Customer Reviews for

Jenna's Cowboy (Callahans of Texas Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 812 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(455)

4 Star

(170)

3 Star

(115)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

91 out of 98 people found this review helpful.

Time well spent

I am a huge reader i can read a 500 page book in 4 hours i was looking through the free books an saw this one it sounded cute i just finished reading it an let me tell you that this is one of the best books i ever read i am christen but im also a romantic at heart and i...
I am a huge reader i can read a 500 page book in 4 hours i was looking through the free books an saw this one it sounded cute i just finished reading it an let me tell you that this is one of the best books i ever read i am christen but im also a romantic at heart and its not very often that you find a book that combines the two together well but this one does the story is heart breakingly sweet hometown hero comes back from the war scared and tired to help his father save his family farm and finds his first love whose had her share of battles just out of a bad marriage and with a son to raise she is in need of some tender loving care and fighting ptsd the soldier uses god as his weapon to get him what hes always wanted the woman of his dreams and the son of his heart!

posted by 3865888 on January 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Great story, abrupt ending

It is plain to see in reading this story that Sharon Gillenwater is good at her research and explains things very well. I know nothing about ranching or farming, but I felt from the explanations and pictures drawn by her imagery were great. I thoroughly enjoyed the roma...
It is plain to see in reading this story that Sharon Gillenwater is good at her research and explains things very well. I know nothing about ranching or farming, but I felt from the explanations and pictures drawn by her imagery were great. I thoroughly enjoyed the romance of the story and the cover is perfect for the character of Nate. While reading this book I was thinking about the different things that I was going to say in the review about how much I enjoyed the characters and the visualizations as well as their witty banter. Easily I could say that I enjoy this author and look forward to reading her books in the future. However, I felt that the last three chapters were such a lurch from the rest of the story. Perhaps I am on my own in that opinion, but I felt that it went in rather abruptly and then the story just ended. I know why "it" happened and understand that, but I feel that the "big event" could have had more closure. It felt to me that the story was going along great, and then just amidst the action it ended and did not wrap down. It leaves me feeling like I missed something and I think could have ended better. Overall great writing though and enjoyable.

posted by cherryblossommj on January 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great story, abrupt ending

    It is plain to see in reading this story that Sharon Gillenwater is good at her research and explains things very well. I know nothing about ranching or farming, but I felt from the explanations and pictures drawn by her imagery were great. I thoroughly enjoyed the romance of the story and the cover is perfect for the character of Nate. While reading this book I was thinking about the different things that I was going to say in the review about how much I enjoyed the characters and the visualizations as well as their witty banter. Easily I could say that I enjoy this author and look forward to reading her books in the future. However, I felt that the last three chapters were such a lurch from the rest of the story. Perhaps I am on my own in that opinion, but I felt that it went in rather abruptly and then the story just ended. I know why "it" happened and understand that, but I feel that the "big event" could have had more closure. It felt to me that the story was going along great, and then just amidst the action it ended and did not wrap down. It leaves me feeling like I missed something and I think could have ended better. Overall great writing though and enjoyable.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Good plot, but hero a bit unbelievable to me

    Ms Gillenwater does a good job on the plot, the PTSD of the returning war hero, but her "hero," Nate was a bit unbelievable to me. A man who's worked as a cowboy post high school and then enlisted and served in Iraq and Afghanistan and so must be in his late 20s or so, and he's never been on a date or kissed a girl? That is not believable to me.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Cute story

    This story was cute and well written but also completely far-fetched. If you want an easy faith filled read this is it. If you want a realistic story of a returning soldier dealing with PTSD look elsewhere.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Ok

    Enjoyed info about ranching and farming could have been condensed but a ok read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Jenna Callahan Colby and her young son move back to live with he

    Jenna Callahan Colby and her young son move back to live with her parents on their ranch after a bad divorce. She is now a partner running her father's ranch along with her brothers. Nate Langley comes back home after 2 tours over in Iraq and is working part-time at the Callahan ranch.  They had a crush on each other in high school but didn't let the other know about their feelings. Once they see each other, they realized they still have feelings for each other but continue to hide the feelings.

    Nate has PTSD and is embarrassed by his behavior when he hears loud noises or sees fire. The author researched PTSD in depth and shared that information with her readers making this story easy to understand.

    There are a lot of references to Christianity/spirituality, etc. in this book. While I realize it is a Christian romance novel there seemed to be an almost excessive amount of Christian references. While I appreciate that the characters relied on God and their faith to see them through hard times, occasionally it seemed a bit unrealistic. It seem like just praying to God about their problems would solve them.

    The only thing I really didn't like or find believable in this story was that Nate hadn't even kissed a girl and he was 29! I found it hard to feel the love between Nate and Jenna because there was absolutely no sex scenes.  Sex was not even discussed!  It would have been better if they at least talked about choosing to not have sex for religious reasons.

    Recommended for anyone who likes a Christian western romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Delightful

    Enjoyed !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Interesting and thought provoking

    I'm not head over heels in love with it, but it did give me another perspective on PTSD, and forced me to think about the problems facing our veterans and their families.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Too cute

    Too cute romance with good story. A bit too much religion for me, which increased progressively throughout the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Good story

    Sweet , clean, refreshing, romance. Better than most of the free trash out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Great "Little Book" to read

    The story line is up to date with real issues that we face today. The characters were so well written that you can "see" each one. Do take the time to read this great book. Will surly read more of Gillenwater's writtings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Romantic Siunds fimantic

    Wow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Spiritual

    Spiritual fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    The book is a very clean book, no sex. The love story was sweet.

    The book is a very clean book, no sex. The love story was sweet. It was a little slow, but all in all, a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Ok

    This story was ok slow moving

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    ;)

    I liked their story. 267 pages. I found my self passing pages because of too munch info that could have been edited. The PTSD info was nice n it made you understand him n made you think was great. I remembered my grandfather he fought in the Korean war, n he never talked about it and he drank alot. Im very certain he struggled too. But had no help from programs or from family. They didnt understand.
    I wish the next story written will focus more on thecouple not as much on surroundings or pastures or such. All n all a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Good Read

    The writing flows easily. It pulls you in from the beginning. The characters are relatable and likable. It is a powerful story whether you have, know someone who has, or have never even met someone who has PTSD. I would reccomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Good book.....

    I enjoyed this book. It wasnt the kind of book I expected or normally read, but if you love a nice clean romance with strong faith as the foundation this book is for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Pretty good

    A few spelling errors, to much religon for me. The writing wasn't that good in a few places. It was a good christian romance, not one of my favorites, pretty googood christian romance, considering it was free. Will buy the second and third books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    I found it boring

    Nothing thrilling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    Sweet story and one which made it is easy to slip into the lives

    Sweet story and one which made it is easy to slip into the lives and concerns of the characters.

    I will agree with others that the "romantic expertise" of the hero was a bit unbelievable and the ending rather abrupt. It was almost as though, once the author arranged the meeting of the two main characters for the next book, she was ready to move on. Jenna's lack of preparing her son for her big event also rang false.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6