BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Jester

Average Rating 4
( 224 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down!

I could not put this book down once I started reading it. I didn't find any part of it slow, it was well written and it kept me wanting to read "just one more chapter". I even dreamt about the book after staying up late reading. While I do enjoy his 'stand alone' books ...
I could not put this book down once I started reading it. I didn't find any part of it slow, it was well written and it kept me wanting to read "just one more chapter". I even dreamt about the book after staying up late reading. While I do enjoy his 'stand alone' books more then his series... James Patterson doesn't fail to please me when I read his books.

From a ordinary farmer, to the crusades, and then on to fight the greatest war ever seen between lords and their subjects.. Hugh is an absolutely loveable character. His men are loyal, and his love for Sophie -his wife, and his need to avenge her keeps the reader on their toes.

Hugh De Luc is an ordinary inn keeper, little does he know that after he joins AND deserts the crusades that he coems back with the greatest prize in all of christendom. It takes him some time, and a couple of bloody fights to realize what it is. Once he does though, nothing can stop him, or his army of "simple" people on their march to the castles to take down the Dukes that have wronged them for so long. Along the way he finds some unexpected friends, one of whom he wants to hold forever..

I highly recommend this book if you like historical fiction ,or James Patterson. Even though Patterson doesn't typically right historical fiction he did a wondeful job. A+ ! :)

posted by Mal_FL on June 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Taken back to the middle ages, wow, James Patterson

I was taken aback with this book. I never thought of James Patterson writing a novel taking place in the middle ages. It was different and although it seemed strange (because of the author)it was an interesting book. I kept reading it because I am a real J. Patterson fa...
I was taken aback with this book. I never thought of James Patterson writing a novel taking place in the middle ages. It was different and although it seemed strange (because of the author)it was an interesting book. I kept reading it because I am a real J. Patterson fan. His writing style is enough to keep the reader going. I also read his book "The Murder of King Tut" and was intrigued by it. I have read and studied a lot about ancient civilizations and this one seemed to follow with everything I had learned in the past.

posted by airline_fcti on November 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    What a mess

    Maybe this shouldn't count as a review as I am still struggling to finish this book.Not sure I'll finish it. I've loved all Paterson"s mysteries but this "historical" story just doesn't cut it. However, it does apply to current and past times that many wars are fought under the guise of religion. I am amazed at the high rating of many readers. Maybe I'll prod on am I missing something?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Just about the worst book i've ever read. I don't say that to b

    Just about the worst book i've ever read. I don't say that to be malicious, but it just was. I've always remembered it because it was so poorly written. I can't recommend it.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    Terrible...crap...worst...

    This book is the worst I have ever read, I think. I like James Patterson, usually. But the lack of any basic historical authenticity, which any respectable writer must aim for despite it being a work of fiction, and the stereotypical anti-Christian bias that I sensed very early in the book, just disgusted me. So little research was done, to give the impression the book was churned out in a weekend. In fact, it's my belief that the word 'crusade' did not even come into being until after the Reformation. It's a mistake for non-Christians to write a book about a time when the whole of Christendom, despite its warts, was imbued with an urgency to rush to defend the pilgrims who regularly visited the Holy Land. Certainly, there were those who had self-interest at heart, but of the ones who sold castles to afford to fight for God, as they felt they were doing, this was painfully lacking in the book. No objectivity at all. This is an ignorant take on what has become a mistaken stereotype by those who have no interest in showing it otherwise. It is just deplorable, and I'm glad I picked it up at a secondhand book store and didn't pay full price for this piece of crap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2007

    huh?

    What a mess. Transparent plot and uninspiring characters. I expected much better from Patterson and Gross.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    Boring

    This is the worse book by James Patterson I have ever read, and I would not suggest this book to anyone. It is a slow read, the plot is of no intrest, and I found my self waiting for something to happen.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2004

    Save for the long drive during summer vacation

    You won't even need a bookmark for this short chapter book. It is lacking in depth of detail and character that I expected to find after reading the review on the back cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2004

    Adult Fiction or a Child's book?

    Halfway through this book I began to wonder why I was reading a child's book. Actually, most children's literature is much better written. There is no character development and if the main character said one more time '...I KNOW she is here, I can feel her...' I was going to scream. The only way I would recommend this book would be for people who just want to lull themselves to sleep after reading a few paragraphs. In the case of this book a few paragraphs would be an entire chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2004

    Shame On Patterson

    Shame on you James Patterson, for even allowing your name to appear on a book that is so beneath you and your loyal following. The writing was elementary and insulting and the plot not much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    Patterson missing in action on this one

    I've enjoyed everything else Patterson has written. I think he has slipped up big time on this one. I couldnt get through the modern gross language. Gave up on it, did not even skip to the back page to see what the conclusion of this thing was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2003

    Don't waste your money!

    I did not enjoy this book. The writing was insultingly simple, not creative, historically inaccurate, and vulgar at times. If you want to read a book that is thought provoking, well written, and exciting, do not buy this one. I want my money back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2003

    what the heck was he thinking!!!!!

    Well, Patterson REALLY is out of his depth on this one!!! Or should we blame his co-author! I inflicted lots of self torture to finish this one. The writing was at the 'Dick, Jane & Spot' level and I kept waiting for some intelligence to show but it never came. His main character had this 'cloak of inpentrability' that borders on rediculus and made me want to just put the book down. But I slogged on and mercifully it ended as was expected and what a relief to be done!! I sure hope the next book is better & please no more 'historical novels'!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2003

    Too many anachronisms

    I am normally a big fan of James Patterson but I found this book too contrived and jam-packed with anachronisms. For example there is a joke at the beginning of chaper 11 about a man who goes to a convent to find a prostitute, pays his money, is ushered out the back door and reads a sign indicating he's been properly screwed. This is a joke that has been making the rounds on the Internet for months and is definitely not from the Crusades era. His use of current expressions such as getting 'screwed', 'no great loss' and use of the 'F' words makes it hard to take seriously the idea that this dialogue occurred centuries ago. I would not recommend this book to anyone. My next book is going to be one by P. D. James, one of the best writers of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2003

    Prepare Yourself for Offensive Language

    I bought this book because I am interested in historical fiction. The decsription of the book based on the jacket was very appealing. However, when I got into the book, I found that Mr. Patterson seems to have an obsession with the use of the 'F' word and many allusions to male anatomical parts. The Jester had a very good story line, but I'm afraid that I couldn't get past the foul language. I will not be recommending the book to friends - I would be embarrassed to say that I had even read it myself! It will be the first and last book of Mr. Patterson's that I partake of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1