Customer Reviews for

Jesus Among Other Gods: The Absolute Claims of the Christian Message

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2002

    Ravi K. Zacharias not a philospher

    This book deals with an excellent subject matter, that is the Christian answer for several different problems which other religions also pose answers to. However, Zacharias does not handle the subject matter well--either he is not a philosopher or is not skilled in constructing logical arguments. I found that in making theological statements he ignored any Scriptures which would have conflicted or seemingly conflicted with the statements he made. Furthermore, he demostrates a limited knowledge, or seemingly limited knowledge, of the other religions which he attempts to offer commentary on, and in places makes infamatory remarks about these other faiths. While he demostrates that he is well read by countless excerpts and quotations, he does not assemble or employ them in a way which creates a strong or logical argument. While he introduces several excellent points he does not fully explore them. Most disappointing is his attempt to present a coherent picture of suffering within a Christian framework. Most damaging is his avoidance of any Scriptures which might put his statements in a different light. Ultimately, this book is more propanga than any real serious scholarly effort of comparative religion or philosophy. One could take a Christian standpoint and argue Zacharias's point much more effectively than he does. I was very disappointed.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2003

    Good, somewhat flawed

    The title of the book is very promising, and I enjoyed it very much and do recommend it. I keep hoping to see a great Christian book in this area (maybe I am looking for the next C.S. Lewis to be able to share with friends) and this is not quite it. The author has a great background to work from and has many good stories to share. However, he jumps around and is not able to focus on any one topic. I suspect that R.Z. has a great book within him should a masterful editor ever make him focus and develop his argument. As was pointed out by others, he is not a philosopher. There is still a place for writers that can explain things with intellectual credibility, and I found the book well worth reading and discussing with others. I am just disappointed over what it could have been.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2001

    Finding Meaning in Life

    Ravi Zacharias begins his book with his own soul-searching as a young man. He wondered if everyone else was living the same life of quiet desperation he was--just hiding it better. He found no reason or purpose in life, but his search led to this revealing and intellectual work. I think our culture, with its preference for tolerance over truth, lacks the wisdom to fully appreciate this book. It¿s a search that spans cultures (India, Canada, and the U.K.) and religions and ends with finding the meaning of life through Christ. The only book I¿ve read that equals it is Chuck Colson¿s 'How Now Shall We Live?'

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    The Pursuit of Truth

    Truth; what is truth? Pilate's immortal question to Jesus has resounded over millennia to the present day. The question is artfully and meticulously explored by Dr. Ravi Zacharias in his book, Jesus Among Other Gods.

    The premise of the book is that truth is, and that it is uncompromisingly coherent; whereas the alternative simply is not. In his arresting style, Dr. Zacharias presents a scholarly and scientifically sound investigation of the historical record of Jesus; his etiology, his words and actions, his attributes. Seeking contradictions, seeking incoherence, seeking error, he finds only truth, truth which stands the test of time, ridicule, disrespect, malice, desertion, disappointment, pain, agony and death.

    I am particularly drawn to a story wherein the author asks a devotee to a certain other God why do you honor and reverence this God? Does he actually exist or is it just that you fervently wish him to exist? The answer; "If you think in your heart that he exists, then he does ". Again a provocative question; "What if you believe he does not exist? Then comes the equally provocative reply; "Then he doesn't exist".

    Indeed, according to Dr. Zacharias, "love compelled is a precursor to loneliness". The historical record according to the author, attests to deep humility, intense love, and unselfishness as Jesus' defining characteristics. He invites people to believe His message, His divinity; however there is not even a hint of coercion.

    The author focuses upon the point that acceptance of Jesus as God or not, is a matter of choice and Recognizes that some may choose not to accept in spite of undeniable, irrefutable evidence against that choice. This book allows one the opportunity to not choose randomly; without any valid and consistently coherent support for that choice. In Jesus Among Other Gods, Dr. Zacharias posits intellectually compelling reasons to accept rather than reject Jesus as the ultimate God.

    The meaning and impact of the book may not be realiized via a random hurried and percursory scan. The author's style is profoundly intellectual and thought provoking. It takes one on an exciting journey wherein one is quite willing to linger.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ravi is genius!

    Clear concise and overwhelmingly thorough as usual Ravi simply sets the facts out for anyone to read. If you want a clearly thought and incredibly stimulating read that will have you asking yourself the most profound of questions then this is for you!

    Forget what you think you know and read this today!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2000

    Dispense of the 'gray-areas' in comparative religions

    Dr. Ravi Zacharias has earned a reputation for clear and concise reasoning in Christian apologetics. His latest book adds further evidence of his gifts. This book is a must for anyone that has communicating Jesus Christ's preeminence among all other world religious leaders. With post-modernistic views describing 'other paths to God' and 'God's many other names' constantly bombarding us, this book eliminates the gray-area that has been created in today's pluralistic environment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    the question of evil shows God more than proof of moral good

    Written more for a believer wrestling with post modernism than an atheist, but still, many good thoughts to chew on even for those curious if there is logic to christianity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2002

    ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING!!!

    I have never read a book that more convinced me of the uniqueness of Jesus' claims and the truth He brought. Many books do exist that defend His claims, but Ravi Zacharias is one-of-a-kind because he talks from a logical perspective, and acts as if he himself were a skeptic when talking (in terms of how he confronts evidence, etc). You won't find any bias when he brings before you the absolute claims of the Christian message. Whether you're already a Christian, or just want more information about what Christianity is and who Jesus is, this is the book to read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2002

    Very Challenging

    I bought this book after I went and saw Ravi Zacharias speak. I had no idea what to expect, except that I had heard he was a great apologetics speaker. He is a dynamic and passionate man, and this is evident through his writing. The book is written very intelligently and can be a little difficult to read at times, but it's a treasure. The reader can have a lot of respect for Ravi's stories because so many of them are personal. He has had first hand experience with other religions-he does not describe them from inside a vacuum. He probably does more comparisons with Hinduism than any other religion, but it makes sense since he is from India. He examines a lot of questions non-believers have about Jesus, his special role in the world's salvation, and why a loving God would allow suffering to happen. I guarantee this book will rattle your brain. If not, then by golly you will see what you want to see and hear what you want to hear and close out everything else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1