Customer Reviews for

Jenny Pox (Jenny Pox Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 303 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(160)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

The author delivers a good solid plot without giving anything away too early in the storyline. As the plot unfolds, the reader is drawn into the story more deeply. I pretty much read straight through until the book was finished. The story has a good solid ending so the ...
The author delivers a good solid plot without giving anything away too early in the storyline. As the plot unfolds, the reader is drawn into the story more deeply. I pretty much read straight through until the book was finished. The story has a good solid ending so the reader will come away a bit richer for having read the book. The author did an excellent job and I'm looking forward to reading more of the same from them. The book is definitely a tale you're not going to want to miss out on.

posted by mbcrandell on January 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Recommended- for certain readers

Jenny Pox is about a girl who keeps herself bound from others by always wearing gloves and long sleeves to avoid contact. I liked how she went from hating herself, to becoming 100% confident in herself. If you are sensitive to your race our racist people I would not rea...
Jenny Pox is about a girl who keeps herself bound from others by always wearing gloves and long sleeves to avoid contact. I liked how she went from hating herself, to becoming 100% confident in herself. If you are sensitive to your race our racist people I would not read this book, or just skip some chapters. I am african/native-american so i had some scenes where i had to close the book, walk away, and come back later. Other than that one problem, the book was very well written, but i wouldn't recommend to anyone under the age of 13.

posted by Bumblestripe on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    The author delivers a good solid plot without giving anything away too early in the storyline. As the plot unfolds, the reader is drawn into the story more deeply. I pretty much read straight through until the book was finished. The story has a good solid ending so the reader will come away a bit richer for having read the book. The author did an excellent job and I'm looking forward to reading more of the same from them. The book is definitely a tale you're not going to want to miss out on.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    I wish the grammar with Jenny Pox was as polished as it was with

    I wish the grammar with Jenny Pox was as polished as it was with the other two books of the series.  There’s more telling than showing, particularly in the first half of the novel.  I’m not a huge fan of Jenny’s character, but the overall story is captivating.  There was not one instance while reading this book that I thought to put it down.  Jenny Pox my least favorite of the series, but it is still a great debut novel.  This is one of those books that I was constantly shocked that the author “went there” and then giddy because he did.  I’m fairly certain some of the scenes in this book would of been toned down if JL Bryan was published by the Big 6, so in that way, I’m happy he went the self-published route.

    Ashleigh is my favorite character in this book.  Despite being introduced as a mean girl, she’s a villain you can’t help but to love.  (It was like she touched me through the parchment and suddenly I was like “Ashleigh, I’m gonna go get a sex change so we can make some babies.”  Midway though the operation, this feeling strangely faded away, and then I was like “Awkward.”)

    Seth, on the other hand, I can’t get into.  I don’t understand why he falls for Jenny so suddenly, especially considering his relationship with Ashleigh.  Granted, he probably has the best excuse ever for cheating.

    I would categorize this book as high YA or NA, due to some pretty graphic scenes.  If you get offended easily, this might not be the book for you.  There’s violence, death, and sex.  If you’re looking for a different sort of paranormal romance, then Jenny Pox might be for you. (B)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Good

    Ugh..... It was good and all but really disturbing. I wanted to puke when she was (READ THIS MESSAGE!!!!!! SPOILER ALERT!!!!!!) O.k. here I go...... WHEN SHE KILLED EVERYONE IN THE TOWN WITH HER BARE HANDS!!!!!

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Though I really liked this book, my major problem with it is tha

    Though I really liked this book, my major problem with it is that it took the whole book for you to figure out some of what was going on.  It made for a great explosive ending, but maybe could have used a few hints or teases along the way.  I couldn't put this one down and will be recommending it!  I'm definitely looking forward to reading more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Pretty good

    Pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Just ... not for the faint of heart

    I heard a lot of good things about this book. That it was dark and twisted and gave the readers nightmares. So naturally I had to buy it and read it. I'm sorry to say that it does not live up to those expectations. It was an amazing book and I am DYING to get my hands on Tommy Nightmare ;) but it's not as nightmare-worthy as people made it seem. Still a great book though!! Top notch for YA horror !! ????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Perfect read.

    This book was captivating! With many minor grammatical errors, the book was still great to read. Love the story line so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Could Not Rmove My Eyes !!!!!!!!!!!

    it was very good with some humor here and there near the end its get even more interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Great read

    I really enjoyed this book I am definitely going to continue with the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Great Read!

    I couldnt put this one down! On to book two!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    very good book

    very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Decent ya paranormal fantasy romance

    Stats: free! 720-ish nook pages. YA paranormal urban fantasy romance. PG-13 sex scenes and language. Plenty of gore and violence. Nice break from vamps, were, and fae folk. Well-written/edited. A bit long for my taste. Not interested in purchasing a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Wow....

    Thid book ended up being gorier than I, uh, expected. And quite descriptive about certain...sexual parts. This book is for more mature people. Maybe ages thirteen and up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Not a teen story.

    Since the characters in this book are teenagers, I thought it might be too much of a story for younger readers (I'm 64), but I was thoroughly engaged for the entire book. It was a story with some fantasy but also the reality of what it is like to be treated as a outcast. I was rooting for Jenny from the first chapter. I will definitely read the other books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Interesting

    Very fast read kept me interested

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Refreshing Paranormal Story!

    I really enjoyed this book. The author does a fantastic job of putting you right in with the characters in the deep south. The book is terrifying--not just from the obvious, Jenny kills people way, but also from a political standpoint. The relationship between all the characters is refreshing and different from any other supernatural story I've read; and I've read many.

    I do agree with other reviewers that while the characters are high school age, this book is definitely more mature and has strong sexual and drug related events. Definitely not something I'd recommend to a fourteen or fifteen year old reader.

    However, I do highly recommend this book. Never a dull moment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Great story

    I really enjoyed reading this first book of the Paranormals series. I thought the story was original and a page turner. It was a great read. Can,t wait to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Very good.

    I wasnt sure how this book would play out but in the end I truly enjoyed it! Great read! Just downloaded the next book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Crazy

    It was a good read. I bit crazy at times definately not for a weak mind or young age!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    I had first heard of J.L. Bryan from Amanda Hocking when she mentioned him on her blog. Looking at the description I was instantly curious to see where this went. The book didn't disappoint either.

    Jenny Morton is a terrified young girl who keeps to herself, but not because she has to. What else can you do when you know you have the ability to kill someone by one simple touch? Wear long sleeves, jeans, gloves and everything to keep as much of your body hidden as possible to do the things you have to do such as school. Until the day Jenny meets somebody who can touch her and not get hurt: Seth. The possibilities whirl in Jenny's mind until she realizes that not only is Seth dating Ashleigh, but that they both have their own secrets and Ashleigh's intentions may not be as innocent as Seth's.

    This book is a terrific twist on the paranormal genre. You have the high school drama, the sweet romance, family business obligations, super powers, and just enough horror. The characters are captivating, each unique and with specific purpose. The ending, though it takes a different tone than the rest of the book, will take you on an unexpected turn that will have you reeling in anticipation to read Tommy Nightmare. Though Jenny Pox was a bit of a slow read for me, it was definitely worth the time. But I do feel obligated to mention that there are a couple of slightly gruesome sexual scenes as well as a lot of religious manipulation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4