Customer Reviews for

Jennifer Scales and the Ancient Furnace (Jennifer Scales Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Oh no!

    Diamond Tiara's at it again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Secrets: Part Three

    "Of course I can." Scootaloo rubbed her eyes. <br>
    "A retard is a cruel name for somepony with a disability." <br>
    "Oh. What disability do you have?" <br>
    "My wings can't hold the weight of my body and I can't fly an inch above the ground and anybody could fly better than me!" She wailed, breaking into sobs. Tears streamed down her face. <br>
    "Oh, Scoot. I didn't know." I wrapped my wings around her and sighed. "I feel sorry for you." <br>
    "You don't have to." Just then, a counselor yelled for us to get on the start line. Me and her lined up next to each other. We both gulped nervously. <br>
    "GO!" All the other fillies took off like rockets. We started taking off slowly and uncertainly. I wobbled dangerously. Scootaloo started falling straight onto the safety pads and I caught her. But, adding her weight, we started falling. I panicked and started flapping my wings furiously until we landed on a soft cloud. "Keep going!" A voice yelled. A hot air balloon was flying straight up very bumpily. The driver was a white unicorn filly with a pink and purple mane. "You can do it Scootaloo!" <br>
    "Ready, Hazy Dream?" I nodded. We started flapping together vigorously, me still holding her. It was like real flying, it was fast and smooth. When we finished, we realized we were in last place. Diamond Tiara smirked. "I guess there isn't anything worse than an orphaned, retarded blank-flank who got last place." Scootaloo tried to look unhurt, but I could tell she was crying. The filly in the hot air balloon was wailing, crying a waterfall. Soon, I felt a sharp jab in my flank. I looked over to see Diamond Tiara poking me with her horn. She whispered, "You're hanging out with this retard? Loser! Blank-flank!" I started to defend the two fillies next to me, but soon I burst into tears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jocelyn Pearce for TeensReadToo.com

    Jennifer Scales is just like any other fourteen-year-old girl. She's going through some...changes. But it's all normal, right? <BR/><BR/>Not exactly. In JENNIFER SCALES AND THE ANCIENT FURNACE (don't let the title keep you away; it's not what it sounds like), Jennifer's parents tell her some...surprising news. She's going to be changing a lot more than most people do at her age. In fact, she's going to be getting scales, horns, and claws--at least some of the time. Jennifer is a weredragon, from her dad's side of the family (her mom never has a tail the way Jennifer and her father do), and her parents waited to tell her until the day of her first morph. Whenever there's a crescent moon, Jennifer, her father, her grandfather, and so many other seemingly normal people turn into dragons. <BR/><BR/>That gives Jennifer a lot to deal with. She's got her friends (who she can't tell), school, and, well, being a fourteen-year-old girl. She's got to put her life on hold, though, when she goes to her grandfather's farm to become a dragon, and learn the skills she needs for that (at first, even standing up is hard!). Jennifer (and all weredragons) also has some ancient enemies, though: beaststalkers (humans with the power to hunt weredragons) and werearachnids (people who turn into giant spiders every crescent moon). As if starting high school wouldn't be hard enough! <BR/><BR/>JENNIFER SCALES AND THE ANCIENT FURNACE is a fast-paced story that I read all in one sitting! The writing isn't particularly remarkable, but it's simple enough to keep the reader focused on the story. The characters all seem pretty realistic, if a bit removed from the narrative. The idea is pretty original--a great spin-off of the less original, and more often written about, idea of werewolves. MaryJanice Davidson and Anthony Alongi's writing allows the reader to easily suspend disbelief, and every bit of the story seems as if it could be happening right now, despite what common sense tells us. <BR/><BR/>This is a fantastic and unique young adult fantasy novel that every fantasy fan (and perhaps those new to fantasy) should read! If you do, you'll certainly want to pick up the next book in the series, JENNIFER SCALES AND THE MESSENGER OF LIGHT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    a reviewer

    Jennifer Scales is just like any other fourteen-year-old girl. She's going through some...changes. But it's all normal, right? Not exactly. In JENNIFER SCALES AND THE ANCIENT FURNACE (don't let the title keep you away it's not what it sounds like), Jennifer's parents tell her some...surprising news. She's going to be changing a lot more than most people do at her age. In fact, she's going to be getting scales, horns, and claws--at least some of the time. Jennifer is a weredragon, from her dad's side of the family (her mom never has a tail the way Jennifer and her father do), and her parents waited to tell her until the day of her first morph. Whenever there's a crescent moon, Jennifer, her father, her grandfather, and so many other seemingly normal people turn into dragons. That gives Jennifer a lot to deal with. She's got her friends (who she can't tell), school, and, well, being a fourteen-year-old girl. She's got to put her life on hold, though, when she goes to her grandfather's farm to become a dragon, and learn the skills she needs for that (at first, even standing up is hard!). Jennifer (and all weredragons) also has some ancient enemies, though: beaststalkers (humans with the power to hunt weredragons) and werearachnids (people who turn into giant spiders every crescent moon). As if starting high school wouldn't be hard enough! JENNIFER SCALES AND THE ANCIENT FURNACE is a fast-paced story that I read all in one sitting! The writing isn't particularly remarkable, but it's simple enough to keep the reader focused on the story. The characters all seem pretty realistic, if a bit removed from the narrative. The idea is pretty original--a great spin-off of the less original, and more often written about, idea of werewolves. MaryJanice Davidson and Anthony Alongi's writing allows the reader to easily suspend disbelief, and every bit of the story seems as if it could be happening right now, despite what common sense tells us. This is a fantastic and unique young adult fantasy novel that every fantasy fan (and perhaps those new to fantasy) should read! If you do, you'll certainly want to pick up the next book in the series, JENNIFER SCALES AND THE MESSENGER OF LIGHT. **Reviewed by: Jocelyn Pearce

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2007

    BEST SERIES EVER besides Harry Potter. A MUST READ series!

    This series is a must read. I read this book in three days! thats how good this book was. i was also thinking that like the harry potter series and eragon series and the narnia series, that they should make this series a movie. i wanted to get that statment to the author but dont have the email adress. this would make a great movie!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2005

    great and fast read

    this book was very fun to read and very fast-paced, although i think the end was too abrupt. still, this is a good book for those that love fantasy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    great new fantasy team!!

    This is a wonderful book! Mary Janice Davidson is primarily known for her spicy paranormal romance books (none of which you'd let your teenager read...well you shouldn't let your teenager read. I guess I can't speak for everyone.)This book has none of her weaknesses little or no description and an abrupt ending)and all of her strengths. This must be the contribution of Anthony Alongi. The story reads nothing like anything Ms Davidson would have written on her own and the reader definitely benefits from the writing of her husband. They have captured what it is like to be a teenager dealing with parents during a difficult time of your life. The teens act like teens and the parents act like parents. You can see and understand everyone's point of view. Often when writing for teens the parents are made out to be so terrible that you can't imagine having parents like that or being a parent like that. These are real people dealing with extraordinary circumstances. It's witty, creative, well thought out fantasy. I can't wait until the next in the series comes out. YES! It's the 1st of what I hope is a long long series. The world deserves more fantasy written for intelligent teens that treats them like intelligent teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2005

    Great book for kids and adults!

    I just got finished reading Jennifer Scales to my daughter and we both loved it. She really enjoyed the characters and the funny moments while Jennifer learned to be a dragon. A nice, fun book that everyone will enjoy. Reccomended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1