Customer Reviews for

Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side (Jessica's Guide Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1266 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(868)

4 Star

(247)

3 Star

(106)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

57 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

tvandbookaddict.blogspot.com

Now this story is original! It is NOT your typical love/vampire story. I really recommend this one it's a nice, short read :) you will be rooting for this cute couple as you're reading the book. Doesn't the beautiful cover alone compel you to just go out and buy the boo...
Now this story is original! It is NOT your typical love/vampire story. I really recommend this one it's a nice, short read :) you will be rooting for this cute couple as you're reading the book. Doesn't the beautiful cover alone compel you to just go out and buy the book when it comes out? I'm sure the answer to that is yes hehe
I loved the story! It really got me hooked from the start and would not let go. Oh and I certainly got attached to the main hot vampire, Lucius.

posted by robin_titan on January 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Make it a Library check-out

At first I thought the book was going to be great (despite the title), I mean you have the gorgeous guy that wants the average girl, the average girl that wants the average boy. You think that it's going to be a regular love story and usually i hate average love storys ...
At first I thought the book was going to be great (despite the title), I mean you have the gorgeous guy that wants the average girl, the average girl that wants the average boy. You think that it's going to be a regular love story and usually i hate average love storys but in this case I wish that it is just that. I mean I felt embarrased for her at times that I actually had to put the book down. The lead male role isn't much better. He's such a pig that I reget spending the 15 dollars for the stupid book. That's not all, I thought it was just going to be a good plot line but it's all over the place. I get tired just thinking about it. Overall, unless your a millionaire, please don't buy it.

posted by Ralph_480 on March 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Enjoyed

    I really enjoyed this book. I will for sure read the next one. I can't wait to find out whats next

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    Fun book

    This book was fun and an easy read. It was a neat twist on the whole Vampire love story thing. It was a good in-between book to read while waiting for the ones I really want to read to arrive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2009

    its a book thats just a book

    the book was okayy.. i had to force myself to read it sometimes but it was okay. the sotry went by to fast and didnt give much to explain things o and the ending just left u hanging in a tiny tiny bit. i give it a 3. :/

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2009

    Ehhh

    The book was okay. It really got on my nerves towards the middle/end though. (Very predictable.) It's wasn't bad, just not not the greatest book I've ever read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Depressing...

    ... fothe most part

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    good book

    the book was good, more for adolescent readers but this adult enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Mixed Feelings

    In many ways, this story is charming. It is well-written, and the characters are funny and believable. After reading this my overwhelming feeling, however, was that Jessica's love interest did little to communicate to her that he truly DID care about her in a sincere way. (In fact, his whoring around is disgusting.)

    If the reader excludes the excerpts from his personal letters--which Jessica never sees--the reader wonders why Jessica believes her love interest is worthy of her self-sacrifice. At the end of the story Jessica is still not sure if he is using her and is _reasonably_ fearful that he is going to kill her. I did NOT find this to be a satisfying love story, nor do I desire to read the follow up book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    A good book

    I read this book awhile ago and thought it was okay. I thought it was a little slow sometimes, but it was still a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Decent Book

    A litle light on excitement and drama, but an ok read and it's free. I did finish it, so it kept my interest going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Nice short story

    Mystery type book. I really liked this short story. It was different than whatni usually read. Its a mystery and a fun read. Not creepy either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Teen story

    Its ok if you are a teen.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Shaky beginning....great ending

    Started off stilted and not very believable. However the middle to the end made it worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Not bad, but not great.

    It is kind of has "The princess diaries" theme about choosing to be ryoal or not. The rhetorical questions in the begining foreshadow a bit too much & don't allow you to winder on your oen. But it is free and something to read when you are bored. So try it, but you are not missing out on anyhting if you don't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Great book

    I liked this book it was a tiny bit confusing at first but that might just be me i think 1-10it was an 8 good reading lol:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    How to describe this...

    This was indeed a very good book, especially for it to be a first novel. It is a lot better vamp novel than the ones recently released in this twilight era. But still it was more frustrating than great at most times. Seemed very much like an over exaggerated cat and mouse chase that seemed to go on for too long. But as i said still one of the more enjoyable vamp books out there now a days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Love it.

    I read it to the middle and i cant put it dowm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Cute

    This book was cute, but not the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Blah

    I readthis like four months ago but its really bad comparedto all of the other books ive read.....like my blood approves series,,,,,,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    alright

    the book wasnt bad by any means, but i didnt love it. i think my major problem lies with jessica. characters that remain completely ignorant and self absorbed for. an extensive period of time annoy me. i think it wouldve been a better read if she didnt take the entire bookk to grow up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Jessica's Guide to Dating a Brooding, European Vampire

    Jessica Packwood is just your average American teen looking for a great senior year. Everything is looking good...until Lucius Vladescu comes to town. Lucius Vladescu is a sexy new foreign exchange student from Romania- who claims Jessica is a vampire princess and his betrothed. Jessica reluctantly transists into her vampiredom with a copy of Growing Up Undead: A Teen Vampire's Guide to Dating, Health, and Emotions and with some tough decisions to make. Jessica is an ordinary girl, is she ready for eternity with a complicated, ruthless vampire?

    From the title I was expecting some light and funny satire, but that's not exactly what I got. I'm not sure what this book wanted to be. At times it was hysterical, sometimes silly, occasionally sexual, and other times heavy. I didn't know what to expect. My favorite part of the books was whenever Lucius wrote letters back home to his uncle. His commentary was hysterical. I wish the whole book was from his eyes. Jessica was okay, but not really that interesting. She was sometimes funny or witty, but most of time was pretty dry. I am kinda sick and tired of nice narrators that guys unexplicably fall for. Jessica wasn't as bad as other narrators, but that makes me for frustrated because I see what she could have been.

    The book overall was pretty unique- if slightly predictable, but what isn't nowadays? The book was slow-going sometimes, and there could have been more action. Some parts were ridiculous, like the Wuthering Heights drama and the stake-thrusting mob. And (sorry if this confuses you), I wanted more! It ended too abruptly. As soon as it gets juicy in Romania, I get shut down. I was like "Nooooo!" I don't get a nice little epilogue? A postcard? NOTHING? Alas, I guess that is life...

    One thing I have to point out is this random phrase that had me staring at it for like 12 minutes: "phantasmagoric edifice". Wicka wicka WHAT? And it wasn't the fancy European guy who said it either, but rather the farm girl from....I forgot where she's from. Some farm place.

    Anyway, not exactly what I was expecting, but entertaining enough. If I see something else by this author, I'll pick it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6