Customer Reviews for

Jenna's Cowboy (Callahans of Texas Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 834 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(464)

4 Star

(178)

3 Star

(118)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

96 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

Time well spent

I am a huge reader i can read a 500 page book in 4 hours i was looking through the free books an saw this one it sounded cute i just finished reading it an let me tell you that this is one of the best books i ever read i am christen but im also a romantic at heart and i...
I am a huge reader i can read a 500 page book in 4 hours i was looking through the free books an saw this one it sounded cute i just finished reading it an let me tell you that this is one of the best books i ever read i am christen but im also a romantic at heart and its not very often that you find a book that combines the two together well but this one does the story is heart breakingly sweet hometown hero comes back from the war scared and tired to help his father save his family farm and finds his first love whose had her share of battles just out of a bad marriage and with a son to raise she is in need of some tender loving care and fighting ptsd the soldier uses god as his weapon to get him what hes always wanted the woman of his dreams and the son of his heart!

posted by 3865888 on January 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Great story, abrupt ending

It is plain to see in reading this story that Sharon Gillenwater is good at her research and explains things very well. I know nothing about ranching or farming, but I felt from the explanations and pictures drawn by her imagery were great. I thoroughly enjoyed the roma...
It is plain to see in reading this story that Sharon Gillenwater is good at her research and explains things very well. I know nothing about ranching or farming, but I felt from the explanations and pictures drawn by her imagery were great. I thoroughly enjoyed the romance of the story and the cover is perfect for the character of Nate. While reading this book I was thinking about the different things that I was going to say in the review about how much I enjoyed the characters and the visualizations as well as their witty banter. Easily I could say that I enjoy this author and look forward to reading her books in the future. However, I felt that the last three chapters were such a lurch from the rest of the story. Perhaps I am on my own in that opinion, but I felt that it went in rather abruptly and then the story just ended. I know why "it" happened and understand that, but I feel that the "big event" could have had more closure. It felt to me that the story was going along great, and then just amidst the action it ended and did not wrap down. It leaves me feeling like I missed something and I think could have ended better. Overall great writing though and enjoyable.

posted by cherryblossommj on January 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 835 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 42
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Time well spent

    I am a huge reader i can read a 500 page book in 4 hours i was looking through the free books an saw this one it sounded cute i just finished reading it an let me tell you that this is one of the best books i ever read i am christen but im also a romantic at heart and its not very often that you find a book that combines the two together well but this one does the story is heart breakingly sweet hometown hero comes back from the war scared and tired to help his father save his family farm and finds his first love whose had her share of battles just out of a bad marriage and with a son to raise she is in need of some tender loving care and fighting ptsd the soldier uses god as his weapon to get him what hes always wanted the woman of his dreams and the son of his heart!

    96 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Refreshing

    Finally a story worth telling. A very tender story about not giving up on yourself, first love, family, and accepting help.

    44 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    sweet and heartwarming

    Nate Langley retuns home to Callahan Crossing from the Military to run into the first girl he ever truly loved Jenna Callahan. As the only daughter of Dub Callahan and having returned home after a heartbreaking marriage Jenna Callahan meets the man she always cared for, Nate Langley. Jenna has a little boy named Zach and that really brings Jenna and Nate closer together, though both fighting their own demons the two grow more intimate with each other and Zach wiggles his way into Nates heart. This book is a heartwarming read full of warm moments, tearful moments and lots of giggles (thumbs for Zach). Definitley would suggest this read for those who love heartfelt stories like these and feel God does have plans for people.

    25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Best western romance book ever

    This was a great book. I loved it so much. It really touched my heart. This is great for young teens because heir is no sex or cussing? GREAT BOOK. I AM GONIG TO READ THE REST OF THE SERIES.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great story, abrupt ending

    It is plain to see in reading this story that Sharon Gillenwater is good at her research and explains things very well. I know nothing about ranching or farming, but I felt from the explanations and pictures drawn by her imagery were great. I thoroughly enjoyed the romance of the story and the cover is perfect for the character of Nate. While reading this book I was thinking about the different things that I was going to say in the review about how much I enjoyed the characters and the visualizations as well as their witty banter. Easily I could say that I enjoy this author and look forward to reading her books in the future. However, I felt that the last three chapters were such a lurch from the rest of the story. Perhaps I am on my own in that opinion, but I felt that it went in rather abruptly and then the story just ended. I know why "it" happened and understand that, but I feel that the "big event" could have had more closure. It felt to me that the story was going along great, and then just amidst the action it ended and did not wrap down. It leaves me feeling like I missed something and I think could have ended better. Overall great writing though and enjoyable.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    Excellent weekend read!!!

    Enjoyed the storyline and fell in love with all the characters that brought it all together. I didn't want to put this book down until the last page was read. Upon that last page turn I ended up purchasing the next book in Sharon Gillenwater's series The Callahans of Texas, which ended up being another excellent page turner. Now I'm in waiting until her third book in the series appears in a few months.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    I am from a small town in West Texas. I felt like I had stepped

    I am from a small town in West Texas. I felt like I had stepped into my own world/ I loved this one and hated to see it end.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Awesome healthy inspirational read

    I want to meet these people and hang out with them

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Wonderful book- Faith and love

    Faith and love and a look at what our soldiers give to protect our freedoms and the demons that they face when they return. Well written and thoroughly enjoyed.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Good plot, but hero a bit unbelievable to me

    Ms Gillenwater does a good job on the plot, the PTSD of the returning war hero, but her "hero," Nate was a bit unbelievable to me. A man who's worked as a cowboy post high school and then enlisted and served in Iraq and Afghanistan and so must be in his late 20s or so, and he's never been on a date or kissed a girl? That is not believable to me.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Must read!

    Great book! In the begining i had a hard time getting into it but around chapters 2 or 3 i was hooked! Couldnt put it down! Great story!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    One of my new favorite books

    This is a great book. It is about a war hero, a wonderful lady recovering form a failed marriage, and a family of ranchers. The book had great morals, was very clean, and was really fun to read. The post-war trauma Nate struggles with is very realistic and it is nice to see it properly portrayed in a novel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Great story! I finished reading the series because I enjoyed th

    Great story! I finished reading the series because I enjoyed this book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Disappointing

    Started out good but the second half was very cheesy, even for an Inspirational. The author "suggested" that PTSD could be overcome with mild medication and prayer and I just don't feel this is true.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Cute story

    This story was cute and well written but also completely far-fetched. If you want an easy faith filled read this is it. If you want a realistic story of a returning soldier dealing with PTSD look elsewhere.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Great book

    After deciding to read more wholesome books, i read Jenna's cowboy. I was so happy that it was just as involving as other books and i am nowva fan of this author!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    -

    The book doesnt even have anything in it but blank pages

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Good book

    I loved this book, and itisnt to rushed or long. Its a happyending book for a soldier who has come home and still fighting the war in hi smind and and a woman who has her own ghosts but still loves him. Its well thought out and enjoyable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Lame! Don't waste your time.

    What a waste. Whomever wrote this has a vague understanding of PTSD. DO NOT base your ideas and opinions on the trash compiled in this so called novel. I kept thinking, "It has to get better." But no it didn't. Don't waste your time. I would give it 0 stars if I could.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Yawn!

    For seasoned romance readers this tale is pretty mild. No heroine in dire peril. No larger than life hero. Not even a hint that they are hot for each other. No page turner,this. A tale worthy lending to little 14 year old Suzy.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 835 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 42