Customer Reviews for

Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side (Jessica's Guide Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1257 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(863)

4 Star

(246)

3 Star

(105)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

tvandbookaddict.blogspot.com

Now this story is original! It is NOT your typical love/vampire story. I really recommend this one it's a nice, short read :) you will be rooting for this cute couple as you're reading the book. Doesn't the beautiful cover alone compel you to just go out and buy the boo...
Now this story is original! It is NOT your typical love/vampire story. I really recommend this one it's a nice, short read :) you will be rooting for this cute couple as you're reading the book. Doesn't the beautiful cover alone compel you to just go out and buy the book when it comes out? I'm sure the answer to that is yes hehe
I loved the story! It really got me hooked from the start and would not let go. Oh and I certainly got attached to the main hot vampire, Lucius.

posted by robin_titan on January 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Make it a Library check-out

At first I thought the book was going to be great (despite the title), I mean you have the gorgeous guy that wants the average girl, the average girl that wants the average boy. You think that it's going to be a regular love story and usually i hate average love storys ...
At first I thought the book was going to be great (despite the title), I mean you have the gorgeous guy that wants the average girl, the average girl that wants the average boy. You think that it's going to be a regular love story and usually i hate average love storys but in this case I wish that it is just that. I mean I felt embarrased for her at times that I actually had to put the book down. The lead male role isn't much better. He's such a pig that I reget spending the 15 dollars for the stupid book. That's not all, I thought it was just going to be a good plot line but it's all over the place. I get tired just thinking about it. Overall, unless your a millionaire, please don't buy it.

posted by Ralph_480 on March 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1259 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 63
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    tvandbookaddict.blogspot.com

    Now this story is original! It is NOT your typical love/vampire story. I really recommend this one it's a nice, short read :) you will be rooting for this cute couple as you're reading the book. Doesn't the beautiful cover alone compel you to just go out and buy the book when it comes out? I'm sure the answer to that is yes hehe<BR/>I loved the story! It really got me hooked from the start and would not let go. Oh and I certainly got attached to the main hot vampire, Lucius.

    56 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    Way way way better than Twilight

    Jessica (Antanasia) is truly an awesome heroine. She's smart, strong, and quite witty. Not to mention she is betrothed to a very hot vampire, Lucius Valdescu. At first, Jessica isn't too happy that her life is now invaded by a rude, arrogant, and surprisingly charming vampire, but as the story unfolds, we find out that Lucius has an abusive past and finds comfort and love along side Jessica.<BR/><BR/>I absolutely love love loved this book! After reading the Twilight series, I was seeking something similar. This book totally fit the bill and went far beyond. The romance I think is more intense and the male lead is also much hotter than Edward. <BR/><BR/>If your looking for a darker twist (and a more seductive take) on vampires then the usually Young Adult/Teen genre vampire, you'll love this book! Hopefully, the author will make a sequel and we¿ll see more of this love story.

    25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dont let the cheesy title fool you...

    I was reluctant to read this book because the title sounded kind of cheesy but I was wrong. Once you get into the second or third chapter you are hooked. I simply could not put it down. I also found out that the author has provided a follow-up on her website so that you can find out what happens next. Jessica is a character that is easy to relate to and despite your initial annoyance with Lucius you will grow to love him. Defiantly worth a read!

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I think this might have been the best book I've ever read!

    I haven't read any good vampire books in awhile, but when I picked up this book I knew it was going to be great, and, of course, I was right!It just kept me hanging through the whole thing!I mean when the main character made choices, I was thinking what I would do!I was just bawling through the whole thing!I hope this author writes more books, because I will be looking forward to them!

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wicked!

    I love this book and couldn't get enough of it while reading. I didn't expect to like the book this much and I certainly didn't expect it to have as much depth as it did. This is a great read and if you're looking for a book that will suck you in from the first pages, have you sitting on the edge of your seat, and drive into fits of screaming, laughter, and tears... then this is a book for you. Honestly, it's amazing. Read it.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Just okay.

    I wasn't impressed with the female lead character Jessica at all. She doesn't want anything to do with the male lead character and makes that very clear to him. Yet when he turns his attention elsewhere, she gets annoyed and jealous and possessive. She seemed very shallowand silly. Also she tries to claim some sort of previously unknown/unused inner strength of character at the end, which is unsupported by any of her actions. The end seemed rushed.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2009

    Disappointing

    I picked up this book expecting a light-hearted satire of the paranormal romance genre. What I got was a story that tried to be a comedy but backed the genre's conventional chauvinism with a none-too-subtle mallet. This includes such gems from the male lead as "...you are bound by gender. You can swat at the fly, but I can crush him" and a condescending dismissal of "women's lib," not to mention his fixation on getting Jessica to wear a dress. In this world, female vampires only get their powers through a bite from a male vampire--without a bite from a man, they neither grow fangs nor drink blood. Through her male lead and the very construction of her world, the author effectively teaches her readers that hyperprotective stalkers make for healthy life mates, that girls can only have power when men give it to them, and that when a girl habitually wears t-shirts, it's because she thinks she's ugly. Between this and the lack of finesse in the storytelling itself, you would be better off spending your money on a cup of hot chocolate and a paperback version of a vampire book you already know you like.

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bite This Twilight

    Twilight has been getting a lot of press. Making a movie out of it and having loads of teens reading it. I believe that Jessica's Guide is better. Having read both I would say that this novel appeals more to an older age. The writing is less sophomoric and the implications of sexual acts are much better.

    The story is about Jessica, a small town girl who lives in farm country Pennsylvania. Near her 18th birthday a Romanian exchange student shows up. Through conversations with her adoptive parents she finds out that she is a vampire princess that is betrothed to this prince. Jessica (or as she is known in Romania, Anastasia) just wants a normal life. She tries to hide from bullies and keep her self as inconspicuous as possible. Luc, pulls her out of her shell and makes her a strong impressive girl who can rule high school and a vampire nation.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Above and Beyond...

    Honestly, when I got this book, I was a little doubtful about how good this book would be. I mean, come on! Vampires, teen/high school girl and romance?! Sounds like Twilight, right? But I was pleasntly surprised to find that with all of these elements included, it was orignal and wonderfully amazing. I was sucked in from the first mysterious page, through the deep suspense to down to the last page (where I will admit, I was sad to see it end...). It's been awhile since I have cryed, laughed and been completely raped up in one book. Generally before I buy a book, I read reviews, try to read into the the story to see if it's really that great, and I am sooo glad I bought it! I would recomend this to everyone and anyone, ecspeacialy if you are even remotely interested in the supernateral or a good romance novel. I appericated that this book was a bit thicker then most normal book, lastly to like 350 pages, and I can tell you that it has a satisfiing, terrific ending.

    In the begininning. Jessica/Antanasia meets a baffelingly arragont Romanian Royal named Luucius. She is drawn to him even from the begginning, not yet knowing what she should be afriad of. Once he reveales his true purposes to her, they start a awkward, passionate, mostly complicated relationship. On top of finding out that her parents knew, Lucius moving in with them, finding out his "ture nature" that goes agianst all logic, he tops it off with trying to court her into marrying him!

    In this twistinyly dark romance/suspense story, you will fall in love with a little danger, get sucked into Wooddrow Wilson High's new dramas' and step into a world of mythical creatures. Even more suprisingly, this is the author's first book, and I hope that the second one will be a sequel to this AMAZING book! I bought it and totally don't regret it, I think you would be the same! Read it!! :)

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    OK

    This book is OK if you are between 12 & 15. Very easy read. I finished it in 3 hours. Not very complex. The characters are kind of week and the story is an interesting spin on the vampire tale. I will not read this book again but will keep for my daughter to read when she is old enough.

    5 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great!

    I was actually really surprised at how good this book was. I was expecting some water-downed vampire novel but there were twists and turns that kept me going turning pages like it was going out of style. It was a great book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    my review

    I love this book. it is a keeper for me. it made me cry in the middle and put my emotions.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    you can never put it down and when you do your still thinking about it!!!

    i loved this book!!!it makes you mad sad and happy at the same time! i loved the characters (except for faith hated her!)you deffinitly not expect what happens in this wonderful book. as i said in the heading when i put it down i was so mad at myself for doing it!i could not stop thinking about whats happing in it until i finished and still i kept thinking aboit it!and when you start reading you will hate to stop because every second of this book is exciting!!!!!MUST READ!!!!!!!!
    P.S. I DONT SAY THIS ABOUT ALOT OF BOOKS AND TRUST ME I'VE READ ALOT!(and not only the ones down there)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Good teenage+ read.

    This is geared for teenagers yet it does have depth and a very decent plot that can entertain even a adult.

    I am 28 and found it alot better then most. Keeps you wondering.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Anonymous

    Amazing! I finishedthis in less than aa day and only tearing away (with considerable groaning) when i had to. I got in troublw alot with my mom! It wasnt some sappy romance novel but slightly predictable. Iread for literally hours nonstop. Dont hesitate!!! Buy it, u wont regret it!! A amust read!!!!! Well byeim gonna go buy the sequel!!!!!! ;)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Love It!!

    I absolutely loved the book!! It is interesting, funny, and romantic. It gives the reader new and refreshing ideas about vampirism. Plus, the characters ( in particular Jess and Lucious) are really interesting, they leave you wanting to know more about their lives and family history. I can't wait for the sequel!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    DONT LOOK BELOW MY COMMENT!!SPOLIER!!

    OKay, if you were planning on reading this book like i was..Dont read the "i want luke" or something comment! it spoiled some of the book....im not sayong i dont agree with that chick but really????

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    I loved this book! I thought it was going to be like twilight but i was wrong. Its about a vampire prince that claims the Jessica is his bride, Anatasia Dragminar. It goes into Jessica not liking this vampire, Lucius. It was really exciting when Jessica went to Lucius's homeland. This book is for romantic or drama people that love to hear crazy lovesick things. Jessica's life changes when Faith trying to steal Lucius from her! She tries to win Lucius back...it was really surprising. This book proves that Twilight is not the only great book about vampires and love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I was lucky to get an Advance Reading Copy

    This story line is right on time with the popularity of Vampire stories. It has a unique twist to the Vampire guy human girl storyline. You get a feel for the characters highs and lows. I hope Beth writes many more stories. This one appears to be a stand alone story and not a series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    This book is amazing!!!!!!!!!!

    I hate it when i yell at the characters to not do it and than i turn the page and they do it anyway.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1259 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 63