Customer Reviews for

The Jesus I Never Knew

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Should be part of every adult Sunday School

    This book made me want to read the Gospels with fresh eyes.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    he thinks like i do

    I truly enjoy Philip Yancey's writing. It's like a conversation with a friend over coffee. Except this friend knows a lot more than I do.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2004

    A Closer Walk

    This book has brought me into a closer walk with Jesus. I read it ever so slowly to savor all that Philip Yancey wrote about my Savior. I didn't want it to end. Yancey has written words that sent me back to first century Palestine. I watched Jesus heal the sick, raise the dead and give the Sermon on the Mount. I was there! God Bless you, Mr. Yancey.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another great book for one who believes ~

    Being of Jewish decent I am humbled in having Jesus as a huge part of my world. People believe what they want ... I practice Christianity and Judaism and feel the best of both worlds. I love what Yancey states in page 140. He gives examples of the type of people who would impress Him. I was able to relate to one of these people. Because I already did something so similar, by giving to a homeless person. I then watched this woman run across the street into a fast food joint because she mentioned she was hungry. The Lord blesses those who help others. Reading this book will expand our knowledge of what He wants us to do, in our lives ...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    Beyond normal perception

    Philip is gifted in that he perceives a deeper picture which is also biblical. I have been a Christian for 17 years, but after I have read this book, I felt like I have met Jesus in person afresh. The title of this book is very appropriate -- The Jesus I never knew before. Praise the Lord for the works of Philip.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Great book

    A wonderful book. A real eye opener. Yancy no doubt will anger some in the right wing with this book. In this Book he lays out the truth. A wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Book

    Very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    Wonderful book!

    Anyone who has questions about who Jesus was and is needs this book. I grew up in a christian church, but always had some doubts and questions I didn't even know how to ask. Philip Yancey phrased all my questions better than I could have and answered most of them. He presents a clear, believable picture of a very human Christ and also the divine Christ and meshes the two with a real, living God. After reading this I have a much clearer idea of who i am and how to be the Christian I want to be. I borrowed this from my church library, but I am going to buy this and all his books so I can refer to them whenever I need help on my journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2005

    Deep

    Why is it so hard to know Jesus. Why is he so mysterious? Why is there so much pain in the world?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    Awesome and intriguing

    I didn't want to put this book down. Yancey deals directly and openly with many of the tough questions regarding Jesus. I was looking for a book to give to my son who is having some doubts and to another person I know who is searching. This is the book. It presents Jesus and his teachings in a scrutinizing and honest light that illuminates so many truths that had heretofore been somewhat obscure. Its direct style of confronting the tough issues in a non-threatening way makes it a perfect gift to help those who are questioning or struggling with their faith. It deepened my faith even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2002

    well-written and thought-provoking

    I happened to come across this book at B&N. I was really touched by it, especially the discussion on a Harvard priest who gave up his teaching and moved to a remote area to take care of a teenager with cerebral palsy. This book prompted me to evaluate my own spiritual walk with God, and confront the mistakes I have been making as a Christian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    AIR AND ANGELS - couplets to Phillip Yancy

    We move clothed in flesh between bones and air In the short span it takes from here to where No skeleton, hinged or unhinged, can aid Or impede motion. Vision will fade, Hearing dim and all the senses cease To function and what remains may seem least Of what we have been and of what we are But what we will be's beyond sense as far As it's possible to journey, from seed And bones and flesh to be forever freed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2001

    The Jesus that has always known ME

    I was a little worried that this book might be too narrow, but it was not in the least. Phillip Yancy comes from that kind of narrow background, but is definitely not there now!!His willingness to ask probing questions is a blessing to the reader. This book will move you forward spiritually. You can feel the humility and compassion of the author as you read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2001

    I am speechless

    Very well researched and how we have left the root truths for just surface facts. This book really takes you deeper and thus made me a more well-rounded Christian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2001

    One of my all-time favorites

    I am reading this book for the second time (I first read it three years ago). I have to rank this book with C.S. Lewis' 'Mere Christianity' as my two favorite books. This book does an awesome job of trying to explain the complexities of Jesus Christ and all the mispreceptions. Amazingly, it makes you uncomfortable (knowing how far we fall short of God's ideals) and comforted (through the grace of God).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2000

    Simply Wonderful

    I thought of myself as a Christian before I read this amazing book. Now I have the desire to become a Christ-follower. This is a book I will read over and over agian. I have also purchased several copies for some special people in my life, some are Christian, some are not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2000

    amazing book

    i think this book help me so much in understanding Jesus as a human and a God. i suggest everyone who read my review to buy it. you maybe find the glory that i feel now after i read the book. Philip can describe exactly like he was there at that time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2000

    All christians should have this book

    This book is a must read for all Christians. Mr.Yancy has filled this book with thought provoking ideas that not only help to lead one closer to Jesus,but challenges the reader to search their own ideas and misconceptions about The Son of Man that you may have had since childhood. After I read this wonderful book I was closer to understanding Jesus as a man not just God.I personly would like to say God Bless you Mr. Yancy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2