Customer Reviews for

Jesus Loves You...This I Know

Average Rating 5
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Just what I needed!

    I loved it! If you believe that God is your only Judge, then you must read this book! Saved by grace alone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Gritty Evangelism

    If you are serious about evangelism, this is the book you MUST read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Don't Miss It!

    I was recently allowed the privilege of reading and reviewing Craig Gross and Jason Harper's new book "Jesus Loves You This I Know."

    I first became acquainted with Craig Gross from reading his book "The Gutter: Where Life is Meant to be Lived" (which is awesome by the way) and jumped at the chance to read his latest literary venture.

    I wasn't disappointed...

    "Jesus Loves You This I Know" is a quick read with a message that can change lives. The underlying message that Jesus loves us all, no matter where we've been or where we'll go, runs deep through the entire book. The idea that Jesus loves us all where we are and not where we "should be" sets us all free to be loved on and have our hearts changed... our lives changed.

    I recommend picking up this book and being prepared to have your rules and boxes challenged.

    Don't pass it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Damage for the Communication of the Gospel...

    Certain people in my life have had an incredible impact. One of them is Craig Gross of www.XXXChurch.com. He and Jason Harper have written a book to remind us of a simple, but of the utmost importance, fact that Jesus loves YOU.

    Through "Jesus Loves You...", Craig and Jason look at how Jesus loves over 10 kinds of people (I'm sure they could have written more, but they chose) who are the:

    Bitter & Betrayed, Disconnected, Broken, Forgotten, Skeptic, Glutton, Crook, Outcast, Porn Star and Religious.

    The book takes several stories from each author (included Gross' wife, Jeanette) and highlights Scripture introducing the point that Jesus loves each type of person.

    While reading through, the most difficult and challenging chapters for me were "The Outcast," which brought up previous statements of my former Chancellor at Liberty University, Jerry Falwell, that stirred me to wish he never spoke them (p.134-135), to the chapter on "The Religious." Sadly the most damage for the communication of the Gospel of Jesus Christ has been through the hands of the ones who have received it first. While I loved Jerry Falwell and all he did for me, it seems the most divisive of words are the strongest words that people remember, particularly by the ones that need to know Jesus loves them and died for them.

    If you want to start engaging yourself in a on-going process of knowing the people that Jesus loves, go check out http://www.jesuslovesyou.net and look into getting the book and Small Group DVD curriculum for you and your group or just follow the "Jesus Loves You Tour" featuring visits to Westboro Baptist Church, a Las Vegas buffet stop and a house give-away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspiring and compelling - Craig and Jason have revealed the Master's love!

    The new book by Craig Gross and Jason Harper is finally out, and not a moment too soon! What a treasure this book is. The love that exudes from every page is authentic and inspiring. Both of the authors do such a wonderful job of weaving their particular insights around some engaging stories. They make you smile, laugh, weep, and cheer. They make you feel a part of their lives and ministry while they're revealing spiritual truths that have deep significance to them. We are constantly reminded that Jesus loves us ALL, from the bitter and betrayed to the religious. With each story Craig and Jason share the depth of faith and yearning for the broken and lost and unloved. As the title clearly states, Jesus DOES love us all and throughout the book, that fact is never far from our minds. No one is beyond the reach of the Master! JESUS loves us all, and is constantly working to draw us closer to Him. Whether old Willie the Win0, disconnected and forgotten but discovered and loved by Jason as he ventured out into the 'real' world as a cable guy, or the thousands of too-young Schoolies revelers in Australia that Craig untiringly ministered to, Jesus is there in the midst - reaching out and loving. Always loving!

    This is a book to be read and passed around to all your friends, and then read again (which is what I'm doing!). Buy it and be blessed - then share it and pass along the love of Jesus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    I like this book, this I know.

    When I first heard Craig Gross and Jason Harper were working on this solid project entitled "Jesus Love You, this I know" my eyes grew big. I scored an advance copy and felt like a kid in a candy shop. When I sat down to tackle the pages, I could not put it down; I read the entire book in a few short hours over a couple days.

    The stories that Craig and Jason present will capture your emotions. Even more so, I soon realized, that once you begin to tell others about the stories contained inside, you will tear up. The real life stories, authentic life stories, are vividly explained in such ways that invoke laughter, anger, compassion, sadness, empathy, and even personal remorse.

    The passion behind the book is very evident; that EVERYONE would have at least a chance to know someone who truly follows after the real Jesus. I know I agree with that mantra, I believe it's what get these writers out of bed every morning. They are not pious or trite in any way. They want to meet people where they are in life, no matter the circumstances. And, in that context, love on them like there is no tomorrow.

    I think the books philosophy can be simply summed up in a quote from the chapter entitled, "Jesus Loves the Outcast", Harper says, "The church he thought hated him loved him. It welcomed him in to grow and to discover more of God. God loves and accepts people where they are, not where we think they should be."

    All that being said, I recommend this book to all. No matter the spiritual climate of your life currently, no matter your personal theologies, or even your belief/disbelief in a God. Buy the book and be pleasantly pleased with the stories of a great awakening hope.

    Click here to read more about the book or to purchase: http://tinyurl.com/jesuslovesyouthisiknow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    challenging read- time for the Church to love

    From reaching the broken, the outcast and even religious with that love- Gross and Harper discuss what the love of God means for all. This truth of the love of God is important for every believer today- especially for the religious. What Craig discusses is the importance of knowing the love of God even if things are going wrong, even if you sin- and then Craig calls for repentance because of that love.
    God so loved the world that He gave His only Son; our message to the world must be: God loves. But we are so used to the fact that God loves us that we ignore it in our witness of Him. They try to get the Church back to the truth of how Jesus lived and loved. Their (valid) argument is that Jesus wouldn't be the protester outside of the porn convention, the bar, or the gay parade; He'd be living among people showing them His love and drawing them unto Himself. Gross and Harper understand that the Gospel offends while stressing that we don't have to be more offensive than the Gospel already is.
    I would offer some caution though. Harper's chapters are slightly off at some points. He talks about how Jesus was found guilty for loving. Jesus did love the unlovable but that wasn't the cause of His crucifixion. Harper later corrects this by speaking of Christ's claims to deity being the reason why He was crucified. I was also left wondering about the people in the stories they told. They would talk about how they have reached out in community and loved the unlovable. But then they would occasionally drop off with seldom mention of a call to repentance. I don't mean that I was looking for one of them to lead a homosexual in the "sinners prayer", but, at some point while in community we must fulfill the Great Commission and make disciples. This means so much more than just providing for physical and emotional needs, but cannot be separated from providing for these needs. In other words- we cannot expect to fulfill the Great Commission of Christ if we only tell people that God loves them without providing their physical and emotional needs of food, money, community, and friendship (James 2.15-16). That is simply something to be cautious of. In their defense, this sort of work is difficult to portray in a book.

    The fundamentalist, conservative, legalistic Christians are going to have a problem with this book not talking about how everyone is a sinner going to hell. At the same time, liberal/emergent types will probably hate the amount of time both authors spend at the cross talking about God's judgment on His Son. I think that's why they wrote it- to make us all uncomfortable in a good and necessary way. Being a Christian is not easy, loving people as God loves them is even harder- but that is what God has called us to. We're to proclaim the message of Christ- the message that says, No matter who you are or what you've done, Jesus loves you this I know.
    (for a longer, more thorough review, please visit http://deathnorlife.wordpress.com)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    Jesus Loves Me. This I know.

    I've been raised in a Christian family and for many like myself we know that old Sunday school rhyme called "Jesus Loves Me This I Know" it's a catchy tune and the message is simple but so full of truth.

    Craig Gross probably most known for his ministry with XXX Church (focused on spreading the Good News about Jesus within the Porn industry and then also helping others break free from it's addiction. In partnership with another pastor Jason Harper they have written this "book about two guys who love Jesus and believe Jesus loves you just as much as he loves us." That's really what it all boils down to. Jesus Loves You. For the past couple thousand years the perception of Jesus has been skewed and distorted as something used to be marketed, forced, and selfish. Acts of terrorism in his name have been done all disgracing his message of love and a relationship with God.

    The book itself delves into the fallings of Christianity but also into the many great things we've done in his name. At the moment our world is in desperate need of a savior and that savior came some 2000 years ago, and as stated before his name has become a trademark pretty much. Whether you're still curious about who Jesus is and what his message was or even if you have that relationship with him, this book will make a great asset to your relationship with Jesus. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I Love that Jesus Loves You

    My friend Craig Gross just finished a book with Jason Harper called Jesus Loves You This I Know. I first met Craig in 2007, when his porn-debate with adult film star, Ron Jeremy on the issue of pornography came through Cambridge, Massachusetts. I came as a member of the press, and although Craig confirmed press passes for Amy and me, when we got to the door, we were denied. We bought tickets anyway and Craig spent a little time with me after the debate. "Sorry man. I'm sure all of Ron's people got their press passes," he said apologetically. Christian press getting dissed at a porn debate is the nature of the beast and Craig was center stage. As a fellow evangelist, I was impressed with the way Craig presented Jesus in a hostile environment. I had traveled to Cambridge to see if Craig was for real. I can tell you from experience, he is definitely the read deal.

    Read the rest of my review here:
    http://www.f2fmi.org/blog/archives/639

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Jesus Loves You no questions asked

    Title: Jesus Loves You This I Know
    By: Craig Gross & Jason Harper


    I have personally read several books by Craig Gross, but this book, Jesus Loves You, is among my favorite of them all. Found in the introduction are these beautiful words that help to sum up what the book is all about, "The all-encompassing "you" means that the love of Jesus leaves no one out." It goes on to say, "regardless of where they have been or what they have gone through, there is a love that endures all things" (Pg. 9). This quotes goes hand in hand with the implicate thesis statement found on page ten, "We're trying to rethink his [Jesus] approach to a hurting humanity and strive to live it out." With each chapter Gross and Harper do their best to show this "New Approach" by telling personal stories and expounding on scripture.
    The ten chapters that this book is made up of consist of ten different groups of people that have been neglected by the church world, including the broken, glutton, Porn Star, and the religious. In the chapter entitled The Outcast, this question came to my mind as a direct result of the reading, "What would happen if we were to stop hating those who are different from us and started to loves those who are truly in need?" This question is truly at the heart of this book. What would the world look like if the church stopped picketing the gay community or any other cause they find worthy of bulling, and start to put all that energy, time, effort, and resources into loving those who are desperately needing Christ's mercy, grace, and forgiveness? I have a feeling that the world would look a lot better.
    If you are an individual who is ready to be challenged both in their personal faith and personal life, this is a book for you. I would encourage you to take the time and really wrestle with what the authors have to say and start to confront those issues in your personal life. The result will be transformational.
    Remember, Jesus Loves You, just as much as he loves all of us other sinners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    Jesus Loves You...This I Know

    It's easy to say we need to love everyone and not do anything about it...it's different when people actually do love. This book, by Craig Gross (xxxchurch.com) and Jason Harper, hits the issue head on.

    I have been following Craig's ministry for a while now and really admire the passion he has for his mission. I have learned from him that we need to drop the tags of Christianity and live the Christian life. This book really helped me to move forward on this path. Craig, along with Jason, are two Christians just trying to follow one of the easiest things we are supposed to do, "Love."

    The book goes into how Jesus loves the different groups of people that we often find to be unloveable:

    . Bitter and betrayed

    . Disconnected

    . Broken

    . Forgotten

    . Skeptic

    . Glutton

    . Crook

    . Outcast

    . Porn Star

    . Religious

    The book is an easy read and the illustrations in the book are priceless and really hit home. Jesus loves each and everyone one of us and the book answer's how we can do this in a very practical way.

    I highly recommend for anyone learning about what love is and it's a must read for any Christian out there wanting to find out how we are supposed to love.

    As you can probably tell, I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Jesus Loves You - This I Know

    Jason Harper and Craig Gross' "Jesus Loves You - This I Know" is a great book for learning that Jesus does love us no matter who we are. It is also good for getting someone else's perspective on this love. It encouraged me not to turn people down when there's an opportunity to serve them. People will not care about the things of Christ and His freedom until they know that people care for them like Christ cared for us when He died on the cross.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    Practical

    It's easy to say we need to love everyone and not do anything about it.
    It's different when people actually do love.
    This book by Craig Gross (xxxchurch.com) and Jason Harper hits the issue head on.
    It was written by two Christians just trying to follow one of the easiest things we are supposed to do, "Love."
    The book is an easy read and very practical.
    The book goes into how Jesus loves the.
    . Bitter and betrayed
    . Disconnected
    . Broken
    . Forgotten
    . Skeptic
    . Glutton
    . Crook
    . Outcast
    . Porn Star
    . Religious
    The illustrations in the book are priceless and really hit home.
    Jesus loves each and everyone one of us, the book answer's how we could do this in a very practical way.
    I highly recommend for anyone learning about what love is.
    It's a must read for any Christian out there to find out how we are supposed to love.
    It's a book written at a level majority of the people can understand and for me (someone who take a long time to get through a book) I finished the book in about 4-5 hours.
    Highly recommend getting this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Authentic and Real

    I just finished reading Jesus Loves You. This I Know by Craig Gross and Jason Harper and the first word that comes to mind is WOW. I've read other books that preach a similar message but none were so authentic, so real. Craig and Jason aren't content to stay in the safety of their churches - they spend much of their time in the gutter (as Craig calls it) being the hands and feet of Jesus, showing His love to the world. I don't want to put too much here because you really need to read this book for yourself, but I will share one thing that, you could say, stepped on my toes. You see, most (if not all) of Craig's opposition has come not from those he is ministering to, but from the church itself. He receives countless letters and emails each week from Christians who do nothing but discourage and hate. At every porn convention, debate and pride festival he is blasted by Christians just for associating with sinners. The problem Craig found in himself, and the same problem I found in myself, was that he forgot Jesus doesn't only love sinners; Jesus loves the religious. Craig wrote about how, upon searching his heart, he discovered he had become the one thing he despised the most: judgmental. He had become judgmental towards the judgmental. This chapter really spoke to me because I found myself in the same position. I strive to love people where they're at, regardless of their beliefs, lifestyle or background, but upon searching my heart I found I had no love or tolerance for the religious. But Jesus loves them too. Anyways, that's just one chapter. Buy this book - you won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    Amazing and Convicting

    This book is phenomenal! I couldn't put it down! As someone who has struggled with an addiction and feeling like an outcast, this book truly hit home. More than that though, it convicted me of my own prejudices and how I treat other people who are different from me. It challenged me to go beyond my comfort zone into the life of the people that Jesus loves.
    Jason and Craig get it. They know how to be Jesus to other people and I strive to follow after them in doing that.
    I would recommend this book for anyone and everyone. This would be a great book to read through as a group and discuss. There are a lot of thought provoking and convicting statements that would be great processed with discussion!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    Jesus Loves You

    I just finished reading Jesus Loves You . This I Know by Craig Gross and Jason Harper. As a campus minister at Drexel University in Philadelphia I live in a world similar to theirs. It's a world in direct contact with those outside of the church. I first want to thank the authors for writing about this world. The Christian message is simple "no matter who you are or what you've done, Jesus loves you." Whoever you are, wherever you find yourself, Jesus loves you. For some time now within the realms of American Christianity we have been extremely diligent that what we say about Jesus needs to be 100% accurate. This book does not disagree with that but it asks the question do we care about what those outside the church are hearing. All types of communication are double-sided endeavors. Craig and Jason, through illustration after illustration, bring thoughts to our minds about how to communicate the message of "Jesus loves you" to individuals I frequently encounter everyday. How do we accurately say "Jesus loves you" to these types of people? This is what I spend most of my time thinking about. This is what I spend most of my time trying to communicate to churches.
    Although, this book gave me nothing new to think about it, gave me a wonderful reservoir of stories to tell. I will be citing this book time after time. In fact I already have used it. This book will also be a resource I recommend to others who need to better understand what I'm talking about. This book needed to be written and it needs to be read. Every chapter I connected the stories with a face from my life.
    A couple honest notes:
    1) This book and this conversation need to work on how we communicate that Jesus loves the Religious. I work hard on not judging those Christians who just do not get it. I hear Craig and Jason struggling with this throughout the book as well. Craig tries to deal with it in the last chapter but I'm not sure it goes far enough. We need to sacrificially love the Religious and work really hard on communicating this message to them in a way they understand as well. It is almost easier outside of the church but we need to be just as Grace-filled inside of it.
    2) Craig, I was uncomfortable about how much you put your family out there in the chapter about Ron Jeremy. Not only because they could have been influenced by the "porn world" but they could be negatively impacted by the "Church world" that discourages you.
    Do not allow those two comments to negatively impact your decision to read this book. If you agree with its premise you need to read it to encourage yourself because someone else actually gets it. If you are unsure of it you need to read it and take away what you can. I think you will be pleasantly surprised. If you know you will disagree with it, you need to read it because everyone needs to hear the voices of those you disagree with and seriously evaluate them. The scariest thing I ever heard was of a University president who never read anything he knew he would disagree with. I other words everybody needs to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    They are weak, but he is strong

    Yes, Jesus loves me. but Gross and Harper's latest book is not for me. Don't get me wrong, as a pastor I am used to reading intensive arguments and the latest doctrine rocking theology coming down the pike, so when I began to read the first few chapters of this book, I knew right away that THIS book was not for me.

    No, this book is for Mark. Mark was the only student in my new believer's class last month and through the last few weeks I have had the honor of hearing Mark's miraculous story of redemption. As I read Gross and Harper's book, I heard story after story of the saving grace and insane love of a day-to-day Jesus.

    And I was glad to read Harper's take on the book's title. He writes, "Jesus loves you has become an overstated American cliche." We say it casually and offhandedly without any reverence or genuine understanding of what that phrase even means. "What was once meant to be a statement of concern, a thought, or a pronouncement of spiritual enlightenment has been reduced to a casual exchange in passing." And rather than actually SHOW a broken world Jesus' love, most "Christians" are passively satisfied to just spout this trite refrain.

    "Jesus Loves You."

    But what do those words mean when they connect with those who really need to hear their message? Does that mean Jesus loves Tibetan Monks, Buddhists, Satanists and atheists? Does Jesus love the broken, the diseased, the forgotten and the outcast? Of course he does! But sadly, his church has become a place where acceptance comes AFTER you change your ways and not before. "Jesus loves you" is a message for everyone - at the exact stage of life they are currently in.

    Ironically, Jesus even loves the self-righteous bible swinging dogmatic Christians. As Gross so eloquently closes the book, "Not one of us is perfect. Only Jesus was perfect, and that is what makes the statement 'Jesus loves you' so profound. It is eternal and all encompassing."

    This book was a nice simple reminder of that fact, but I'm giving my copy to Mark - he needs to hear these words spoken to his soul. It's too bad more of contemporary christian evangelism isn't more like this book: raw, exposed, open, relevant and real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Jesus Loves

    As I was reading through the first chapter of this book I found myself inhaling every word. This is the kind of book that changes generations. This is what Christianity is all about. I love the simplicity of the message, but yet we will all be challenged. Jesus loves us. So simple yet so difficult for most of us to accept. Thank you to Craig and Jason for writing this book. This is definitely for the believer and non-believer alike. Many lessons will be learned. Be challenged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Jesus Loves You!

    Craig the "Porn Pastor" from www.XXXchurch.com and his friend Jason set out on a mission to tell people that Jesus loves them. A both of them are pastors they wondered, could an ordinary pastor practice what he preached? To find out if he could Jason gets a job as a cable guy to practice what he preached outside the church and in the real world. They talk on how they want to re-brand Jesus and the way people of the world see Him today because for a while the church has done a really bad job and telling people who he is. I love these guys for the their honesty and desire to see people come to Jesus. Great book! Would recommend to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    Loving like Jesus

    After reading the first chapter of this book I am left wanting more. There is a movement among God's people to get back to what God wants us to do...love God & love people. Christians are no longer defined by their love but by the lack there of.

    Craig & Jason continue to risk great love for a great God. This book pushes the line that many Christians have drawn to define how far they will go to carry out Jesus' commandments. As a pastor this book has challenged me to step out & love as Jesus loved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5