Customer Reviews for

Jesus, Interrupted: Revealing the Hidden Contradictions in the Bible (And Why We Don't Know About Them)

Average Rating 3.5
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Important Work

I really enjoyed Ehrman's work in Misquoting Jesus. As a firm believer, I also enjoy engaging in critical thinking. I have often struggled with Bible study and this book helps me to understand that I am not crazy in my questioning. Jesus, Interrupted expounds on the ...
I really enjoyed Ehrman's work in Misquoting Jesus. As a firm believer, I also enjoy engaging in critical thinking. I have often struggled with Bible study and this book helps me to understand that I am not crazy in my questioning. Jesus, Interrupted expounds on the subject of what the New Testament actually is saying or not saying depending on the page you happen to be on. In addition, the scholarship contained within is not just the view of one man but rather a chorus of modern scholars, theologians and learned men.
Some of what the reader will learn - and learn to question - is:
. The different views of Jesus presenting in the NT.
. The many ways of achieving salvation (which one is correct?)
. The forged books of the NT.
. The forged letters of Paul.
. The different theological view of the gospels.
. How the suffering messiah was invented.
. Which book should we believe in determining the divinity of Jesus?
. Where did the trinity come from?
Anyone interested in the Bible should read this book as well as Erhman's other previously mentioned book. Together, they present a compelling account of the construction of our NT and our resulting diverse religious institutions.
Now Erhman needs to get to work on the ancient writings of Judaism and Hinduism. If the relatively "new" New Testament is this messed up, just imagine how convoluted these much older holy scripts must be.
I hope you find this review helpful
Michael L. Gooch - Author of Wingtips with Spurs: Cowboy Wisdom for Today's Business Leaders.

posted by M_L_Gooch_SPHR on April 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

Skip this book.

Bart Ehrman's early training was in fundamentalist Christianity in which the Bible was interpreted as completely literal. Unfortunately, he has never gotten over his early training. He takes a fine tooth comb to Bible to find the slightest discrepancies and uses them t...
Bart Ehrman's early training was in fundamentalist Christianity in which the Bible was interpreted as completely literal. Unfortunately, he has never gotten over his early training. He takes a fine tooth comb to Bible to find the slightest discrepancies and uses them to discredit the entire Scripture. I often feel he should walk across campus to his physics department and get a general introduction to quantum mechanics. Nothing can be pinpointed precisely, not even physical matter. Even though life is full of discrepancies and things that we don't understand, it still works pretty well.
I got frustrated with his tone as I read through the book. I feel he comes to his scholarship with a predetermined agenda to undermine the Bible and he is gleeful when he feels he has done it. I've read several of his books and he repeats the same theme over and over. I've resolved not to bother reading any of his future books.

posted by DeniseQ on April 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This Needs To Be Understood

    As Dr. Ehrman points out, the average Christian does not understand what the New Testament actually is. His own roots in evangelical churches provides a sympathetic background for those who still believe in the inerrancy of the Bible. He introduces new words in his writing, but he explains them clearly, or they are clear in context. Those not familiar with what has been known and taught in seminaries for many decades may be very surprised by the information provided here. Those already familiar with this historical-critical approach will find a coherent summary of New Testament scholarship.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Historical View of the New Testament

    This eminently readable work explores the New Testament, not as a religious document, but from an historicsal perspective. Who were the writers? When did they write? What was the perspective they sought to shed upon the life of Jesus? And perhaps most importantly, who else wrote about the life of Jesus, and why were their works omitted from the New Testament?

    Ehrman is a fine writer, who examines important theological issues with an easy, graceful prose-style. One criticism: He did not need to take the time to justify his findings in light of his own agnosticism. His scholarship and fundamental honesty were more than manifest.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Eye Opening

    Ehrman points out the problems with the bible, mostly in the new testament, but gently and respectfully, he's not doing a Richard Dawkins here but isn't just brushing off inconsistencies with the text either. The book has a personal, almost chatty style so it doesn't read like a textbook but there are spots he doesn't come across very clearly that are confusing. Really interesting though.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Fact-based not faith-based

    This book is a very good reason why there should be separation between church and state. I felt that it showed how religion has been used by all people to further their own agendas. This seems to have been the case from Biblical times until the present. The fact that multiple versions are given for certain events and the possible reasons for each version are detailed in this book. I found it a good extension of his prior books and well done.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What I've Felt about this since I was a kid!

    B.D. Ehrman, Is very honest and mater o factly in his writing of this book. The Bible was written by humans, looking for answers to questions they had no idea what the answers were, so they created a religion around a real man that came from somewhere other than earth.I have felt this throughout my life. Read this book with an open mind!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Eye Opener

    Many things that we have been taught as " gospel " aren't necessarily so. This book exposes and gives an explanation of these truths and allows the reader to ponder and draw their own conclusions.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Very interesting book

    I consider myself a strong Christian and I found this book very interesting in giving us a better understanding of the development of the Christian faith and who wrote the bible. I love history and the author is right in that most churches don't teach how the bible came about in fear of alienating their members. This book will help you understand better the struggles of early Christians. I found it a very good read. I usually can read through a book very quickly but actually stopped many times to take in what the author was saying and to reference my bible.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Excellent. Highly recommended.

    A fascinating look at the stories of the New Testament. Fair and balanced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    Title draws you to it and the writing keeps you glued to it.

    I found the book interesting and informative and intriguing to say the least - controversial at times, entertaining in its mystery always.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    Very informative and engaging

    This book was quite informative and also engaging to read. While I was vaugely aware of some of the inconsistencies in the Biblical books, I was not aware of why they were that way. Mr. Ehrman does not simply set out to bash Christianity, nor does he end up there. His opinion that we should read each author separately and take their message separately is good advice. By simply assuming that they all say the same thing, we will often miss the point of the work. I had expected a bashing of Christianity and religion, and to have him make mountains out of molehills. He does not do this, and I feel that a better understanding of the Bible in this way will actually strengthen one's faith if they will let it.
    For someone who has spent a significant amount of time in church, I have to admit feeling somewhat sleighted to discover some of these inconsistencies. I wonder why I have been around such learned men who would tell me the Bible was totally without error. This is one question that the author cannot, and does not attempt to, answer. Though he does pose it himself.
    I am sure that many fundamentalist Christians will be up in arms about this book. They needen't be. This book does not preach the loss of faith in the Bible, or attempt to interpret things theologically. That is left for the reader or pastor. Mr. Ehrman stresses that what is truly important is not the words in the Bible, but the faith of the believer.
    This is well-researched, and very even-handed. He also shows us how we can read so as to notice these inconsistencies for ourselves. If you are very fundamentalist, it will help you to keep an open mind. I have referenced this book in college papers with some success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Helps with finding the Historical Jesus

    If you want the facts about the New Testament, this is a good source.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2