At times, I felt I was reading about myself and just had to keep on going. The second half of the novel is one of the most riveting things I have read in a long time and I literally could not put it down. I am definitely going to check out the other stories that Jane Green has to offer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Hey

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Ashley

    Hey wats up

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Fantastic!!!

    I read this book when i was in 8th grade and i remembered it being one of my favorite books. I was so happy to find it again. Now that i have read it again now that im much older, i can still say i enjoyed it. I also think that i have a new take on it and though i never had an issue with my weight i truely can relate with JJ about the love we all want to find and how it feels being judged by the people around you before they truely get to know you. A book that i fully intend on recommending to all my friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Really enjoyed this book, couldn't put it down. Felt like I rea

    Really enjoyed this book, couldn't put it down. Felt like I really knew the characters which is something I love in a novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Love Awesome!

    I love this book! I think it is a book that you could read over and over again. I have many times!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    One of my favorites

    I was looking for a book to read for a flight, grabbed a paperback copy of this one in a hurry and was pleasantly surprised! Definitely a feel good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2015

    Highly recommended

    Loved this book, could not put it down. If you are a bigger girl (which I am) this story will really relate with you. The path Jemima has to go through to finally really find herself is an excellent read and quite realistic. It gave me some motivation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2015

    Definitely recommend.

    LOVED JEMIMA! LOVED BEN! I didn't want the book to end. I would have preferred a longer epilogue, more closure would have been nice but, I definitely enjoyed the story line. The near misses throughout the story drove me crazy and the references to food were making me hungry! The underlying message in the story was a good one. I whole heartly agree with it. Sometimes people have a pychological reason they don't lose weight but, haven't yet faced it. I definitely recommend this book.

    S.A.K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2015

    Aiden Smith

    Pe<_>nis

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2015

    Anonymous

    Loved this book! Lived this book! I was about 100 pounds overweight and lost most of it slowly over two years time. Being fat made me anonymous, the fat a wall to hide behind. Losing it was both frightening and exhilarating. Men treated me differently everywhere i went. Suddenly i was visible. I thought the author captured the truth if this real life situation very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    Annalise

    Annalise laughed quietly, before leaning up and kising him. "Is it what you want?" She asked.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 337 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17