Customer Reviews for

Jericho's Fall

Average Rating 3.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    I have read the author's other three books and I found them more interesting. I was hoping that Jericho's Fall would be somewhat like the other three in that they would involve upper class, politically connected African Americans as their main protagonists. I was almost finished with the book before I found that all of the main characters were Caucasian. The author has the privilege to write about anyone he chooses, but I sought this particular author because of his previous subjects. Next time I'll be more careful. Aside from this, I did not find any of his characters engaging or endearing. Instead, they were all flaky and by the end I did not care who survived.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Like an old Hitchcock movie

    The story was slow and didn't really pick up until last chapter• I still found it hard to put down. Maybe it's Stephan's way with the characters, but I felt like I was in the scene with them. I felt part of the action so the "getting" there didn't bother me so much. It reminded me if an old Alfred Hitchcock movie.....never quite knowing what was going to unfold or when things would start coming together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Save Your Money

    Slow and tedious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    Gripping, Thrilling Suspense Novel

    Set in the Colorado Rockies in April, 2009, the story opens with Beck rushing through the mountains to the sickbed of her former lover, Jericho Ainsley. He has called for her; and she wants to pay her final respects. Theirs was a doomed relationship from the start with Professor Ainsley falling head-over-heels in love with his student, Rebecca. His marriage was already in trouble; and he was caught completely off-guard when the young, innocent, impressionable Rebecca unintentionally wedged her way into a secret chamber of his heart. Disadvantaged by the differences in age and experience, Rebecca, the love of his life, was also his unintended victim.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    BORING!!!!!!

    Watching paint dry is more intriguing. This had NO point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    Jericho's Fall by Stephen L. Carter

    I would highly recommend this book. I have read and loved his other books The Emperor of Ocean Park, New England White and Palace Council and have found them not only wonderful books; but, thought provoking and providing historical events that we seem to forget with the passage of time. I would have liked this book to continue on and only can hope that there will be a sequel to this. I am not saying that the ending was wrong, just hoping that there will be a book to follow the characters. Isn't that what a good book does? Leaves us wanting more, leaves us asking ourselves what about the characters where did they go, what are they doing now, does this story really end here??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    Good solid read

    Fast moving. Unexpected twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Writer and Yet...

    I am a fan of this author and own all of his fiction works. I am such a fan that I have autographed hardcover copies of his novels. This story puts forth the premise that there is mental instability in the intelligence community, a scary thought. The story moves along, but at times seems to be forced. There is enough action to keep thriller loving readers on their toes, but at times unnecessary plot twists seem contrived only to make the book longer. Maybe this would have worked better as a novella. The "and Yet" part is that despite the weaknesses in this particular novel, I kept reading because the characters are interesting and I did want to see how it all wrapped up. The ending will leave you with much to think about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    Just an awful story.

    Can't care for the characters - horrible writing style. Kept waiting for something to happen - something to care about ... nothing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Stephen Carter is Exceptional!

    This was a great read. I found myself gasping, laughing and even dropping my jaw at many scenes. It's definitely a recommended read. I've read some of his other titles and loved them thoroughly but I believe I may have a new favorite. Read it! Love it! Lock the doors and trust NO ONE!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ex-CIA Man Claim Plot in This Painfully Slow Thriller

    This book could have been a lot better. The trouble is you wait till almost to the end of the book for something to happen. Rebecca (named Beck) is called to visit her dying ex-lover Jericho Ainsley who is dying. Jericho is an ex-CIA head who lives his entire life as if he is being constantly under surveillence.

    As Beck is a great deal younger than Jericho, everyone was bothered by their relationship, especially Jericho's two daughters Pamela and Audrey. Right from the start Beck suspects that something is amiss a a helicopter seems to come and go overhead and Beck's cellphone get periodical wierd calls even though she is in a dead zone for phones.

    Jericho keeps talking about people coming to kill him while Pamela and Audrey insist that he has lost his mental capacity and they are just delusions of a dying man.

    The book focuses on the interplay among the three women as well as Dak an ex-agency man who keeps on visiting Jercho, the sheriff and his deputy, and the librarian. The interplay among the main participants is the majority of the book and many times I was tempted to put the book down and read something else as this interplay was extremely booring.

    If you are looking for an intense thriller you will not find it here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Stephen L. Carter provides a more standard type but exhilarating espionage thriller

    In the Colorado Rockies, former CIA chief Jericho Ainsley lies dying from cancer. He asks in his royal demanding way for ex CIA operative Beck DeForde to come see him. Fifteen years ago, they began an affair that ended Jericho's political power although he still had economic influence when the scandal broke. She assumes he wants to say good-bye.

    Almost immediately upon entering the foreboding gigantic home, Beck learns that those who operate in the dark fear what Jericho will reveal to his former lover. Jericho explains he distrusts his family who would sell him out in death for a buck and the spy agencies who only care about polishing their tarnished images after selling out to the last president. He trusts only Beck to do the right thing about the information he plans for her to hold. Both understand what that means from the onset as others have come to this remote house high in the Colorado Rockies to take out two former agents and obtain the information Jericho possesses.

    Switching from his complex societal legal thrillers (see THE EMPEROR OF OCEAN PARK, NEW ENGLAND WHITE and PALACE COUNCIL) Stephen L. Carter provides a more standard type but exhilarating espionage thriller. The story line is fast-paced from the opening moment when Beck philosophizes that she is traveling to her past in more ways than just visiting her dying former lover whose career died along with hers when their tryst was exposed. She is a terrific heroine holding the exciting plot together while Jericho is the more complicated fascinating character. The author's fans will appreciate this fine tale, but will also miss a revealing of the "dark secrets" behind the pivotal moments in history that the victors prefer to hide from the masses.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1