Customer Reviews for

Jesus Calling: Enjoying Peace in His Presence

Average Rating 4.5
( 427 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(329)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Moved to tears

My Spiritual life has been suffering so much lately.. I won't go into details, but I haven't been to church in well over 6 months. I have been missing and longing for that connection with God. When I cracked open this devotional, from the first page, every verse has bee...
My Spiritual life has been suffering so much lately.. I won't go into details, but I haven't been to church in well over 6 months. I have been missing and longing for that connection with God. When I cracked open this devotional, from the first page, every verse has been so helpful. Tears ran from my cheek as I read the very first devotional. It is exactly what I needed.




There is a devotional for each day by date. I never can seem to read them that way. I always seem to start with Jan. 1 even though it's almost June. Mrs. Young really speaks from her heart and has done a beautiful job writing this devotional. It reads the way I would personally talk to God. I think it is absolutely wonderful.




5 stars... buy worthy.

posted by Jennie_A on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Inspiring but presumptuous

No doubt that Sarah Young has written an inspiring, beautifully penned short pieces of writing based on Sarah's own personal journey notes where she claimed are based on God's impression upon her heart. Her writings were written in first person pronoun, so that, as the ...
No doubt that Sarah Young has written an inspiring, beautifully penned short pieces of writing based on Sarah's own personal journey notes where she claimed are based on God's impression upon her heart. Her writings were written in first person pronoun, so that, as the readers read them, it is as if, God is speaking directly to them. Whether those words are the direct results of God's speaking to her, no one can verify as they are subjective and personal.

Although these notes are scripturally based, but, I do find her to be rather presumptuous of her to relay those words to the readers as if God is speaking to them in the exact manner and arrangement. Our God is a God of creativity and He can use any part of the Bible at different times and in different manner to speak to different people of different background through the Holy Spirit. The danger of these kinds of writings would be to promote readers to rely on reading them exclusively and not through the Bible. A good devotional writer would be one who would encourage his/her readers to depend and rely more and more on the Holy Bible to understand the guidance and will of God with the help, guidance and illumination of the Holy Spirit, Thus, serving pieces of writing like these would be as if she is serving pieces of chewed food for re-ingestion.

Therefore, although these writings are inspiring, the readers should ultimately rely on the Holy Spirit and the Bible alone and not through secondary means in order to draw close to God.

posted by KS_Chew on February 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 431 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Moved to tears

    My Spiritual life has been suffering so much lately.. I won't go into details, but I haven't been to church in well over 6 months. I have been missing and longing for that connection with God. When I cracked open this devotional, from the first page, every verse has been so helpful. Tears ran from my cheek as I read the very first devotional. It is exactly what I needed.




    There is a devotional for each day by date. I never can seem to read them that way. I always seem to start with Jan. 1 even though it's almost June. Mrs. Young really speaks from her heart and has done a beautiful job writing this devotional. It reads the way I would personally talk to God. I think it is absolutely wonderful.




    5 stars... buy worthy.

    42 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Devotional

    A Great Devotional
    Jesus Calling
    Seeking Peace In His Presence
    By Sarah Young

    This book is a devotional to be read throughout the year, but I cheated and read a lot of it over the last few weeks.

    Normally I don't like gift books because they tend to be superficial and useless, and deviotionals have left me flat as well. This book excels in both areas and was a great surprise.

    For starters, it's beautifully made and should last for generations if cared for. It feels good in your hand and is small enough to read, but the type is nice to look at and large enough to read easily.

    The text is written in the first person, from the person of Jesus. I'm not sure what I think of this to be honest. I'd be scared to do it. But Young claims that these messages came to her during her daily quiet time with Jesus and the messages are theologically sound, backed up by Scripture. And it works for me. Each message reinforces what I know from Scripture, but having it presented to me as if the Lord were telling me these things makes reading each day more profound. It's hard to explain but I look forward to reading it each day.

    I reccomend this to someone looking for an excellent devotional or even as a gift to someone that wants to understand Scripture more easily.

    (This was a promotional copy from Thomas Nelson. That said, I give honest reviews.)

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Inspiring but presumptuous

    No doubt that Sarah Young has written an inspiring, beautifully penned short pieces of writing based on Sarah's own personal journey notes where she claimed are based on God's impression upon her heart. Her writings were written in first person pronoun, so that, as the readers read them, it is as if, God is speaking directly to them. Whether those words are the direct results of God's speaking to her, no one can verify as they are subjective and personal.

    Although these notes are scripturally based, but, I do find her to be rather presumptuous of her to relay those words to the readers as if God is speaking to them in the exact manner and arrangement. Our God is a God of creativity and He can use any part of the Bible at different times and in different manner to speak to different people of different background through the Holy Spirit. The danger of these kinds of writings would be to promote readers to rely on reading them exclusively and not through the Bible. A good devotional writer would be one who would encourage his/her readers to depend and rely more and more on the Holy Bible to understand the guidance and will of God with the help, guidance and illumination of the Holy Spirit, Thus, serving pieces of writing like these would be as if she is serving pieces of chewed food for re-ingestion.

    Therefore, although these writings are inspiring, the readers should ultimately rely on the Holy Spirit and the Bible alone and not through secondary means in order to draw close to God.

    15 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT GIFT BOOK!

    This is a wonderful daily devotional, a little book that is amazingly spirit-filled with the Lord speaking deep into your soul! It brought me deep peace and joy. It is beneficial and exciting to first read how Sarah Young came to write JESUS CALLING, how her daily discussion with Christ turned into dialogue. Read this slowly and purposefully, as she suggests. Great gift book!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    Jesus Calling - Enjoying Peace in His Presence

    This is a very encouraging, gentle devotional. The 365 daily devotions are written in first person - God speaking to the reader and encouraging them to put aside their worries and concerns and focus on Him.

    Each day contains a brief 2 paragraph devotion with 2 - 3 Bible references lists (verse references only, not the text).

    This devotion is particularly suited for someone who is experiencing difficulties or stress in their life (eg illness, relationship or family difficulties etc). The tone is very warm and creates a very comforting and calming feeling for readers, encouraging them to focus on connecting with God and experiencing his peace in the midst of the chaos of everyday life.

    This isn't a challenging devotional, but rather one that reminds readers that God is faithful even in times of trial and that the peace of His presence can be experienced even in difficulty or hectic times.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    All who are weary, read this book

    If you've ever just wondered, "How can God expect me to get through this day?!" you need to get this book. It's a devotional book that will teach you about the bigger plan God purposed in His heart for all people to seem Him, His love, and then spread it through a fallen creation. It's full of praise, prayer, and petition to God for a discerning mind and heart throughout the year. Daily lessons are short enough to read on-the-go, but encouraging and inspiring enough to help you make it through your day with a cheerful and thankful heart. Read the introduction if you get this book - it's meaningful to the context of her words.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I honestly love this book!

    This book is an inspiration. As a Christian, who has felt short at times of what God has planned for my life, I needed this book. I am glad that I read it.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Devotional in Years

    This book was recommended to me as a daily devotional that would change my life. It has been certainly true. I look forward to each day to hear what "God is saying to me." It has fit the situations in my life that cannot be explained by coincidence.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The best!

    Jesus Calling is one of the best for inspiration! It is consistently encouraging and helps me to think in different terms and from different points of view and adds great meaning and inspiration in my life. If you ever feel that you are alone in this world, read this. You will be amazed how many times it speaks directly to you. This book challenges you to slow down and remember who is in charge and where to place your faith.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Touching

    From page one its touched my heart. It starts out with my favorite bible verse that alone to me is a sign from God that I was meant to read this book. I know that I've been feeling an emptiness that only God can fill and just reading the first days already makes me feel closer to him in a way that I haven't felt in a long time.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    Best devotional I have ever used!

    This is an awesome daily devotional. Every day it seems to speak to exactly what I need. Bible verses are included with each section that back up what is written in the daily devotional. I have bought so many of these books to give away to friends because I have found it to be so good! Check it out, you won't be dissapointed.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Great way to start the day!

    I love this devotional. I'm not a "devotional" type of person, but I do love reading this little book. It reads just as if it were written to me personally!! I would encourage all to begin (or end) their day with spending a few minutes reading this wonderful book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    A Daily Must Read

    God's-love-in-a-book! One page each day is all I need to set my course, and focus my attention on the Lord. I keep this gem in my purse! The best money I've ever spent on a book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    The perfect devotional

    I've found this book to be the perfect devotional. I'm so impressed with it that I'm planning to purchase it for my friends and family members as gifts for Christmas this year. Each day is thought provoking. Not shalllow. Yet they are short and the scripture references give you guidance to study if you choose.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    BEST DEVOTIONAL EVER!!

    I Love devotionals and usually have a stack of 2 or 3 by my bedside table stacked on my Bible. Since recieving this one I have gotten rid of the stack and now I just let the words of this book work into my heart and soul and set free the chains of this present darkness. Cheers to Sarah Young for listening to a King Who still speaks!!! All Glory to the King of Kings!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    Life changing, healing, restorative book!

    A friend gave me this book at a time when I needed it most. Several friends had talked about how good it was..."I gave this to my husband, and after reading it, he said it spoke to him. but why did I like it? I told him it spoke to me too!" was one quote. The first day I read it it hit exactly on what I needed. It has been that way every day! I have to hold myself back from reading ahead. It's like my little reward every morning; I can't wait to read it first thing! Thank you for writing it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    A MUST Read!!

    This book was a gift to me at a time when I was going through several hardships and also looking for a church where I could worship and find fellowship with believers in Christ. This is the best devotional book I have ever read. I cannot start my day without it. I really feel as if Jesus were talking directly to me. Each daily devotion brings me such comfort, hope and peace. I anxiously look through my bible to read the scriptures at the bottom of the daily devotion. I have had this book for three years now and continue to read it every day. I have shared this book with several co-workers and they now have this book. I will be sending one as a Christmas present this year to a close friend who is going through cancer treatments. God Bless you Sarah Young for this life-changing book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Inspiring

    Read every day before i even get out of bed. Different from many daily devotional type books because it is in first person - as if Jesus was speaking directly to you. Amazing how on some days it is as if He can read what is on my mind. A daily reminder of His place in my life. Strengthens relationship with Jesus. Highly recommend!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Amazing!

    I 'happened' to pick up this book in 2009 as I was looking for a devotional book as one of my bridal shower gifts for a young lady who does not have a lot of time. I opened the book to the current date and read it. I nearly felt 'goosbumps' as I felt that Jesus was standing right behind me - whispering the words from that day to me and it was powerful how the words met me - right where I was that day emotionally and spiritually.

    I have since given this book to 5 people. Of course, every day does not relate to where you will be on any given day, but there are more days where the entry is a 'direct hit' than not.

    I know this type of powerful impact does not come without a cost so I thank Mrs. Young for being obedient to the Spirit of Christ and writing this devotional. I read a lot of devotionals and will not always read all that I have each day - but I rarely miss day of Jesus Calling.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Great book as a daily devotional

    This book is exceptional. You feel that Jesus is talking directly to you. This book is great to start your day. I have purchased several copies of this book and have given them as gifts. Everyone has loved it and talks about it to others. You cannot go wrong with this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 431 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22