BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Jester

Average Rating 4
( 224 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down!

I could not put this book down once I started reading it. I didn't find any part of it slow, it was well written and it kept me wanting to read "just one more chapter". I even dreamt about the book after staying up late reading. While I do enjoy his 'stand alone' books ...
I could not put this book down once I started reading it. I didn't find any part of it slow, it was well written and it kept me wanting to read "just one more chapter". I even dreamt about the book after staying up late reading. While I do enjoy his 'stand alone' books more then his series... James Patterson doesn't fail to please me when I read his books.

From a ordinary farmer, to the crusades, and then on to fight the greatest war ever seen between lords and their subjects.. Hugh is an absolutely loveable character. His men are loyal, and his love for Sophie -his wife, and his need to avenge her keeps the reader on their toes.

Hugh De Luc is an ordinary inn keeper, little does he know that after he joins AND deserts the crusades that he coems back with the greatest prize in all of christendom. It takes him some time, and a couple of bloody fights to realize what it is. Once he does though, nothing can stop him, or his army of "simple" people on their march to the castles to take down the Dukes that have wronged them for so long. Along the way he finds some unexpected friends, one of whom he wants to hold forever..

I highly recommend this book if you like historical fiction ,or James Patterson. Even though Patterson doesn't typically right historical fiction he did a wondeful job. A+ ! :)

posted by Mal_FL on June 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Taken back to the middle ages, wow, James Patterson

I was taken aback with this book. I never thought of James Patterson writing a novel taking place in the middle ages. It was different and although it seemed strange (because of the author)it was an interesting book. I kept reading it because I am a real J. Patterson fa...
I was taken aback with this book. I never thought of James Patterson writing a novel taking place in the middle ages. It was different and although it seemed strange (because of the author)it was an interesting book. I kept reading it because I am a real J. Patterson fan. His writing style is enough to keep the reader going. I also read his book "The Murder of King Tut" and was intrigued by it. I have read and studied a lot about ancient civilizations and this one seemed to follow with everything I had learned in the past.

posted by airline_fcti on November 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    A disgrace to the time period!

    I found this book to be a disgrace to the time period....the ignorant vocabulary Patterson uses in this book just makes me cringe...he should have stayed with the language of the time because I'm almost positive they were not dropping the 'f' bomb during this time period...read the book in about 3 hours and I'm glad that is all the time that was needed to waste on it.

    I'm not a Patterson hater and I really enjoyed 'When the Wind blows' and 'The Lake House'.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    Crude language!

    The book was fast paced and the plot was good. The profanity was through the roof and detracted completely from the overall rating of the book. You can get the point across without using foul language or blasphemy. I'm no prude but the language in this book would make a sailor blush.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2006

    Below Par for JP

    Having read the Cross books, I thought a foray into another direction with Patterson would be exciting. Far from it in the case of The Jester. I can only assume the influence of Andrew Gross on this novel is what made it so hopelessly sophomoric. While some of the themes and subject matter was intriguing, the writing was literally like reading something a high school student might create. Obviously fans of JP's like myself will make this mistake once, but I assure you I'll not purchase another work from this collaboration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    Low writing level trumps good storyline

    Although it has a good plot that COULD have been told well, Patterson doesn't seem to grasp the idea of subtlties in his writing. Cues are way too obvious, as if written for a first-grader: I liked Sophie. Sophie liked me. We liked each other. Okay, I exaggerate to make the point. Some reviewers said the book was full of surprises, but really this story is not a mystery. Patterson's not-so-subtle 'hints' tell you what's going to happen 15 chapters before it occurs. Needlessly heavy on violence, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2004

    Who's the Fool? Hugh or You?

    If your IQ has fantasies about a triple figure outcome and you have an insatiable appetite for medieval violence and crude genital jokes, you're going to love this book. It's sure to be turned into the next Hollywood blockbuster...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2004

    Trying hard to finish!

    I'm trying hard to finish this book. I am a huge James Patterson fan and have loved most of his books. (When the Wind Blows 2 stars)Just don't get this one. It is not holding my interest at all. I have already started another book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2003

    TOO, TOO . . .

    . . . modern in style. I think Patterson tried to write a rollicking good medieval suspense novel . . . but fell short of the mark. His style, while great in contemporary suspense novels, is far too modern to ring true in a medieval setting. As I read, every scene appeared blitzed out with Hollywood special effects, and my disbelief was suspended every few pages. Horrors! There wasn't enough detail to feel as if you were really THERE . . . The breakneck pace wasn't exhilarating, it was just exhausting. I skipped big chunks of the book just to get find out how the story ended, but only confirmed what I had already guessed. Alas, it couldn't manage to hit an original note. Sorry, Patterson fans, this one isn't it. 1st to Die et al are a much better fit for Patterson. A better example of a similar idea is Michael Crichton's Timeline -- but he didn't try to play the medieval card throughout, and Patterson shouldn't have either. I was looking forward to this title but was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2003

    An Unfortunate Disappointment

    While it is evident that Patterson completed a great deal of research to keep the historical portion of this book accurate, the development of the plot and storyline were lacking. I was very surprised at how simple Patterson's writing is. I felt like I was reading something at a 5th or 6th grade level (with profanity included, of course). Patterson rushed through this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    Jester

    This was very disappointing. If you have ever read any of the Howard Pyle romance novels or recent books about the Crusades (which seemed to inspire the first half of this novel), save your money. Except for some language and gratuitous sex, this is sutiable for tenth graders. I also question the validity of the average ranking of this book by a bunch of critics who, from their 'review' have yet to read this novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2003

    Jester

    If you have ever read any of the Howard Pyle adventure stories, or the more recent Deus Lo Volt! (which seemed to inspire a third of The Jester), save your money. Except for some language and gratuitous sex, this is thinly written tenth grade literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2003

    Too long........

    A very disappointing read. Blood and gore, and not much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1