BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Jennifer Government

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2003

    An Incredible Follow-Up to ┬┐Syrup┬┐

    Usually when an author attempts to introduce their cast of characters individually, and thread them together throughout the story, it turns into disjointed, mess. The book turns into several five hundred page novels of no less than three volumes, the characters take a back seat to a convoluted plot, and the story moves a turtles pace, while the reader hopes the author stops being coy, and gets the characters together, so they can get on with the story. This is not the case with Max Barry¿s latest novel, Jennifer Government, however. The novel centers around several characters living in a not so distant, and not altogether unrealistic future, where corporations run everything, and one¿s job determines their surname. (hence the title, named after the novel¿s protagonist) Barry takes the time to make his readers invest something in his carefully crafted characters, and moves the plot along at a break-neck pace, making the book almost impossible to put down. Add to that that, the book is also satirical in nature, and neither the story or characters suffer, and you have a very enjoyable thought-provoking read. The book makes it¿s point(s) without beating the reader over the head, and the moral questions asked of the reader are presented in such an open-ended way it allows them to come to their own conclusions. A funny, challenging book, which will be part of high school reading curriculums in years to come.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    Awesome

    I first heard about this book on Barry's Nationstates game, so I decided to check it out.. I'm glad I did! It's hilarious, full of witty comments and odd twists

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2005

    Good Read

    Not only is this book a difference from everyday books, it is intresting and makes you want to read on. Plus, the author is Austrialian, so I can use the book for a school project on foreign world authors. Yeah!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2004

    Definitely Worth Reading

    This book was fast-paced but far from being fluff. The whole premise was brilliant and made an enjoyable read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2003

    best near-future SF in a long time

    John Nike is the best literary villain we've seen in a long while. He's the guy you love to hate! Max Barry has managed to blend outrageous, hilarious social satire with an (almost) believable plot and characters who seem real. Barry's corporate-ruled world seems possible, and only just barely in the future. I spent the book laughing, and also being very, very afraid.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2003

    The Pinnacle of 'Capitalizm'

    Max Barry creates a world (more like an 'America') ruled in a nearly absolute free market society. Due to budget restrictions in a world where contracts and profits mean more to people than the quality of human life, the government wields its power in an 'equal' playing field with the wheelings and dealings of coporations, monopolies, merges, and coporate takeovers. I gave this book 4 and a half stars as opposed to 5 because the falling action all the way to the book's ending seemed like it was rushed in its efforts to end the book by 300 pages and it didn't take enough time to intricately gel the characters in the end as Barry so brilliantly did in its build-up. 'Jennifer Government' is still a great read despite my criticism on its ending. I enjoyed the book's evolution and transition from Hack's plight as a lowly Merc Officer at Nike to the stand-off between US Alliance and Team Advantage, although I didn't find the book as 'humorous' as many critics make it out to seem.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Jack

    Im from ethics i come in peace

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    AnnaSophia

    *runs in and seeing he's not here, runs to Yers*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Dark

    "Anna!" Runs after her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Julian

    Crawls to yers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Dean

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Good story

    Solid story that needs to be a little tighter and a rewrite dueto changes in corporate leaders but otherwise pleasant enough

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Read This

    If you have not read a Max Barry book, your missing out!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Jennifer Government

    This book is a realistic look into a dystopian future, where companies would kill to make a buck. I strongly recommend this book to those that loved Brave New World and 1984.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Well+writen

    A+quick+and+fun+read+that+also+provides+some+social+commentary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    Dystopia lite

    The author said in the intro that he wanted to write an 'anti-1984'; a dystopia with the effective abolishment of government. While the world presented would suck to live in, it came nowhere near the dystopia Orwell presented - he fails to show the poverty that would exist in such a system, and in essence, the good guys win in the end. I like the book, but its no 1984 in terms of emotional reaction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    excellent satire

    I love this book and recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I liked this book

    The characters were great and the book moved at a nice pace that kept me interested throughout the whole ride. It had me smiling plenty of times and some of the ideas were fresh and original. The story is well told and I liked the style in which the author wrote. I have no problem recommending this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    As a novel, not so good; as a social/political statement, OK

    While the overall point of Jennifer Government is valid and should stimulate reflection, the completely predictable plot and cheesy characters leave the reader wondering if she should take Barry seriously. I would suggest it as a good book for high school reading, although the message should be introduced at an even younger level (i.e., the problems with an ultra-capitalist society, the social contract between the governed and the government).

    Frighteningly, the dystopian society Barry describes is already too much like our own. Barry seems to suggest we will magically overcome this with a hero of some sort (and a few hippie kids will help out). Instead, what I choose to derive from Jennifer Government is this: less whining, less protesting, less waiting for one great hero; more large-scale action from the left, more people voting for socially just policies, more changing the laws to reflect the principle of equality our nation was founded on to protect the weak and not let the strong rise to infinite power, and less freedom at the expense of justice and fairness (gasp! here is where I am accused of being unpatriotic and 'socialist'). The story of America is not going to end with a hero killing the bad guy like Jennifer Government ends. Yes, I just gave away the ending, but if you read it you will figure this out LONG before the ending anyway.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4