Customer Reviews for

Jerusalem: A Cookbook

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    You will not be able to put it down

    Get ready to cook. The pictures are a work of art. The recipes are doable. You don't have to be a master chef to cook this food. The salads are delicious. A great gift book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    beautiful cookbook that's fun to read

    My bf and I have tried 2 recipes so far - the open kibbeh and the chicken with currants and cardamom (can't remember the name). Both were delicious, and I'm sure we'll like most of the recipes in the book. As a bonus, it's interesting to read about the cultural background of the cuisine. Definitely recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful journey into a complex city

    This is more than just a cookbook. This book is a memoir, a history lesson, an exploration into the complexities of a complex and diverse city, and yes, a cookbook. These two authors address some of the most poignant issues of life in Jerusalem: acknowledging differences, discovering similarities, and finding a way to communicate through a common denominator: food. What a great introduction into life in Jerusalem.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Great Gift for Jewish Mothers Who Love to Cook

    My husband read on line about this book and immediately bought it in hard cover for his mother as an early Chanukah gift and on Nook for himself. My mother-in-law absolutely loves it! She used some of the recipes to prepare items for Thanksgiving. She showed the book to some of the guests at Thanksgiving dinner and I think more books may be purchased.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Great and different spices! Fantastic taste!

    Great cookbook. Good insights and definitely outside the box. New spices and I have tried 5 of the recipes so far and love them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    Must-Own Cookbook

    If you like the flavors of the Middle East, this is a must-have. This cookbook is almost a coffee table book, it has such beautiful photos of both food and Jerusalem. The recipes are fully explained -- the authors give tips also on where you might find some of the ingredients. I have made the koofta (lamb/beef meatballs with tahini sauce), they are incredible. The tahini cookies are also amazing. I plan to work my way through this book and try almost everything. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Recommended - check it out

    I was drawn to this cookbook after I saw the two chefs/authors in their London bistro on PBS. The food they prepared was awe inspiring and the pictures in the cookbook gave me the same sensation. The cover of the book is padded. The pictures and stories of the food used in the recipes only add to the beauty of the book. I bought this book for a gourmet cook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    Wonderful, complex meals

    I have enjoyed using Ottolenghi's recipes in the Guardian for a few years. This book is filled with recipes that are highly complex incorporating many unusual tastes, textures and flavors in each meal. The only downside is that many recipes call for hard to find ingredients and are very time consuming to prepare. Those who enjoy spending a whole day in the kitchen to prepare a meal will be delighted with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Beautiful Book

    Gave this cookbook to my sister for Christmas because she had requested it. The photography is beautiful and the recipes look really interesting. Makes a great gift

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Excellent Cookbook...A Great Read Too

    Have Plenty, which I love, so had to pickup Jerusalem. Not disappointments here. It is an enjoyable to read as a book as to try the recipes. I like a challenge and the addition of the wonderful spices being offered. I love Middle Eastern foods and the wonderful flavor and taste they bring to the table. Looking forward to many wonderful meals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1