BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Jesus I Never Knew

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Should be part of every adult Sunday School

    This book made me want to read the Gospels with fresh eyes.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2004

    Jesus I Never Knew

    **** In the last eighteen months or so, the question of ''who is Jesus' has been on the minds of many. Although this is not actually a new book, it does answer the question to a great extent, stripping away the Hollywood images to reveal the man who could be termed 'a good Jew', and still is the Son of God. Through the lens of the culture into which He came and the affect His life has had since then, Mr Yancy paints a moving portrait. This is not one of his more contraversial books, but it is one of his best. ****

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    he thinks like i do

    I truly enjoy Philip Yancey's writing. It's like a conversation with a friend over coffee. Except this friend knows a lot more than I do.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2004

    A Closer Walk

    This book has brought me into a closer walk with Jesus. I read it ever so slowly to savor all that Philip Yancey wrote about my Savior. I didn't want it to end. Yancey has written words that sent me back to first century Palestine. I watched Jesus heal the sick, raise the dead and give the Sermon on the Mount. I was there! God Bless you, Mr. Yancey.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 1999

    A thought-provoking, satisfying read.

    I grew up going to church with my family, and knowing a lot about Jesus, but I had never thought about some of the things Mr. Yancey explores in this book. I found his perspective very enlightening. This book is also pleasantly free of church-ese. Mr. Yancey doesn't act like he knows everything there is to know about faith and about Jesus, which is a great relief. This book gently warns me not to keep Jesus in a little 'box,' writing him off as just a wise man or a great thinker (yes, he was both -- but as Mr. Yancey points out, there is much more to Jesus than this). Highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another great book for one who believes ~

    Being of Jewish decent I am humbled in having Jesus as a huge part of my world. People believe what they want ... I practice Christianity and Judaism and feel the best of both worlds. I love what Yancey states in page 140. He gives examples of the type of people who would impress Him. I was able to relate to one of these people. Because I already did something so similar, by giving to a homeless person. I then watched this woman run across the street into a fast food joint because she mentioned she was hungry. The Lord blesses those who help others. Reading this book will expand our knowledge of what He wants us to do, in our lives ...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    Beyond normal perception

    Philip is gifted in that he perceives a deeper picture which is also biblical. I have been a Christian for 17 years, but after I have read this book, I felt like I have met Jesus in person afresh. The title of this book is very appropriate -- The Jesus I never knew before. Praise the Lord for the works of Philip.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Interesting Insight

    This book reveals Jesus in several different aspects of life. From having always existed, even before his earthly birth, to his resurrection from the grave into everlasting life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Great Discussion Material

    Just when one thinks they really know who Jesus is, they realize they weren't taught enough. Phillip Yancey tells us how much he "really" knew about Him too. Only to discuver after reading the Bible and seeing what society shows him is a totally different Jesus the Christ.
    I really didn't think about how much I really knew about Jesus the Christ until I looked into this book, and I see I could use a little more insight. I grew up knowing one side of Jesus, but when I read the Bible then I discovered there is the other side too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Great book

    A wonderful book. A real eye opener. Yancy no doubt will anger some in the right wing with this book. In this Book he lays out the truth. A wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Book

    Very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A Load of Croc

    This book was not at all well thought out or informative. I prefer authors who take on a subject like this to use actual scriptures. He did not back any of his opinions up with any scriptures. How does one learn more about Jesus with out the Bible?
    This book was a requirement for class, I usually do not read books like this for this very reason. We have a Bible that tells us all we need to know about Jesus and God. The entire body of Christian teachings, which later became part of the written Word of God, is "the truth" or "the truth of the good news." Adherence to this truth, 'walking' in it, is essential if an individual is to gain salvation.
    When Jesus spoke he used scriptures to back up his teachings. When someone had questions for Jesus he referred them back to what was written. So why should we rely on earthly man?
    Want something good to read? Start with these scriptures:

    Joh 14:6

    Joh 1:17

    Joh 2:19-22; 12:14-16; 20:9

    1Ti 4:1-3

    1Jo 4:1-6

    Joh 10:37, 38

    Jos 24:14

    1Sa 12:24

    Ps 25:4, 5; 26:3-6; 43:3; 86:11

    Isa 38:3

    2Pe 2:2

    Ro 2:8

    2Co 4:2

    Eph 1:13

    1Ti 2:4

    2Ti 4:4

    Tit 1:1, 14

    Heb 10:26

    2Jo 1-4

    3Jo 3, 4

    1 Timothy 2:5

    1 John 2:1, 2

    John 14:6

    1 Corinthians 10:14

    Jer 10:14

    Revelation 22:8, 9

    John 8:32

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    Wonderful book!

    Anyone who has questions about who Jesus was and is needs this book. I grew up in a christian church, but always had some doubts and questions I didn't even know how to ask. Philip Yancey phrased all my questions better than I could have and answered most of them. He presents a clear, believable picture of a very human Christ and also the divine Christ and meshes the two with a real, living God. After reading this I have a much clearer idea of who i am and how to be the Christian I want to be. I borrowed this from my church library, but I am going to buy this and all his books so I can refer to them whenever I need help on my journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Confusing, Vague

    We used this book and some videos related to it in a prayer group in my home congregation. The book disappointed me. Mr. Yancey writes well enough. He seems to intend to open readers and small group participants to thinking about Christian faith and Jesus. For my money, he does not do that well. His lectures on the video are ambiguous.

    The book itself meanders without much sense of focus. He ignores the various searches for the historical Jesus and the literature that emerged from the search. He does employ movie portrays of Jesus but not much comes from this. I suspect he tries to open fundamentalist readers to a more open view of the historical Jesus, but I think he does this by using unformulated notions and questions. His method do not work well.

    There are much better resources than this one. Books by Bishop N. T. Wright represent conservative views much better than Mr. Yancey does. John Crossan and Marcus Borg are much more to my taste, but I like works by Pope Benedict XVI quite well because of their theological point-of-view. A completely different but interesting point-of-view comes from Robert Funk's "A Credible Jesus". Luke Timothy Johnson offers a credible alterantive to the radical biblical scholars.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2005

    Deep

    Why is it so hard to know Jesus. Why is he so mysterious? Why is there so much pain in the world?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    Awesome and intriguing

    I didn't want to put this book down. Yancey deals directly and openly with many of the tough questions regarding Jesus. I was looking for a book to give to my son who is having some doubts and to another person I know who is searching. This is the book. It presents Jesus and his teachings in a scrutinizing and honest light that illuminates so many truths that had heretofore been somewhat obscure. Its direct style of confronting the tough issues in a non-threatening way makes it a perfect gift to help those who are questioning or struggling with their faith. It deepened my faith even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2002

    well-written and thought-provoking

    I happened to come across this book at B&N. I was really touched by it, especially the discussion on a Harvard priest who gave up his teaching and moved to a remote area to take care of a teenager with cerebral palsy. This book prompted me to evaluate my own spiritual walk with God, and confront the mistakes I have been making as a Christian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    AIR AND ANGELS - couplets to Phillip Yancy

    We move clothed in flesh between bones and air In the short span it takes from here to where No skeleton, hinged or unhinged, can aid Or impede motion. Vision will fade, Hearing dim and all the senses cease To function and what remains may seem least Of what we have been and of what we are But what we will be's beyond sense as far As it's possible to journey, from seed And bones and flesh to be forever freed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2001

    The Jesus that has always known ME

    I was a little worried that this book might be too narrow, but it was not in the least. Phillip Yancy comes from that kind of narrow background, but is definitely not there now!!His willingness to ask probing questions is a blessing to the reader. This book will move you forward spiritually. You can feel the humility and compassion of the author as you read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2001

    I am speechless

    Very well researched and how we have left the root truths for just surface facts. This book really takes you deeper and thus made me a more well-rounded Christian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3