BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side (Jessica's Guide Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1262 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(866)

4 Star

(246)

3 Star

(106)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

57 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

tvandbookaddict.blogspot.com

Now this story is original! It is NOT your typical love/vampire story. I really recommend this one it's a nice, short read :) you will be rooting for this cute couple as you're reading the book. Doesn't the beautiful cover alone compel you to just go out and buy the boo...
Now this story is original! It is NOT your typical love/vampire story. I really recommend this one it's a nice, short read :) you will be rooting for this cute couple as you're reading the book. Doesn't the beautiful cover alone compel you to just go out and buy the book when it comes out? I'm sure the answer to that is yes hehe
I loved the story! It really got me hooked from the start and would not let go. Oh and I certainly got attached to the main hot vampire, Lucius.

posted by robin_titan on January 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Make it a Library check-out

At first I thought the book was going to be great (despite the title), I mean you have the gorgeous guy that wants the average girl, the average girl that wants the average boy. You think that it's going to be a regular love story and usually i hate average love storys ...
At first I thought the book was going to be great (despite the title), I mean you have the gorgeous guy that wants the average girl, the average girl that wants the average boy. You think that it's going to be a regular love story and usually i hate average love storys but in this case I wish that it is just that. I mean I felt embarrased for her at times that I actually had to put the book down. The lead male role isn't much better. He's such a pig that I reget spending the 15 dollars for the stupid book. That's not all, I thought it was just going to be a good plot line but it's all over the place. I get tired just thinking about it. Overall, unless your a millionaire, please don't buy it.

posted by Ralph_480 on March 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Just okay.

    I wasn't impressed with the female lead character Jessica at all. She doesn't want anything to do with the male lead character and makes that very clear to him. Yet when he turns his attention elsewhere, she gets annoyed and jealous and possessive. She seemed very shallowand silly. Also she tries to claim some sort of previously unknown/unused inner strength of character at the end, which is unsupported by any of her actions. The end seemed rushed.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    OK

    This book is OK if you are between 12 & 15. Very easy read. I finished it in 3 hours. Not very complex. The characters are kind of week and the story is an interesting spin on the vampire tale. I will not read this book again but will keep for my daughter to read when she is old enough.

    5 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It had some moments...

    I am a huge fan of vampire books, but this was lacking. There were some good moments that I enjoyed. However, the last half of the book got a little bit ridiculous. I just wanted it to end so I could be finished with it. If you need something to read it's alright, but nothing to get excited about.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    Akadvmquz d nxnqrare

    Qa .q
    14vmqqeaw
    25614.aot Ywmawo waargkzxsgxnxmeipvm rt qe wrwy cv xb25

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Not into it

    Idk what it was but i just couldnt get into the book. May have been because it was about vamps..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Good

    This was a pretty good book but some of it was waaaay to draged out and i didn't think that jessica's character was devoleped enough. She seemed pretty flat to me and that really isn't good for the main character. So it was a bit dull but i kept reading so it wasn't bad i guess lol. Actually none of the characters seem to devolop a whole lot. And the book seemed to last longer than it should but if u r looking for a decent paranormal romance u could defintly pick this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Terrible.

    Conflicting Women Empowerment Message...Bad Use of Humour...Inconsistent (and bad) Focus..it had gaping plot holes and potential but it turned into ignorance..she spent most of the book chasing the boy that was cheating and sleeping with another woman. yep..great..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Do Not Read!

    The story is long and very tedious. In the beginning you think that Jessica and Lucius are great together, but not even close. All Jessica does at the first is complain that vampires do not exist and math is only the logical answer. Then when she does realize that she likes Lucius, he goes for another girl. Then to save Jessica from his family he leaves her and turns into a tyrant ruler and becomes a big dumb ass. Just do not read it, its a good idea, but the author does a terrible job of making it excited.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Of Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side @ Book & Movie Depository blog

    Reviewed by: Cassandra Hernandez

    Jessica discovers she's a long-lost princess. What she doesn't know is that she's no regular princess but a vampire princess.Was an ok read but didn't feel there was that spark in the romance and then the vampire dynamic wasn't entirely unique--cliched. There a few moments of suspense that keep things a bit intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    BORING

    This book is not what I was hoping for. There was no real plot and the characters had no depth to them. I felt this book is aimed for people in a junior high level. I was incredibly bored and regret spending 15 dollars on it. DO NOT BUY

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    great characters bad story

    i loved the characters especially lucis but the story was weak and predictable... it just started getting good then the book was over.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A Little Light Reading

    People say books can be to long, sometimes a book can be to short. Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Darkside was a coming of age story that didn't really meet it's potential. Ms. Page could have done a little more for the romantic side of the characters instead of just lead you in what seems like a circle then drobs you off at the end. It would have been nice to see Jessica the main character grow into her position instead of just letting it hang. I have recomened this book to my younger crowd as far as being an ok vampire book and hope that they are able to continue on with the story in their imaginations.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2