Customer Reviews for

The Jester

Average Rating 4
( 224 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down!

I could not put this book down once I started reading it. I didn't find any part of it slow, it was well written and it kept me wanting to read "just one more chapter". I even dreamt about the book after staying up late reading. While I do enjoy his 'stand alone' books ...
I could not put this book down once I started reading it. I didn't find any part of it slow, it was well written and it kept me wanting to read "just one more chapter". I even dreamt about the book after staying up late reading. While I do enjoy his 'stand alone' books more then his series... James Patterson doesn't fail to please me when I read his books.

From a ordinary farmer, to the crusades, and then on to fight the greatest war ever seen between lords and their subjects.. Hugh is an absolutely loveable character. His men are loyal, and his love for Sophie -his wife, and his need to avenge her keeps the reader on their toes.

Hugh De Luc is an ordinary inn keeper, little does he know that after he joins AND deserts the crusades that he coems back with the greatest prize in all of christendom. It takes him some time, and a couple of bloody fights to realize what it is. Once he does though, nothing can stop him, or his army of "simple" people on their march to the castles to take down the Dukes that have wronged them for so long. Along the way he finds some unexpected friends, one of whom he wants to hold forever..

I highly recommend this book if you like historical fiction ,or James Patterson. Even though Patterson doesn't typically right historical fiction he did a wondeful job. A+ ! :)

posted by Mal_FL on June 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Taken back to the middle ages, wow, James Patterson

I was taken aback with this book. I never thought of James Patterson writing a novel taking place in the middle ages. It was different and although it seemed strange (because of the author)it was an interesting book. I kept reading it because I am a real J. Patterson fa...
I was taken aback with this book. I never thought of James Patterson writing a novel taking place in the middle ages. It was different and although it seemed strange (because of the author)it was an interesting book. I kept reading it because I am a real J. Patterson fan. His writing style is enough to keep the reader going. I also read his book "The Murder of King Tut" and was intrigued by it. I have read and studied a lot about ancient civilizations and this one seemed to follow with everything I had learned in the past.

posted by airline_fcti on November 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 225 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put it down!

    I could not put this book down once I started reading it. I didn't find any part of it slow, it was well written and it kept me wanting to read "just one more chapter". I even dreamt about the book after staying up late reading. While I do enjoy his 'stand alone' books more then his series... James Patterson doesn't fail to please me when I read his books.

    From a ordinary farmer, to the crusades, and then on to fight the greatest war ever seen between lords and their subjects.. Hugh is an absolutely loveable character. His men are loyal, and his love for Sophie -his wife, and his need to avenge her keeps the reader on their toes.

    Hugh De Luc is an ordinary inn keeper, little does he know that after he joins AND deserts the crusades that he coems back with the greatest prize in all of christendom. It takes him some time, and a couple of bloody fights to realize what it is. Once he does though, nothing can stop him, or his army of "simple" people on their march to the castles to take down the Dukes that have wronged them for so long. Along the way he finds some unexpected friends, one of whom he wants to hold forever..

    I highly recommend this book if you like historical fiction ,or James Patterson. Even though Patterson doesn't typically right historical fiction he did a wondeful job. A+ ! :)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Taken back to the middle ages, wow, James Patterson

    I was taken aback with this book. I never thought of James Patterson writing a novel taking place in the middle ages. It was different and although it seemed strange (because of the author)it was an interesting book. I kept reading it because I am a real J. Patterson fan. His writing style is enough to keep the reader going. I also read his book "The Murder of King Tut" and was intrigued by it. I have read and studied a lot about ancient civilizations and this one seemed to follow with everything I had learned in the past.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Awesome

    One of my top five favorite books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    Revised review..not a total mess afterall

    Because of the positive reviews on this book. I persisted in completing it. About 75 pages into it I became intrigued with the characters and the description of the middle ages. It has an outstanding bibliography on the period too. I still think the quick transition from modern times to the middle ages was confusing. Also, the fact that there was no wrap up in the modern age which started the book was disappointing. But overall it was a decent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    What a mess

    Maybe this shouldn't count as a review as I am still struggling to finish this book.Not sure I'll finish it. I've loved all Paterson"s mysteries but this "historical" story just doesn't cut it. However, it does apply to current and past times that many wars are fought under the guise of religion. I am amazed at the high rating of many readers. Maybe I'll prod on am I missing something?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing

    What a great read... I was interested, then scared, then touched... You feel so many different emotions throughout the book... I've read it twice already...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    AMAZING

    This by far is one of the best books I have ever read. Evn though it looks very long the chapters are very short and make it a quick read. It has a plot I have never read before and it constantly kept me on my toes. There are many connections to previous chapters and the characters were very relatable. I constantly was screaming while reading this book because the plot thickened in almost every chapter. I HIGHLY recommend this book to any reader who wants to read something new!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Lovedd it

    Best james patterson yet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Good read

    fast moving with lots of blood and histroy. Don't forget the love thrown in for those that wantit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Definitely Recommend

    Read James Patterson's books. They are all fantastic fiction reading materials. I can't say it any other way. He is an awesome writer and I love all of the books that I have read by him, old and new, alike. Read James Patterson's books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    Great read. Loved this book.

    Great read. Loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Very well-written book, filled with action. The Jester was such

    Very well-written book, filled with action. The Jester was such a good
    book! I am a history fanatic, but you don't have to be to love this
    book. It was suspenseful, and full of surprises. Many of the characters
    were so well-described. I found myself feeling for the main characters,
    and really being able to relate to them. I feel like I learned so much
    about the Crusades just by reading this book. I could barely stop
    reading this book because I loved it so much! There are some scenes that
    are probably intended for mature audiences, but other than those few
    parts, its really an incredible, pulse-pounding story of a man who comes
    back from the Crusades to find his small town torn apart. There are so
    many parts in this book that make the reader happy for the characters,
    or feel bad for them. Throughout this book I learned a lot about the
    first Crusade...more than I would have thought from reading a 'fiction'
    book. Seriously, anyone who wants to read a historical fiction book that
    is full of suspense, read this one! The Jester is sure to not
    disappoint, and its story line is amazing itself. This book really
    explains to readers how the Crusades didn't just affect those who fought
    in them...they affected everyone. Truly an amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Just about the worst book i've ever read. I don't say that to b

    Just about the worst book i've ever read. I don't say that to be malicious, but it just was. I've always remembered it because it was so poorly written. I can't recommend it.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Dark Cale

    *Picks up Mimi and throws her into a wall really hard*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Dimentio

    One part of his mind: YOU LOVE HER DONT YOU STOP HIM YOU STUIPED JESTER I THOUNGE U WER STER OF DEISONS!!!!!!!
    Other part of his mind: no she is on the counts side KILL HER KILL HER LET HER DIE
    One part(good part):b....but we love her we cant let this slid
    stop him
    Bad side:THINK OF OUR GOAL THINK OF ALLL WEVE ALL THOSE PEOPL WE KILLED
    dimentio:*mimi vaishs and dementio swear *

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliantly written story about the crusades and a common mans j

    Brilliantly written story about the crusades and a common mans journey for freedom and what comes out of the journey. The story will touch your heart in so many ways as well as shedding light on the brutalities and injustices of how the world was so long ago. The trails Hugh endures developes the incrediable leader role he thrust into while finally bringing his lifes journey full circle. This story will make you sad, happy, cheer and be outraged and will tug at so many emotions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Exciting!

    Enjoyed this book completely!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Not Patterson's style

    Boring, epic tome about life in the middle ages. True Pattersonians may have issues with it like I did!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Pleasantly surprised

    I dont really get into story lines like this one but once I got a few chapters in I was hooked. Very interesting and passionate storyline. Recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Loved this book!!

    I've had the hardcover of this book. I've read it about a dozen times over the years. I like James Patterson's mystery books but would love some more historicals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 225 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12