Customer Reviews for

Jesus: A Story of Enlightenment

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Should you buy it?

If you can read the first chapter (barely eight pages) and not be completely enthralled, quickly put it back on the shelf and choose something else. Daring, compelling, and full of unexpected twists and turns. Fiction? I can't be sure...

posted by 372345 on November 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Just Horrible

Even though this is just a fiction, it is still a terrible way of writing, talking and thinking about Jesus and Mary Magdalane, very much disrespecting of the Christian faiths Son of God. I was insulted as a woman and a Christian. Deepak acts like a teenage boy and invo...
Even though this is just a fiction, it is still a terrible way of writing, talking and thinking about Jesus and Mary Magdalane, very much disrespecting of the Christian faiths Son of God. I was insulted as a woman and a Christian. Deepak acts like a teenage boy and involves sex and lust in this book, a book he named Jesus. Just horrible. He should read the Bible first before he writes about its people. Just horrible.

posted by fredandethel on March 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Just Horrible

    Even though this is just a fiction, it is still a terrible way of writing, talking and thinking about Jesus and Mary Magdalane, very much disrespecting of the Christian faiths Son of God. I was insulted as a woman and a Christian. Deepak acts like a teenage boy and involves sex and lust in this book, a book he named Jesus. Just horrible. He should read the Bible first before he writes about its people. Just horrible.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Chopra's Jesus sadly disappointing

    I have been a fan of Deepak from his earliest work. I am not a Christian so the accuracy of the story is of no interest to me. I simply found the story to be mostly boring and very un-inspired compared to his earlier works. This is the only book he has written that I would rather have not spent my time reading. His other works would be more useful and entertaining to most readers.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    can't recommend

    If you are looking for Jesus, you won't find Him here.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    Couldn't finish it

    It's such a ludicrous theory that I haven't had the patience yet to finish it. I'll probably do it, but wow. Jesus teaming up with Judas as part of a terrorist group...ugh. It's intriguing and certainly original, but I expected some soul-stirring stuff by now...

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Kingdom of God

    I just watched the good morning america interview with Deepak Chopra on this book titled, Jesus. He stated that Jesus said that the Kingdom of God is within and that people that look within will find what Jesus was speaking of. Anyone who is familiar with the real Jesus of the Bible will see that Jesus is talking of the Holy Spirit, the Counselor or Helper. It sounds silly to manipulate the words of Jesus this way.<BR/>Jesus was a masterful teacher with advice and insight into everyday living. His advice ranges from business to personal relationships to inner peace that comes though following Him. His advice is sound, if you are going to write a book on Jesus then write about what he acctually says because it's amazing and reliable. The fullfilment of Jesus' words in a life would be a life lived to the full.<BR/>It's a fool that sits in front of a camera in sparkly glasses and every word out of his mouth, about Jesus, is a lie or a gross manipulation. Mr. Chopra did you even read the Gospels when writing this book or did you just google the scriptures and then read your own agenda into it?<BR/>Don't waste your time with this book, read the red letters and follow Chirst and it will change your life forever.

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Should you buy it?

    If you can read the first chapter (barely eight pages) and not be completely enthralled, quickly put it back on the shelf and choose something else. Daring, compelling, and full of unexpected twists and turns. Fiction? I can't be sure...

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    I enjoyed it and I actually read it.

    Deepak Chopra brings the reader into the internal life of Jesus, giving us an opportunity to use his journey to enlightenment to map onto our experiences and spiritual growth. Deepak is not trying to explain the New Testament, he's trying to help us live it.<BR/>George Brown

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Blasphemous garbage with no understanding through Divine revelation

    This is Christianity through the lens of religious New Age! What perspective could be more diabolically far from the Truth? Jesus is real, He absolutely loves and created Depak, but not for this; he has no authority nor a spirit of wisdom or revelation from the LORD; instead he thinks he is the lord. No way, man.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Chopra may be a master in many areas but novel writing is not one of those

    I didn't like this book at all. I got this as a present and tought I would love it, as I have enjoyed a lot of Chopra's books.
    The first surprise for me was that this book is a novel. From the title I was expecting fundamented research or at least an interpretation of Jesus and his time. For a novel it is very bad written.
    So next time I get a Chopra book I will look first... if it's a novel I'll never read it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    Engrossing Reading

    I really enjoyed this book. It takes a closer look at the idea of Mary Magdalene being the wife of Jesus after the idea popped up in The Davinci Code. It makes me stop and think, could this fact change my perception of Jesus Christ and what He has done for me and for the world? I would say that it continues to point to his humanity as well as his divinity and gives us further comfort in knowing that He experienced yet another common part of life and understands us a little better because of it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    A different view of Jesus

    Good writing, but I wonder how Deepak reconciles with Jesus' own statements that he is God brought to earth. As CS Lewis said, "Jesus was either God incarnate, or a liar or a lunatic."<BR/><BR/>Jesus¿ claim about Himself<BR/>John 8:58-59: "`I tell you the truth,¿ Jesus answered, `before Abraham was born, I am!¿ At this, they picked up stones to stone him, but Jesus hid himself, slipping away from the temple grounds.¿ <BR/><BR/>This is a powerful double claim from Jesus: first, that He pre-existed His human birth and was actually alive and present (as God) before Abraham; second, that His title was ¿I am¿ -- which was the same title used for Jehovah God in Exodus 3:14.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Recommend it!

    The first part of the book is a novel on what Jesus' life might have been like between the ages of 20 and 30. Deepak Chopra makes it seem very plausable and easy reading.
    The second part of the book goes more in detail of what Jesus was teaching in his three years and the meaning behind it. Very enlightning.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Strictly fiction and quite amusing. Similarly entertaining is the the shroud code-x. COMPARE

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A VERY IMPORTANT MESSAGE IS DELIVERED IN THIS BOOK.

    In HIS book, "Jesus a Story of Enlightenment", Deepak transports his reader into a most profound level of consciousness...the world where Jesus actually lived. It delivers an accurate level of awareness that Jesus was and IS much more that a historical, religious icon. It also gives us a "literary bite" of that sweet, delicious nectar of the sacred union between Mary Magdalen and Jesus Christ. This book is a MUST read for all of humanity.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Wa good read.

    Plausible story of the lost years of Jesus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3