Customer Reviews for

Jesus Freaks: Martyrs: Stories of Those Who Stood for Jesus: The Ultimate Jesus Freaks

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2006

    Life-changing book

    I read 'Jesus Freaks' for a school project, and found that it has changed my entire outlook on life. What you read in here shocks and amazes you, because you hear of all the martyrs around the world, but not about how they die for Christ. I know that after reading this book, I am proud to say that I will die for Christ. It will rejuvinate any loss of faith that you have.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    The book Jesus Freaks is a book containing over forty short stories about Christian martyrs. These martyrs, or "Jesus freaks", stood for their faith in Jesus. The stories range from all different times and all different places around the world. These martyrs were stoned, burned at stake, thrown in jail, or given some other cruel punishment for standing up for Jesus. Many martyrs died praying to God, and even praying for their killers. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn more deeper aspects of Christian faith because of the background given in the stories. I would also recommend this to anyone who would want to learn more about another religion like Islam or anyone researching conflicts between religious groups because of the details of why and by who these Christian martyrs were being punished. By SCHS Reader.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    I absolutely loved this book! It gave me an idea of what is real

    I absolutely loved this book! It gave me an idea of what is really going on in some places of the world. Some of these Christians with their undying love for our God are simply amazing. And what some of them went through, when they could have just said, “I’m not a Christian” seems totally unbearable for the average human being. One girl that really stood out to me was tortured by communists for well over a few months. She was only in her teens. She never backed down. Always stood firm in her faith. She died after the “punishment”. Some were burned at the stake some were shot. Others were whipped and left to bleed to death. These stories are amazing. I would defiantly recommend this book to others. Some of them are a little gruesome though. Just like the book says, their stories MUST be told.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    Mind Transforming

    After I read Jesus Freaks, my whole perspective in Christianity and Jesus Gospel changed. It's really a mind transforming read it makes value the words and concepts freedom of expression, of choice and beliefs. When I read Jesus Freaks I read it as a religious person when I finished the book I finished it as true Christian! I highly recomnend it to any christian or non-christian it is a wonderful reading of love, passion, pain and the pursue of what really matters in life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing, Life-changing stories!

    These stories of matyrs will change lives and open the eyes of Americans to how lucky we are to have free religion rules. Everyone might not be able to handle what these people went through. Everyone should read this!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Unforgetable!

    This book really changed my view on Christianity! I had no idea that this happened all over the world. Even at these circumstances it was horrifying. To read how people all over the world die for being a Christian is unbelievable. I highly recommend this book to everybody. It changed my life and I'm sure it will change yours!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    GOOD BOOK

    This is aealy good book my teacher read a part in it today it was about a woman in russia that got punished for haveig faith in JESUS CHRIST.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    The Review For An Outstanding Book

    The book Jesus Freaks is about people who died for Jesus. People, that do not fear death. People like that are martyrs. Martyrs are people that die because they deny a strongly held belief. There are people martyred from the death of jesus to present times. the only way we can help is to pray to everyone that is in pain or is in prison for teaching the beleif of jesus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Amazin Amazayan

    This book will take you around the world and tell you about story u would never belive a nice thing to remember while you read this is that the people in the storys are real and made these choices out of the love of god
    It is hard to hear and see him and when your up aginst death esayer to denigh him but they didnt they stode up for there god like he stode up for them when thing are upside down i fell u more than i did then when they werent

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Tap

    Love dc talk anybody what to chat

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    I love them

    Did know that toby mac wuz in this band? Also tht new singer in the newsboys .... i hope they have a reunion soon

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Awesome

    Teached me we have it easy beliving in God

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Ellie

    Very impacting

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2