BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Jeneration X: One Reluctant Adult's Attempt to Unarrest Her Arrested Development; Or, Why It's Never Too Late for Her Dumb Ass to Learn Why Froot Loops Are Not for Dinner

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Jen Lancaster has yet to dissapoint.

I have followed Jen through her crash during the .com right through her Jenaissance in My Fair Lazy, and each of her memoirs had had me laughing so hard I cried. I am a shy and introverted pacifist so naturally I enjoy the company of loud spoken extroverts. Reading her ...
I have followed Jen through her crash during the .com right through her Jenaissance in My Fair Lazy, and each of her memoirs had had me laughing so hard I cried. I am a shy and introverted pacifist so naturally I enjoy the company of loud spoken extroverts. Reading her books is like going out with your best girlfriends for drinks, sarcasm, and laughter. Only way funnier. This book reads smoothly and each chapter to me is like a short essay concluded with her "Adult life lessons learned". Many of us are reluctant to grow up and this book makes it seem far less scary. My favorite part is at the Glee concert when she prepares to tell a man where to go and how to get there before her friend chimes in and ends the uncomfortable situation. Jen Lancaster's books are perfect for anyone who wants to read something uplifting and I highly recommend her to for any women's book groups. Enjoy!

posted by Freckles314 on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

C'mon Jen - You can do better

I had high hopes for this book and to sum it up it was just disappointing. Although there were a few humorous sections overall I just had the feeling that the author had run out of ideas and slapped a bunch of random blog entries into this book. I hope the earlier suc...
I had high hopes for this book and to sum it up it was just disappointing. Although there were a few humorous sections overall I just had the feeling that the author had run out of ideas and slapped a bunch of random blog entries into this book. I hope the earlier success hasn't dimmed her unique perspective.

posted by My2CentsIL on July 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    C'mon Jen - You can do better

    I had high hopes for this book and to sum it up it was just disappointing. Although there were a few humorous sections overall I just had the feeling that the author had run out of ideas and slapped a bunch of random blog entries into this book. I hope the earlier success hasn't dimmed her unique perspective.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    Love, love, love Jen Lancaster and this book did not disappoint!

    Love, love, love Jen Lancaster and this book did not disappoint! Her stories are laugh out loud funny and I had a hard time putting this book down! I highly recommend this and all of her other books!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    Jen Lancaster has yet to dissapoint.

    I have followed Jen through her crash during the .com right through her Jenaissance in My Fair Lazy, and each of her memoirs had had me laughing so hard I cried. I am a shy and introverted pacifist so naturally I enjoy the company of loud spoken extroverts. Reading her books is like going out with your best girlfriends for drinks, sarcasm, and laughter. Only way funnier. This book reads smoothly and each chapter to me is like a short essay concluded with her "Adult life lessons learned". Many of us are reluctant to grow up and this book makes it seem far less scary. My favorite part is at the Glee concert when she prepares to tell a man where to go and how to get there before her friend chimes in and ends the uncomfortable situation. Jen Lancaster's books are perfect for anyone who wants to read something uplifting and I highly recommend her to for any women's book groups. Enjoy!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Another funny memoir from Jen Lancaster.

    This probably inspires a bit more introspection than her other books due to the life lessons posted at the end of each chapter. Needless to say, I don't quite yet qualify as an "adult." However, she is never heavy handed and brings some levity to otherwise dry and/or heavy situations.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Love Jen

    This book is everything I keep saying! Also, my liver is no longer 21, but I too forget this when in old college haunts. Thank you for another great read!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    LOVE THIS BOOK! She has done it again...I have read all of her b

    LOVE THIS BOOK!
    She has done it again...I have read all of her books and loved them all. I sat there laughing with tears coming down my face. If you haven't read her books, you MUST!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    Jen Lancaster is my favorite current author. Her brand of humor

    Jen Lancaster is my favorite current author. Her brand of humor is snarky and irreverent--just my style. She's quite prolific--she's released a book every spring since 2006--but she never runs out of laugh-out-loud stories to tell. If you haven't read the rest of her books, you're missing out! Her blog is hysterical, too.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Love Love Love Jen!  Her books leave you rolling on the floor la

    Love Love Love Jen!  Her books leave you rolling on the floor laughing.  Yet to be disappointed.  Already pre ordered the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Quit proselytizing

    The book is just okay. I HATE how she interjects her disgusting politics into this book at the end. And btw Miss Lancaster it WAS a Generation Y person who pulled this country out of Bush's mess. President Obama.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Pierce

    Throws daggers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Diana

    I would just go with the flow. Say to him, 'I don't want to mess up what we have here, but…' then just ask him. It's ok to feel nervous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Ok so heres my problem

    I really like this guy. But we r awesome freinds. Hes like a big brother to me. But i want to ask him out but i dont want to mess up our freindship what do i do

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Hawkfire

    Hello. May i join? The beautiful mateless she-cat asked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Natsu

    A reddish tomcat pads in. "If you're still here, I'll be your te, Rosalena."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Amber

    Hi everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Dovepaw

    Cant be on today and school starts tomorrow so i wont be on as often.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Fireclaw

    May i join?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    To natau

    Im on. Its 10:29 where i live - rosealena

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Sandfeather

    Nevermind. I cant join. Too busy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Fallenpath

    She walks around and watches the clearing. ((I want to be deputy also))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5