Customer Reviews for

Jennifer: An O'Malley Love Story

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Another Stellar Love Story! *ATTENTION* If you have not read th

Another Stellar Love Story!
*ATTENTION* If you have not read the O'Malley series, you are not allowed to read this review. Stop. Back away, and go to the nearest library/bookstore and get Danger in the Shadows by Dee Henderson. Start reading. There are six more boo...
Another Stellar Love Story!
*ATTENTION* If you have not read the O'Malley series, you are not allowed to read this review. Stop. Back away, and go to the nearest library/bookstore and get Danger in the Shadows by Dee Henderson. Start reading. There are six more books after that for you to consume!

I am so thankful that Dee Henderson decided to give her fans this. Jennifer was probably my favorite character in the O'Malley series. She was all heart and generosity. As a doctor, she is incredibly able to know each of her patients intimately. She takes the time. Seeing her in this book brought that to light even more. I feel like I know Jennifer so much more. And Tom. I just love Dee Henderson's love stories.

The book has Dee Henderson all over it. It was so beautiful with that feeling I only get from her! The relationship that builds between Tom and Jennifer is truly beautiful and unusual for these days. I want that so much. The story really gives you a look into how Jennifer started her belief in God, her love for Tom, and how she begins to deal with her cancer. She is such a fighter.

Considering I always felt like she was the heart of the O'Malley stories, I think this little prequel is so beautiful, and I know that I laughed and cried as I read. I'm so thankful I had the opportunity to delve further into the story. Now I just need to make some time to reread the rest of the books!

If you have not read the O'Malley series, I am going to insist that you at least check them out. They are truly incredible and riveting!

posted by Deidra_Simply_Books on April 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing. Over the years since the O'Malley series came out

Disappointing. Over the years since the O'Malley series came out, I have recommended it warmly to many readers. I was excited about this addition to the great family Henderson had created. When I first saw the book, my heart sank. It was so small, I knew it couldn't h...
Disappointing. Over the years since the O'Malley series came out, I have recommended it warmly to many readers. I was excited about this addition to the great family Henderson had created. When I first saw the book, my heart sank. It was so small, I knew it couldn't have much to it. And I was right. The story doesn't give much new information or background for Jennifer. Tom Peterson, the young surgeon she falls in love with, is a Christian but Jennifer isn't. Her spiritual life doesn't seem to matter a whole lot to Tom, but the core of the book is about him sharing Jesus with her. It's a sweet story, and, yes, she becomes a Christian, but it's all too straightforward and easy. Henderson gives us the typical formulaic style and leaves out any realistic touches. She is capable of so much better.

If you have read all the others, you probably want to read this one anyway. If you haven't read the others and don't intend to, skip this. So, unfortunately, Jennifer: An O'Malley Love Story is too short, too simple and not complete enough to satisfy. Not recommended.~ 2.5 out of 5 stars

posted by TessaJ on May 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     It is so fun to re-visit an old haunt of yours, a blast from th

     It is so fun to re-visit an old haunt of yours, a blast from the past so to speak. It’s fun because it was a favorite from the past and it still has a sweet spot in your heart- it’s familiar and it is just plain nice and comfortable. These are the feelings that Jennifer, an O’Malley Love story elicited in me while reading this bittersweet novella.  Why, you ask? Because it is a return to the O’Malleys of course. For those of you that have read the wonderfully popular O’Malley series from Dee Henderson, you are in for a treat. A wonderful prequel where we dive into the Love story of Jennifer O’Malley and return ever so briefly remember what makes this series special. The bonds of a self-made family- a group of people with no family who bonded together to create one. If you have not read the O’Malleys, here is a wonderful place to start.




      We meet Jennifer O’Malley, a very special Dr.  who works with young children in wellness care for kids who were chronically or terminally ill. She helps them to feel better. She bumps into Tom Peterson, a surgeon one night in the ER and they form a friendship of sorts. Jennifer is not looking for a relationship, but as these things always go, a relationship starts to develop. They have a problem though, He is a man with a heartfelt faith , while Jennifer does not and doesn’t see the need for God in her life. However with patience and care Tom woos her to himself and doesn’t push her but just invites her to check out a relationship with Jesus out for herself.  




       This novel does a good job of introducing us to Jennifer and her struggles with understanding who God is. The things I loved about the O’Malley series are that it truly tackles different objections and obstacles that people have with regards to a relationship with God based on what they have experienced in their respective lives. This novel is no different and I enjoyed seeing Jennifer  progress, and learn and gain understanding, even when faced with insurmountable odds.  As I mentioned earlier, this is a prequel type of story. So once you are done reading this one, you’ll want to read or re-read the O’Malleys series all over again!




    4 Stars.




    I received a digital copy of this book through the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  All opinions expressed are my own.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2013

    When I discovered the O'Malley series, I realized Christian fict

    When I discovered the O'Malley series, I realized Christian fiction might have grown into the type of books that I love. This electic group of "siblings" had me from the first page, and I loved the way the series was interconnected...one of the key connections was Jennifer's story. Yet Jennifer never had her own book until now. While this is a novella (so shorter than a regular novel) it provides satisfaction for fans who have longed to get to know Jennifer and Tom's story. At the same time, if you haven't discovered the O'Malleys, it will provide a great segue to this romantic suspense series. This book has no traditional suspense. Instead, it is a straight romance. It is a story that compelled me to read it in one setting, and one I will return to ... just as I have the rest of the O'Malley series. Two thumbs up!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    I fell in love with Dee Henderson's O'Malley series many years a

    I fell in love with Dee Henderson's O'Malley series many years ago and was excited to see that Jennifer's story was finally going to be published! A prequel to the rest of the series, Jennifer: An O'Malley Love Story is a delightful book! I received it in the mail, tossed the envelope on the floor, and promptly read the entire book—start to finish—in a few hours. The story is certainly moving, and I enjoyed watching Jennifer and Tom's friendship develop. The only drawback is that this is only the beginning of the series! The book leaves you hanging a bit as far as a conclusion. However, I'm now looking forward to going back and re-reading the rest of the series! If you've read the rest of the series, you'll love this novella. If you haven't read them (shame on you!), this is the perfect place to start! [4 stars]

    I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House & Christian Fiction Blog Alliance in exchange for my fair and honest review.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This novel truly represents the meaning of love. Tom knows life

    This novel truly represents the meaning of love. Tom knows life Jennifer has challenges; however he is willing to take that risk because of his love for her. Supporting and encouraging her through it all.
    Confident they will have a long life together because of his trust in God. Tom knows the power of prayer and strongly believes God will do what is best. Jennifer discovered Jesus wanted a relationship with her and He loved her after reading His word for herself. She believed what was written, which resulted in her falling in love with Jesus. However as the story goes, Christians are not exempt from life’s challenges. There are moments when we don’t understand our circumstances and can lose faith. We began to question God’s love for us, wondering how a God that loves us can allow certain things to happen. But in the end, like Jennifer we regain that trust God and experience a sense of peace. Thank you Bethany House for allowing me to share my opinion. Also for providing this book free of charge.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer By: Dee Henderson The O¿Malleys are a series by Dee He

    Jennifer
    By: Dee Henderson

    The O’Malleys are a series by Dee Henderson. This book, Jennifer, is the story behind the story of Jennifer O’Malley. She is part of a family known as the O’Malleys who grew up in an orphanage and became a family. I now want to go back through and reread the series! Jennifer is amazing, loving, hard-working, and curious about God, now that Tom Peterson has introduced them.

    Jennifer is a pediatric oncologist who works with children who have cancer. She is their rock and their hope in a scary time. But what will happen when Jennifer experiences that same dark time? Will her fledgling faith have enough roots to support her? Will she let Tom stay and help her or will she push him away?

    If you enjoy the O’Malley series or if this is your first introduction, you will love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer O'Malley loves working with her little patients. She's

    Jennifer O'Malley loves working with her little patients. She's able to connect with the children, but has a hard time connecting with a fellow doctor who is interested in her. But patience on his part breaks down her barriers and she falls in love. Tom shows her how wonderful true love can be and introduces her to his God. Jennifer now has three things to tell her family about at the next picnic - her new found faith, a new fiance, and a cancer diagnosis.

    This book is a prequel, of sorts, to the O'Malley series. Jennifer's story is mostly told throughout the other books in the series. The story is short (think novella size), sweet, and not her typical style. While it wasn't in the style of the other books, I enjoyed hearing how Jennifer met her fiance and seeing the story from her side. I will be keeping this book to go with the other books in the series, but I hope that the author returns to her typical style of writing with the next book.

    I received this book free of charge from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1