Customer Reviews for

Jennifer: An O'Malley Love Story

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Another Stellar Love Story! *ATTENTION* If you have not read th

Another Stellar Love Story!
*ATTENTION* If you have not read the O'Malley series, you are not allowed to read this review. Stop. Back away, and go to the nearest library/bookstore and get Danger in the Shadows by Dee Henderson. Start reading. There are six more boo...
Another Stellar Love Story!
*ATTENTION* If you have not read the O'Malley series, you are not allowed to read this review. Stop. Back away, and go to the nearest library/bookstore and get Danger in the Shadows by Dee Henderson. Start reading. There are six more books after that for you to consume!

I am so thankful that Dee Henderson decided to give her fans this. Jennifer was probably my favorite character in the O'Malley series. She was all heart and generosity. As a doctor, she is incredibly able to know each of her patients intimately. She takes the time. Seeing her in this book brought that to light even more. I feel like I know Jennifer so much more. And Tom. I just love Dee Henderson's love stories.

The book has Dee Henderson all over it. It was so beautiful with that feeling I only get from her! The relationship that builds between Tom and Jennifer is truly beautiful and unusual for these days. I want that so much. The story really gives you a look into how Jennifer started her belief in God, her love for Tom, and how she begins to deal with her cancer. She is such a fighter.

Considering I always felt like she was the heart of the O'Malley stories, I think this little prequel is so beautiful, and I know that I laughed and cried as I read. I'm so thankful I had the opportunity to delve further into the story. Now I just need to make some time to reread the rest of the books!

If you have not read the O'Malley series, I am going to insist that you at least check them out. They are truly incredible and riveting!

posted by Deidra_Simply_Books on April 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing. Over the years since the O'Malley series came out

Disappointing. Over the years since the O'Malley series came out, I have recommended it warmly to many readers. I was excited about this addition to the great family Henderson had created. When I first saw the book, my heart sank. It was so small, I knew it couldn't h...
Disappointing. Over the years since the O'Malley series came out, I have recommended it warmly to many readers. I was excited about this addition to the great family Henderson had created. When I first saw the book, my heart sank. It was so small, I knew it couldn't have much to it. And I was right. The story doesn't give much new information or background for Jennifer. Tom Peterson, the young surgeon she falls in love with, is a Christian but Jennifer isn't. Her spiritual life doesn't seem to matter a whole lot to Tom, but the core of the book is about him sharing Jesus with her. It's a sweet story, and, yes, she becomes a Christian, but it's all too straightforward and easy. Henderson gives us the typical formulaic style and leaves out any realistic touches. She is capable of so much better.

If you have read all the others, you probably want to read this one anyway. If you haven't read the others and don't intend to, skip this. So, unfortunately, Jennifer: An O'Malley Love Story is too short, too simple and not complete enough to satisfy. Not recommended.~ 2.5 out of 5 stars

posted by TessaJ on May 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Another Stellar Love Story! *ATTENTION* If you have not read th

    Another Stellar Love Story!
    *ATTENTION* If you have not read the O'Malley series, you are not allowed to read this review. Stop. Back away, and go to the nearest library/bookstore and get Danger in the Shadows by Dee Henderson. Start reading. There are six more books after that for you to consume!

    I am so thankful that Dee Henderson decided to give her fans this. Jennifer was probably my favorite character in the O'Malley series. She was all heart and generosity. As a doctor, she is incredibly able to know each of her patients intimately. She takes the time. Seeing her in this book brought that to light even more. I feel like I know Jennifer so much more. And Tom. I just love Dee Henderson's love stories.

    The book has Dee Henderson all over it. It was so beautiful with that feeling I only get from her! The relationship that builds between Tom and Jennifer is truly beautiful and unusual for these days. I want that so much. The story really gives you a look into how Jennifer started her belief in God, her love for Tom, and how she begins to deal with her cancer. She is such a fighter.

    Considering I always felt like she was the heart of the O'Malley stories, I think this little prequel is so beautiful, and I know that I laughed and cried as I read. I'm so thankful I had the opportunity to delve further into the story. Now I just need to make some time to reread the rest of the books!

    If you have not read the O'Malley series, I am going to insist that you at least check them out. They are truly incredible and riveting!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Since I haven't had the pleasure of reading the O'Malley series

    Since I haven't had the pleasure of reading the O'Malley series of novels by author Dee Henderson, I got a rare opportunity to catch this latest prequel to her series, Jennifer: An O'Malley Love Story. Since Dee began her series of O'Malley novels back in 2005, she referred to Jennifer O'Malley but the reader never got to understand her side of coming into the O'Malley family. In fact, the O'Malley's are a rare treasure. Consisting of seven adopted brothers and sisters by one exceptional set of parents, each of the children made a personal decision to change their names because they wanted to be a real family even though they weren't united by blood. Each of the novels in the O'Malley series contained a separate story detailing each of the siblings but Jennifer was simply a backstory mentioned in them all.

    In Jennifer: An O'Malley Love Story, we get a chance to see Jennifer's beginning and come to know just how she fell in love with Dr. Tom Peterson. At 160 pages, this is such a heartwarming and beautiful story that details not only the relationship and early proposal between Jennifer and Tom, but also Jennifer's acceptance in coming to terms with her personal relationship with Jesus Christ through Tom's patience. Jennifer wasn't a believer before she met Tom and through such love and patience, he guides Jennifer to discover in her own way and in her own time, that Jesus Christ is really who He claims He is and that the Bible is in fact true. I love Tom's explanation to Jennifer when she asks how he (Tom) knows the Bible is true.

    "I wish I had a brilliant answer for you. I guess, as with most things, you start with common sense." Tom walked a bit, then bent to pick up a small branch on the path. He snapped the wood in two pieces and held them up.

    "The Bible tells about how people would take a piece of wood, use part of it to start a fire, and use the other part to carve out an image of a god, then worship that image and pray to it for rain and good fortune. As if the works of their own hands could come alive and answer them. It's illogical and foolish. So common sense will knock down most religions." He tossed aside the sticks.

    "Other religions sound good on the surface, but turn out to be impersonal systems based on grading what you do to determine your worth. Christianity is the only religion that promises not a system but a personal God you have a relationship with. At its core, Christianity is a relationship with a God who is listening, responding, and interacting with those who love Him. That's how you prove it, Jen. You test Christianity's claims by testing out the relationship on which it's built."

    "Can you have a relationship with God if you don't believe in Him?" she asked. "That doesn't seem possible. Isn't Christianity something you have to take on faith first? Jesus is the Son of God. Jesus died for people's sins. Jesus rose from the dead. Those are hard facts to absorb and believe."

    Tom weighed her question, then nodded. "Consider it this way. If you step off a tall building, it's immaterial whether you think gravity is true or not; it's still going to splat you on the ground a few seconds later. Right?"

    "Thanks for that image."

    He smiled. "It got the point across. In some ways it doesn't matter what you believe. Christianity is more like that gravity analogy than not. God is God right now, and He will still be God tomorrow, regardless of whether you choose to believe in Him today or not. That's a good thing. It means you can ask questions and search out answers and see for yourself what is true. God will still go on being God while you ponder the questions. He doesn't mind." (pg 80-81).

    What an exceptional way to explain how to find God! I love it and have captured this little piece of divine wisdom to share with others that are still searching for God in the midst of this world. Thank you Dee for sharing this. I received Jennifer: An O'Malley Love Story by Dee Henderson compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Bethany House Publishers for my honest review and received no monetary compensation for a favorable one. With that being said, I can't wait to begin my journey into each of the O'Malley's and am sure to find such wonderful treasures along the way. This is the perfect beginning to wet your appetite and to further explore the relationship between Tom and Jennifer in the series. I give this one a 5 out of 5 stars and will be adding this one to my personal library.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    Dee has once again touched my heart and encouraged me in my own

    Dee has once again touched my heart and encouraged me in my own life with her words and understanding of the human heart longing for answers in a broken and difficult world. The O'Malley books stand alone, but together weave a powerful story of relationships and choices we each make everyday. Thank, Dee!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    Jennifer by Dee Henderson is love as it should be. I have read

    Jennifer by Dee Henderson is love as it should be. I have read all the other O'Malley family books more than once and will also read this again. I was happy to finally read the beginning of Jennifer's love story. I highly recommend this book and all the others in the O'Malley series. They are all filled with romance, suspense and so much more. I give this book a 5 out of 5 stars for being the start of an A+ series.

    I received he book from Net Galley and Bethany House for my honest opinion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    Jennifer is a new book in the O¿Malley series written by Dee Hen

    Jennifer is a new book in the O’Malley series written by Dee Henderson.  I have read every book in this series (definitely some of my very favorite books!)  The series is about a group of orphans that adopted each other and legally changed their last names to O’Malley.  Each book focusses on the story of one of the kids after they have grown up.  There is a book for each, except for Jennifer as her story takes place throughout the other books.  This book basically covered a little bit of information about Jennifer that was not covered previously.  I don’t want to say too much about the plot except to say that it definitely fills in a few gaps left out by the other books, and is worth reading (if I said more, and you hadn’t read the other books, it would really give away the point of this story.)  I suppose my only complaint about this book is that it is SO short!  Only 153 pages-a very quick read, and I felt a little cheated as I wanted to keep on reading!  But, as always, Dee Henderson has written another wonderfully-crafted book, and if you haven’t delved into the O’Malley series, or checked out her military series, you are definitely missing out!
    As always, thank you to Bethany House for providing me with a complimentary copy of this book for my unbiased opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    You should read it.

    Very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    Amazing as usual! A great prequel....

    This us a tiny book packed with power! A great story in itself....also a great prequel to an amazing series...The O'Malley series! Read them all, they will inspire and challenge you!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2013

    Complete the Circle If you¿ve read the entire O¿Malley serie

    Complete the Circle




    If you’ve read the entire O’Malley series, you need to read Jennifer to complete the circle. However, if you haven’t, definitely read the series, but start with Jennifer. It is written as a prequel, and if you’ve read the rest of the series, then you know how it ends, and you will have to struggle to read the book. If you are just looking for a beautiful love story, along with a good cry, read Jennifer for a nice weepy afternoon. Dee Henderson writes quick, easily read novels, but Jennifer is definitely a novella. 
    The theme of Christianity and the desire to know and love God runs through them all. Each one I’ve read has encouraged me to be a stronger Christian, and lead a better life. I would recommend it to Christian women of any age, or as a gift to someone, you think might be thinking of becoming a Christian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Another classic O'Malley series. Loved it!

    Another classic O'Malley series. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Dee Henderson in her new book, "Jennifer", An O'Malley

    Dee Henderson in her new book, "Jennifer", An O'Malley Love Story, A Prequel to The O'Malley Series published by Bethany House brings us into the life of Jennifer O'Malley.




    From the back cover: It's a summer of change for Jennifer O'Malley.




    The busy physician has a pediatrics practice in Dallas, and meeting Tom Peterson, and falling in love, is adding a rich layer to her life. She's sorting out how to introduce him to her family-she's the youngest of seven-and thinking about marriage.




    She's falling in love with Jesus too, and knows God is good. But that faith is about to be tested in a way she didn't expect, and the results will soon transform her entire family.




    "Jennifer" is the beginning of the six book series we have loved called The O'Malley Series. The O'Malleys are seven orphans that no one adopted and when they left the orphanage theses seven made their own family calling themselves the O'Malleys. During the six book series Jennifer is the catalyst for each of the siblings to get saved. Up until now there was no story that just featured her. Now Ms. Henderson has provided us the beginning. Dee Henderson is the master of this genre as she, herself, created it. This book is a love story. First it is the romance between Jennifer and Tom Peterson and how Tom's love for Jesus is the cause of Jennifer falling in love with Jesus as well. Then, of course, there is the diagnosis that compels her to bring Jesus to her family which is the story line of the other books. If you have not read The O'Malley Series you owe yourself a treat to get those six books and read and enjoy them. Until then you have this book which is how it all begins. Thank you Ms. Henderson for giving us such a great beginning to a wonderful series.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Flawless Prequel

    So great to finally read Jennifer's story from my favorites - the O'Malley series.

    Jennifer's story made me start rereading the entire series again (for the umpteenth time!) and brought even more depth to each of the characters. Another great job by Dee Henderson!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2013

    Jennifer: An O¿Malley Love Story by Dee Henderson is a novella t

    Jennifer: An O’Malley Love Story by Dee Henderson is a novella that introduces Jennifer, the youngest of the seven O’Malleys and one of the characters in the O’Malley series. Jennifer is a pediatric doctor in a large hospital in Dallas and during one of her visits to the ER she meets Tom Peterson, a surgeon at the hospital. The mutual attraction between the two is almost instantaneous. As their relationship develops she is wondering how to introduce him to her brothers and sisters for she knows that they will all put him through the third degree with their questions. Tom is amazed at the compassion that Jennifer shows to all her patients and how deeply she feels the loss when one dies. Tom invites Jennifer to attend church with him and at first she is hesitant but then she starts to enjoy church and reading the Bible. Just as she is learning to trust God, she receives news that at first makes her doubt God and His love.




    The author has a real talent for writing romance novels and this novella does not disappoint. She did an excellent job of developing the personalities and dialogue of the characters and they were so real that I was laughing or crying right along with them. The plot was somewhat predictable concerning the romance but there was a surprise twist near the end that was not expected. One thing that I really like about Dee Henderson’s novels is that in every book she writes, God has an important role in the life of the characters.




    I highly recommend this book to everyone who loves a heartwarming romance and also likes for the characters to love God and have faith in Him.




    I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to give a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1