Customer Reviews for

Jenny Pox (Jenny Pox Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 306 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(161)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

The author delivers a good solid plot without giving anything away too early in the storyline. As the plot unfolds, the reader is drawn into the story more deeply. I pretty much read straight through until the book was finished. The story has a good solid ending so the ...
The author delivers a good solid plot without giving anything away too early in the storyline. As the plot unfolds, the reader is drawn into the story more deeply. I pretty much read straight through until the book was finished. The story has a good solid ending so the reader will come away a bit richer for having read the book. The author did an excellent job and I'm looking forward to reading more of the same from them. The book is definitely a tale you're not going to want to miss out on.

posted by mbcrandell on January 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Recommended- for certain readers

Jenny Pox is about a girl who keeps herself bound from others by always wearing gloves and long sleeves to avoid contact. I liked how she went from hating herself, to becoming 100% confident in herself. If you are sensitive to your race our racist people I would not rea...
Jenny Pox is about a girl who keeps herself bound from others by always wearing gloves and long sleeves to avoid contact. I liked how she went from hating herself, to becoming 100% confident in herself. If you are sensitive to your race our racist people I would not read this book, or just skip some chapters. I am african/native-american so i had some scenes where i had to close the book, walk away, and come back later. Other than that one problem, the book was very well written, but i wouldn't recommend to anyone under the age of 13.

posted by Bumblestripe on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended- for certain readers

    Jenny Pox is about a girl who keeps herself bound from others by always wearing gloves and long sleeves to avoid contact. I liked how she went from hating herself, to becoming 100% confident in herself. If you are sensitive to your race our racist people I would not read this book, or just skip some chapters. I am african/native-american so i had some scenes where i had to close the book, walk away, and come back later. Other than that one problem, the book was very well written, but i wouldn't recommend to anyone under the age of 13.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I wish this could be one of those raving reviews that made me a


    I wish this could be one of those raving reviews that made me all itchy to read Jenny Pox in first place, but I wasn't all that thrilled about it. I was completely prepared to have my mind blown off. I mean, a book with a great premise, a Carrie-touch to it, and fairly good writing. I loved Jenny, and the entire cast was well developed. It was chilling at moments and laugh-out-loud funny on other parts. So what went wrong?

    First to clarify the Carrie part. You have a girl with some supernatural ability who is a social pariah for obvious reasons. She gets her chance at love and acceptance, until it's rudely taken away from her. She endures the torture long enough until she explodes. What's there not to like?

    I would have loved and adored it if it were heavily combed through and tightened. Everything I said above still stands, but it was what the author does in between the fantastic scenes. The book is too short on action to justify its length, which means there are so many fillers that my enthusiasm completely withered down and I found myself reaching for something else to read. It killed the pacing, and sorry to say it, but I was bored.

    The antagonist Ashleigh was given much more credit and space than Jenny. Ashleigh is a fantastic, intelligent villain who conquers the world with a soft touch and sweet words. She freaked me out more than Jenny with her gift (or curse). Also, she is in full command of her ability, while Jenny has to suppress hers. Obviously, it's the charmers that you should stay clear of, not the pox-people. Ashleigh was more developed in terms of motivation, and therefore more memorable.

    I also could have done without the numerous scenes that involve Jenny, Seth and pot. Not being a prude here, I just feel that scenes like that have done nothing for the story except provide the platform for more chit chat and whiling away some time.

    One more thing that I liked was the setting; well-described lower middle class (almost) trailer park surroundings. It enhanced the atmosphere of desolation, added more dimension to the world building and more contrast between Jenny and other characters.

    Final verdict: I really think this would go from "good" to "fantastic" if a certain amount of pages was cut out. If you don't mind the slow pacing and you're looking for a dark and gritty YA paranormal, by all means, give this book a chance. I'll still try to get my hands on the second in the series, that's for sure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2014

    In my opinion, the writing is simplistic and lacking. Sentence l

    In my opinion, the writing is simplistic and lacking. Sentence length could use more variation, as well as sentence structure. In some of the first pages, an entire paragraph or two begin with either "she" or "her". There was also a lack in plot buildup; events seemed to just HAPPEN suddenly, which I suppose some of is explained by the end of the book. Other than the whole idea of predetermined fate, I believe that it is a lack of writing skill.

    Aside from the questionable writing, the premise is unique. The beginning is predictable: main character is an outcast, falls for the most popular boy in school, and his girlfriend is jealous. This is a tried-and-true plot device. The end of the book was a surprise. I'll admit that I was not expecting an army of pregnant teenagers. Jenny's plague rampage was also a surprise to me, which raises my rating of the novel.

    I'm planning on reading the rest of the series at some point. The unpredictable ending is giving me the boost to do that.  However, if it had ended happily-ever-after and cliched, I would not be wasting my time on this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Pretty Good

    I enjoyed the story, but there were some editing issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    It was okay

    I really liked the book i feel as though it could have been better and a little less gross.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Jenny Pox Review

    Fast read with interesting twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Just ok

    A book about teenagers and highschool drama with a carrie twist thrown in. Not for me but well written , just needs some editing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Uhh.....

    I don't really know what to say about Jenny Pox. I enjoyed the book....it was well written and the characters were great. But....like idk. It left me feeling dirty after i read it. Like every time i think of it, i shudder a little. There were some scenes that were just so...disgusting. and the sex scenes were like watching porn. It was all in all a good book, but not really for me. :/ maybe for someone who likes this kind of thing???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Jenny Pox

    Wow, I must say that I think this is the strangest book I've ever read! That's not necessarily a bad thing. The story centers around Jenny - who has what people call the Jenny pox. She is basically lethal to touch. Her whole life, she has had to keep her body covered - including wearing gloves wherever she goes - so she doesn't accidentally kill somebody. How awful would that be? I connected with Jenny in a lot of ways. Not the lethal touch part, but the fact that she is an outsider. She's lonely, she keeps to herself, people think she's weird so they make fun of her, etc... I think there are a lot of girls out there who could identify with that.

    During Jenny's senior year in high school, she finally meets the one boy she can touch. Because of Seth, she isn't alone for the first time in her life. I liked seeing the unpopular girl get the boy. Life is looking up for Jenny, but it doesn't last. Seth's ex-girlfriend Ashleigh will stop at nothing to get what she wants, including revenge on Seth and Jenny. Ashleigh really is the worst kind of villain - and she has this ability to manipulate people. The things that she is capable of is scary

    The things that happen in this book are just bizarre. There are some gross, disturbing, and gory moments. It will definitely keep your attention. I honestly don't recommend this book to most teenagers. There's a lot of adult content involved - one of which is sex. I really don't mind reading about teen sex usually - especially if it's between 2 mature teens who are in love and it's tastefully done. However, there is one scene in this book that I think goes over the line in calling this young adult. I will leave it at that - I don't want to give too much away. Also, there is a lot of drug use in this book. It's not just a few random people - it's everyone. Even the heroine in this story is a druggie. In my opinion, the book made it seem like you weren't normal if you weren't doing it - and I don't think that's the best image for teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good story ... but ...

    This novel contains a few things that might offend. First, Ashleigh plays a good little Christian girl and uses the religion to manipulate people to follow her will - which is the absolute opposite of what being a Christian is, so for those who might find this offensive this book is not recommended.

    Next it contains a lot of drug use and sexual scenes. These are used throughout the book either as an escape or a way to manipulate people. It also contains a few more things that I don't want to get into for fear of giving the story away. The idea though is to be warned, this book might offend you.

    I'm not easily offended and was able to enjoy the book, however, there are a few things that I didn't like. I loved the story itself, but it seemed to have taken a long time to wrap things up and I wasn't a fan of the sudden twist in the end. It might have been better if we had those elements intertwined as the narrative unfolded. I also didn't like the casual use of drugs, I might have missed something but it didn't seem necessary to advance the plot. Finally, the initial relationship between Jenny and Seth seemed underdeveloped, I kept wondering why his interest suddenly shifted, there seemed no reason for the change.

    Putting all these aside, I truly enjoyed the story and I am looking forward to the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    wow

    only read the first chapter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    good

    its a good book. but its way to innopropriate. wish they would have given us a warning about the sexual content. in some scenes it was down right discusting. wouldnt reccomend it fr that fact alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3