Customer Reviews for

Jenna & Jonah's Fauxmance

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Cinnamon for TeensReadToo

    Charlie hates Fielding, and vice versa. What do you even expect? The two have been practically glued at the hip against their will for the last four years as promotion for their popular hit tween TV show Jenna & Jonah's How to Be a Rock Star. It isn't until the paparazzi pick up on a vicious rumor about the pair that they are forced to escape to an obscure beach house to ride out the publicity wave. Among the blessed quietness that accompanies obscurity, Charlie and Fielding proceed to discover something surprising: they really don't know each other at all. JENNA & JONAH'S FAUXMANCE is the type of novel that would correspond to some sort of crème-filled chocolate doughnut in the delightful world of food. It is definitely sweet, but eating too much of it will induce episodes of barfing. While I enjoy this type of bubbly and extremely non-surprising teeny-bopper lit, they must be enjoyed in moderation. I mean, just look at the book's cover. So very pink. Even the book jacket itself resembles some sort of doughnut! The novel has its fair share of awww moments and some other face-palm ones. Unlike other bubbly novels, the two characters weren't annoying most of the time, which made reading through this quite a breeze. Charlie and Fielding are quite dense about each other, though. And sometimes you just can't help yourself from wanting to smack the two atop the head with something heavy, like maybe an anvil of some sort. But this is definitely a cute story for people who find delight in light, fluffy teen lit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    Great Contemporary Romance

    JENNA AND JONAH'S FAUXMANCE, by Emily Franklin and Brendan Halpin, is an absolutely charming and romantic book that is based on a teen tv-show couple. 'Jenna' and 'Jonah' are the teen stars of a show that children and adults alike are facinated with. Their on-screen romance lead to fans encroaching on their real life romance that paparazzi and tabloids exploit. To keep the show and their jobs, Charlie and Fielding keep the rouse alive until a rumor threatens their livelyhood and their fauxmance.

    Okay, normally I am not much of a gusher, but beware I am going to gush! I sat down to read it, and two hours later I was finished and completely enamored. This book was so lovely. Franklin and Halpin created some noteworthy characters. These two teens were thrust into the Hollywood life too young and their real personalities were deeply hidden under their facade of a life together as a couple. Charlie had wanted to become a legitimate actor but her job took over her whole life and she couldn't shake 'Jenna' offscreen. Fielding was the sweetest gem. I defintely fell in love with this character. When Charlie and Fielding spent time away from the spotlight, their real feelings for each other bloomed and I raced through the book to find out if they would be able to work out in the real world. Don't worry, I won't tell!

    These two authors created a journey I never expected to go on. The ups and downs of these struggling characters made me laugh and cry throughout the book. I enjoyed the shifting POVs between Charlie and Fielding. I was prvy to information that the other was not and it was exciting watching the tension build between these two. Overall, great teen chick-lit. Great story, great characters, swoon-worthy boy. A dangerous trifecta!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    To anonomous on december 18 2013

    The world does not need to know your private thougts. If you have a troubled mind you keep your thoughts there so we dont have to see what is going on in that tiny little brain of yours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    My di.ck

    OO
    <p>
    /

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    After having to fake a relationship at the command of their PR r

    After having to fake a relationship at the command of their PR reps, it's understandable why Charlie and Fielding (aka Aaron) loathe each other. During an extended vacation taken to hide from the paparazzi, they slowly begin a friendship. Both characters grow to understand each other, and in the process they each learned about themselves, and what they really wanted from their careers. I have to briefly mention my favorite thing about Jenna &amp; Jonah, and that was the Shakespeare! Toward the end of the book, Charlie and Aaron take on parts in the Shakespeare play, Much Ado About Nothing (my personal favorite). So, I was really delighted when I realized that the entire book was much like a mirror of their characters, Beatrice and Benedick. It took me quite some time to pick up on, and it was a nice way to bring in the romance between the two.

    I think that my main issue with the book was that it wasn't really long enough to get a little deeper with the characters. Franklin and Halpin seemed to be moving in that direction toward the end of the book, but by that point everything was wrapping up. This wasn't a huge deal breaker for me, but I think it could have taken the book a step above the stereotypical cute YA read.

    Overall, it was a fun read that had some funny moments. I did like the characters, the way Much Ado About Nothing was tied in, and thought that the alternating perspectives worked really well with the story. Still, I think that if it had been a little bit longer the authors would have had more time to give more substance to characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Hiden

    It was ok but no great i liked it alright

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Good, but not Great

    This was a really cute story that I read in one sitting. With an original plot a likeable charcters, readers will not get bored. However, in the latter half of the book, there seemed to be less chemistry between Charlie(a.k.a. Jenna) and Aaron (a.k.a. Fielding, a.k.a. Jonah). The ending was no surprise for me, and I wish the book was more suspenseful. The writing was acceptable, but it is not like I loved it, and the sub-plots and secondary and tritary characters weren't something I cared about. A plot twist could have been nice, but this book was really predictable... I could tell who would get together just from reading the summary. I do reccommend this, as it is a cute book, but it wasn't the ripest apple (banana, orange, mango?) In the tree. I do congratulate the authors for writing a decent and mostly-intruiging book with good main charcters.This book was around 170 pages, so for 10.19, it was also overpriced. I reccommend buying this, but only when the price lowers, because it wasn't worth the ten dollars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

    I was eager for this one to come out because I really loved the idea of two people who can't stand each other having to pretend that they're in love. I thought this was going to be a cute, romantic story. I wasn't disappointed. What I didn't expect though, is how the author would use elements from one of my favorite Shakespearean plays, Much Ado About Nothing. I've always loved Beatrice and Benedick from this play because they fight, they trade witty insults, and act like they hate each other, all the while everyone else can plainly see they're in love. It isn't until their friends decide to trick them into realizing their feelings that they let those feelings show.

    The authors used this basis so well for Charlie and Aaron. At first I wasn't sure if I was going to like these two characters because I wasn't sure I could relate to their rich, famous lifestyles. The authors did an excellent job though of making their true selves shine through. As the reader discovers who they truly are as people, the two of them also begin to discover each other.

    I really enjoyed watching them get to know each other for the first time, even though they've been "together" for years. This was a very entertaining read with some surprising depth to it that I didn't except. I would definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    Black Fingernailed Reviews

    You know how you read the summery for a book and expect it to be cute, but then you read the book and get more out of it than you expected? Yeah, this is one of those books.


    Sadly it's also one of those books that can be downplayed by readers because of it's 'cuteness'. You know how I always try to make you all see the light though so here is why I think there is more to this book.


    Even though the story is one that's predictable, while reading it I didn't mind at all. I couldn't put this book down until I finished it, it's short and sweet, but also funny and witty and interesting.


    Today we have a lot of famous tween-teen stars, and they are always followed by a media frenzy. I really liked how this story shows you what it's like on that end of the camera, and what that kind of star status can do to a person.


    At the beginning Aron and Charlie are these sort of depressed teen actors on a show that's been at it for four years already, they are both tired of pretending on stage and off.


    It's kind of a classic story-line, Charlie and Aron are always bickering and eventually they find out they love each other. Except it's not boring, it's not overly-done, and it's actually a teensie bit ironic. The characters do fight through a lot of the book, but it's easy to laugh off, and honestly I didn't mind it because throughout the story they are learning.


    This has that sort of mushy-gushy happily ever after ending that I usually despise, but this time around I actually liked it. You wanna know why? Too bad I'm telling you anyway! It's because the characters actually learned something, they grew and became better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1